Aquifer Discovered in Kenya
#61 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 2:53:58 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
limanika wrote:
Libya has constructed man-made river using underground water reserves similar to those in Turkana. Theirs could last 1000 yrs however!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Man-Made_River
I hope you now understand why the West has raised eyebrows while here in Kenya most are asking … so what!

It's not that the discovery means nothing, the point some of us are raising here is that today Kenya already has excess water available that is easier to tap yet we are doing nothing about it!!!! This can't be compared to the oil that we have never had!......which year has ever passed without complains of floods in kenya......that is fresh water readily available and going to waste (causing destruction).....what about R. Tana in relation to the realitively dry Eastern Province?

Will Kenya deploy high technology to harness this water from the aquifier when nothing is yet to be done on harvesting the readily avaialble water....priority guys!!!!

Kenya may have excess water but I am sure Turkana didn't before this find.

So when do you estimate they will start enjoying this find? In terms of cost how does getting the excess water Kenya has to Turkana compare with harvesting from the aquifier???

Well according to the Director of Water Resources this will be done in two months time. The project was funded by Japan. I think what excites most of us about this discovery is that the acquifer was discovered probably where its needed the most and perhaps other counties will also follow suit.

http://www.capitalfm.co....ater-projects-in-kenya/[

I don't think that link refers to the Turkana aquifer!!!!
#62 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 3:05:23 PM

@ Mc Reggae... That link was to show that other counties are also working on similar projects.

http://www.capitalfm.co....-water-reserve-turkana/

"The government is now also looking to roll-out the Japanese funded project nationwide at a cost of Sh1.5 billion using the satellite, radar and geological technology that was used to find water 300 metres underground in the Lotikipi plains"
#63 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 3:14:02 PM

@ Mc Reggae... That link was to show that other counties are also working on similar projects. http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/news/2013/09/kenya-strikes-massive-water-reserve-turkana/

"The government is now also looking to roll-out the Japanese funded project nationwide at a cost of Sh1.5 billion using the satellite, radar and geological technology that was used to find water 300 metres underground in the Lotikipi plains"

Similar projects?.....no!!!!
#64 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 3:30:47 PM

@ Mc Reggae... That link was to show that other counties are also working on similar projects. http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/news/2013/09/kenya-strikes-massive-water-reserve-turkana/

You said Kenyans are doing nothing to harvest water that is already easily available so i decided to show you what other counties are doing. The two projects are not necessarily the same but output is the same..
#65 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 3:40:27 PM

[quote=TAZ]
Well according to the Director of Water Resources this will be done in two months time. The project was funded by Japan. I think what excites most of us about this discovery is that the acquifer was discovered probably where its needed the most and perhaps other counties will also follow suit.

http://www.capitalfm.co....ater-projects-in-kenya/[/quote]

This water resources guy is an idiot...NKT!!!ati 90 boreholes in Baringo!!!

In as far as I know there is a lot of water in central Baringo as the Mzee made sure that those fellows did not interfere with the catchment areas...

Consider central Baringo...The main catchments facing the east, Seretunin, Toiwon, Pemwai have enough springs and shallow water wells which would be enough to feed entire Marigat, Kampi ya Samaki, Loruk and other adjoining areas which have relatively higher population...

The catchment facing north, Bosei, Kabartojo have enough to feed Batolimo, Kipsaraman, Nginyang and other surrounding areas...

The catchment facing south, Kapchepkor, Sachoremo, Eldama Ravine and Torongo would feed the entire southern Baringo including Mogotio...

On the western side Kerio river would serve the entire population in the valley...

All this if fully and carefully implemented would cost far less as some of the basic infrastructure network is already existing...

I don't quite understand why leaders are just rushing to sink boreholes instead of first finding other ways to harness the surface water first whose current utilisation is at just about 40%!!!

Na tunalia ati hakuna maji...ABK!!!!

#66 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 3:42:39 PM

You said Kenyans are doing nothing to harvest water that is already easily available so i decided to show you what other counties are doing. The two projects are not necessarily the same but output is the same..

