wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Mayweather vs Alvarez
#41 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 2:33:48 AM

In many fights that he was in, Mike Tyson was usually the smaller guy. One thing you always see see in his opponents is the look of utter disbelief as in "yaani kamenichapa!! I can't believe it." These were highly accomplished boxers not just random guys picked up on the streets yet the kichapo they received from Mike Tyson make them look so ordinary, it must have been extremely humiliating.

Like McDoba and Maichblack have said watching Mike Tyson was pure joy.

Watch these highlights:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2RxpsS639I

#42 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 9:13:31 AM

In many fights that he was in, Mike Tyson was usually the smaller guy. One thing you always see see in his opponents is the look of utter disbelief as in "yaani kamenichapa!! I can't believe it." These were highly accomplished boxers not just random guys picked up on the streets yet the kichapo they received from Mike Tyson make them look so ordinary, it must have been extremely humiliating.

Like McDoba and Maichblack have said watching Mike Tyson was pure joy.

Watch these highlights:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2RxpsS639I

Thanks for that, I can't remember watching Iron Mike fight any boxer who was shorter than him.....it means the opponent always had a better reach.....for Mike it was WAR.....remains the greatest during my generation!!!!
#43 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 9:52:23 AM

Mike was a brawler and not a boxer....in my opinion,besides Mohammed Ali,the best pound for pound fighter has to be Sugar Ray Leonard (By coincidence,Ray seriously whipped Floyd's father way back in 78).His greatest fights were the rematch against Roberto Duran,Thomas Hearns and his win against Marvelous Marvin Hagler.No doubt the best move, stop, and mug kinda boxer.

For those who were not born then,you can watch the entire classic here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGbP1lwLYSE
#44 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 9:53:51 AM

Mike was a brawler and not a boxer....in my opinion,besides Mohammed Ali,the best pound for pound fighter has to be Sugar Ray Leonard (By coincidence,Ray seriously whipped Floyd's father way back in 78).His greatest fights were the rematch against Roberto Duran,Thomas Hearns and his win against Marvelous Marvin Hagler.No doubt the best move, stop, and mug kinda boxer.

Hapana guka, the guys played within the boxing rules!!!!
#45 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 10:04:39 AM

[quote=Njung'e][b]

That's true but there was no colour in Mike's fightsRemember this one day he knocked out some one in 93 seconds.Fans were streaming in long after the fight had ended...BK!
qooler
#46 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 10:19:14 AM

Tyson aim was not to win. it was to beat up and hurt
#47 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 11:33:06 AM

[quote=Njung'e][b]

That's true but there was no colour in Mike's fightsRemember this one day he knocked out some one in 93 seconds.Fans were streaming in long after the fight had ended...BK!

There is a guy [Name eludes me] Tyson "refused" to knock out for a couple of rounds. This guy was the "baddest" before Tyson came into the picture. I believe he had been unbeaten before Tyson. The fellow trash talked Tyson before the match saying he ain't ish and has never fought any one of his quality bla bla bla. Wacha the day of the fight came! The guy got a beating! Tyson was landing some heavy punches but not heavy enough to knock him out. It was clear he didn't want to knock him out yet. Then in the 7th or 8th round the warrior in him [Tyson] woke up!! Sema sledge hammer!! Tyson started landing some out of this world blows. The minute they started, you knew it was all over. I think that is one of the several boxers who retired after a Tyson beating!
#48 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 12:45:03 PM

[quote=Njung'e][b]

There is a guy [Name eludes me] Tyson "refused" to knock out for a couple of rounds. This guy was the "baddest" before Tyson came into the picture. I believe he had been unbeaten before Tyson. The fellow trash talked Tyson before the match saying he ain't ish and has never fought any one of his quality bla bla bla. Wacha the day of the fight came! The guy got a beating! Tyson was landing some heavy punches but not heavy enough to knock him out. It was clear he didn't want to knock him out yet. Then in the 7th or 8th round the warrior in him [Tyson] woke up!! Sema sledge hammer!! Tyson started landing some out of this world blows. The minute they started, you knew it was all over. I think that is one of the several boxers who retired after a Tyson beating!

But this guy (Tyson) alway got a thrash from Evander Holyfield with his big gloves this is one guy who never feared Tyson. I also dont remember the day he managed to defeat Lennox those were his JUJU
#49 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 1:04:28 PM

freiks wrote:
[quote=Njung'e][b]

But this guy (Tyson) alway got a thrash from Evander Holyfield with his big gloves this is one guy who never feared Tyson. I also dont remember the day he managed to defeat Lennox those were his JUJU

These two fighters met Tyson on his way down, he had become irresponsible, no discipline in training, the rape case, jail term and the rest!!!
#50 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 1:10:25 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Anyone seen the Mike Tyson documentary? That guy had a very powerful left hook... woe unto you if he unleashed an uppercut..KO.