We then got back to my point ama.....there are cheaper available sources of water in Kenya than this big discovery of an aquifier in Turkana!!!!
#67 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 9:38:58 PM

#68 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 9:53:22 PM

Boreholes to be sank in 30daysApplause

Kusema na kutenda.Forget about those questioning what has not been done in the past.We look for the easiest options.Some postings here by we know whom belongs to Toto's corner.NKT!...It will take a couple of millions to drill adequate boreholes to refresh the Turkana populace with water in a very short time.It will take several trillions in 300 years to move Lake Victoria to Turkana county.What's so difficulty in seeing that?Sad
Tokyo
#69 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 3:58:14 AM

They are busy thinking of "power"
work to prosper
#70 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 7:28:30 AM

Goggles.. turning corporates into Zombie sycophants since 1963

There are over 500 boreholes in Turkana already.. all tapping from this now DISCOVERED aquifer
#71 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 9:14:54 AM

There are over 500 boreholes in Turkana already.. all tapping from this now DISCOVERED aquifer

They can't live the fact that is is just but a showbiz ndio ionekane kazi inatendeka!!!...sudden activity when so many can already be done on matters water!!!
#72 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 9:26:26 AM

limanika wrote:
Libya has constructed man-made river using underground water reserves similar to those in Turkana. Theirs could last 1000 yrs however!
I hope you now understand why the West has raised eyebrows while here in Kenya most are asking … so what!

It's not that the discovery means nothing, the point some of us are raising here is that today Kenya already has excess water available that is easier to tap yet we are doing nothing about it!!!! This can't be compared to the oil that we have never had!......which year has ever passed without complains of floods in kenya......that is fresh water readily available and going to waste (causing destruction).....what about R. Tana in relation to the realitively dry Eastern Province?

Will Kenya deploy high technology to harness this water from the aquifier when nothing is yet to be done on harvesting the readily avaialble water....priority guys!!!!

Nobody has said they are going to exploit the reserve so you are jumping the gun here. What is exciting is the comfort to know that water scarcity is no reason not to invest in Turkana, and Kenya has a fall back plan if climate change turns for the worst.

You are reasonable in your defence, we almost in agreement now....before we get to this water, there is still so much we can do on matters water!!!!

In Kenya water is not the problem, the issue is how to manage water water...we have more water that we actually need.

A country like Saudia has no single river, not even an inch of a river and yet they have more water than they need!
Ni ubongo minus ujinga,hakuna kitu ingine.

... And Egypt survive on one river only.
Tokyo
#73 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 10:13:44 AM

Mastermind wrote:
limanika wrote:

Nobody has said they are going to exploit the reserve so you are jumping the gun here. What is exciting is the comfort to know that water scarcity is no reason not to invest in Turkana, and Kenya has a fall back plan if climate change turns for the worst.

You are reasonable in your defence, we almost in agreement now....before we get to this water, there is still so much we can do on matters water!!!!

In Kenya water is not the problem, the issue is how to manage water water...we have more water that we actually need.

A country like Saudia has no single river, not even an inch of a river and yet they have more water than they need!

Wonders. You mean Saudia no single river?
work to prosper
#74 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 10:25:09 AM

This aquifer was found 300 metres below the ground using advanced satellite technology and confirmed with drilling. Are the 500 boreholes you are talking about that deep, i doubt it given that the cost would be quite high. I think what we lack in the country is govt's commitment towards supporting such projects. I do not think we would have made any effort towards this discovery without the financial support of Japan and UNESCO. Kazi yetu ni kuchimba tu boreholes randomly without carrying out any scientific research on the expected yield of boreholes.

http://iopscience.iop.or...-9326/7/2/024009/article
#75 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 10:32:49 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Mastermind wrote:
limanika wrote:

Wonders. You mean Saudia no single river?

GOOGLE and GOGGLES!
Shame on you Shame on you

#76 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 10:53:04 AM

This aquifer was found 300 metres below the ground using advanced satellite technology and confirmed with drilling. Are the 500 boreholes you are talking about that deep, i doubt it given that the cost would be quite high. I think what we lack in the country is govt's commitment towards supporting such projects. I do not think we would have made any effort towards this discovery without the financial support of Japan and UNESCO. Kazi yetu ni kuchimba tu boreholes randomly without carrying out any scientific research on the expected yield of boreholes.

http://iopscience.iop.or...9326/7/2/024009/article[

Hapo I agree....even as a people we lack in doing things than can be easily done before dreaming big!!!!
#77 Posted : Wednesday, October 02, 2013 10:38:30 AM

That should be this week, have we reached the aquifier yet?
#78 Posted : Wednesday, October 02, 2013 10:50:29 AM

That should be this week, have we reached the aquifier yet?

Have we even started????? ama westgate kisaga will save us.