Watched Knockout sports on Sony Max - Saturday or Sunday [Can't remember which]. They had a special on Tyson - two or three episodes back to back. It was just a joy to watch and go back down memory lane. A couple of greats retired after being knocked out by tyson! One fellow - I forget his name, had never been knocked down let alone knocked out and everyone thought he's the one who would tame tyson. And the dude was huge! What tyson did to him... I believe he never fought again. A combination of blows and the dude fell on the canvas like he had been hit with a sledge hammer! The minute he hit the canvas you could tell there is no way in hell he's going to stand up.

Earlier in the year I was watching 'Tyson Raw and Uncut' on ESPN classics and man Mike was a joy to watch in the ring......a beast in the ring.

I watched the series several times. I think Mike knocked out almost every opponent in his first 25 or so professional fights (I forget the stats). I believe if his first coach hadn't passed on (the guy was like a father to him), he'd have gone on to be the greatest. Jamie Foxx put it well when he said it is travesty to give an uneducated 18 year with a troubled childhood tens of millions of dollars as the youngest world heavy weight champ and expect for the story to end well.

#51 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 2:13:37 PM

For those who were not born then,you can watch the entire classic here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGbP1lwLYSE

Guka you are are right in a way. I remember watching a documentary about Marvin Hagler and how left the US to go live in Italy after his last fight. Those were classic boxing matches.

But the reason everybody will always remember Mike Tyson is the raw anger, energy and passion he brought into the war, brawl, fight in the ring. It was not a sport for him to score points, mtu alikuwa amemkosea, amemtukana amemwonyesha madharau and he was there to sort him out. He was angry, he was obsessed, he was crazy and the fans felt it. Even though he was a champion people still felt for him as if he was an underdog and that is what made it so exciting to watch him beat up big guys.
#52 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 2:31:45 PM

freiks wrote:
[quote=Njung'e][b]

These two fighters met Tyson on his way down, he had become irresponsible, no discipline in training, the rape case, jail term and the rest!!!

The only guy who beat Tyson when he was up there was Buster and I can remember it being the biggest upset in sporting history by then. Lennox and Holyfield beat up a washed out guy on his way down and out.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 2:54:55 PM

Tyson's speed and punching power makes him fan favourite for many including me. The 80's Tyson was a joy to watch then and even now.

However, the truth is Tyson only faced 2 serious boxers; Evander Holyfield and Lennox Lewis and unfortunately both kicked his a**e big time. He however, popularised boxing worldwide and created pay per view as we know it today.

Tyson was never a boxer, however, he could have gone well in todays MMA.
#54 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:09:45 PM

Still waiting to see if ever we will have Manny vs Mayweather, though Manny has really hit lows of late
#55 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:10:24 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Tyson's speed and punching power makes him fan favourite for many including me. The 80's Tyson was a joy to watch then and even now.

However, the truth is Tyson only faced 2 serious boxers; Evander Holyfield and Lennox Lewis and unfortunately both kicked his a**e big time. He however, popularised boxing worldwide and created pay per view as we know it today.

That is a joke right? So there was nver a serious boxer when Tyson was at his prime?
#56 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:15:05 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

That is a joke right? So there was nver a serious boxer when Tyson was at his prime?

What of the champions he knocked out to become the undisputed heavyweight champion? They were not serious boxers I guess.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:19:39 PM

bkismat wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

What of the champions he knocked out to become the undisputed heavyweight champion? They were not serious boxers I guess.

He was the soungest ever WBC champion and became the first heavyweight to own all three major belts – WBA, WBC, and IBF – at the same time
#58 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:23:14 PM

bkismat wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Its free info on the web if you want to confirm, another reason why Tyson was such a huge success was because he came out when Heavyweight boxing was crying for a serious fighter. The early victims were The Trevor Berbick's, Tony Tubbs etc, all journeymen. Larry Holmes was a serious boxer, but he had to come out of retirement for his fight with Tyson. Then you have the Frank Bruno's, the Buster Douglas's (who defeated him) etc

Feel free to post any serious boxer apart from the 2 I named above that Tyson defeated.

This takes nothing from him as the manner of his victories were trully awesome, he is without a doubt the baddest man on the planet, but fact, he never won against a serious opponent.
#59 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:25:28 PM

bkismat wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Its free info on the web if you want to confirm, another reason why Tyson was such a huge success was because he came out when Heavyweight boxing was crying for a serious fighter. The early victims were The Trevor Berbick's, Tony Tubbs etc, all journeymen. Larry Holmes was a serious boxer, but he had to come out of retirement for his fight with Tyson. Then you have the Frank Bruno's, the Buster Douglas's (who defeated him) etc

Feel free to post any serious boxer apart from the 2 I named above that Tyson defeated.

This takes nothing from him as the manner of his victories were trully awesome, he is without a doubt the baddest man on the planet, but fact, he never won against a serious opponent.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, September 17, 2013 3:30:53 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

You took words right out of my mouth @McReggae!!! Let's forgive @Obi and assume he is one of those fellows who only know Tyson, Lennox and Holyfield. Otherwise this must be the joke of the day!!!