wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

4 Pages«<234
SAFARICOM END YEAR RESULTS OF 31 /03/09.
#61 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:19:00 PM

Guys,make me understand,if safcon has no infrastructural commitments ths year,wont the PAT shoot thr the roof??? Mukiha? Jammo? Anyone?

Murenj's lover!
Gideonboots
#62 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:39:00 PM

I think Safaricom is the best buy,comparing its dividend with others.

I my calculation is right .

Safcom was at one time 5/= it droped to 2.5

Equity was 300/= it droped to 150

So safcom giving a dividend of 0.1 sh is like Equity giving a dividend of

0.1-2.5

x150

Therefore x= 0.1*150/2.5 =6

It is like equity giving div 6/-

??????

Hand that Giveth Receiveth
Djinn
#63 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 4:31:00 AM

@Simonkabz - SCOM does have huge infrastructure commitments - to position itself to play in the data arena - people like AK,KDN,Orange already have a solid foothold in that space. SCOM acquired OneCom with a view to using their infrastructure to play in the data arena but that does not seem to be working out well. With declining voice ARPU,the next revenue stream is data - from home users,education institutions,government,corporates,etc. Mpesa may keep it afloat but not for long. When it comes down to Quality of Service (QoS)as the differentiator (assuming all tarrifs become same,number portability is implemented,say in the next 6-12 months,meaning you need not stick with a mediocre operator,etc),then QoS will determine where subscribers,users,etc go. SCOM has a less than good record when it comes to quality,customer service,etc. They had announced a corporate bond or sthg if my memory serves me well - to help with infrastructure roll out. Zain,through their connections to KDN (Sameer Group) can leverage on KDN's national terrestrial fibre network. So it has some upper hand there.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#64 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 4:42:00 AM

@Gideonboots - no,I disagree. Even if Equity did not sign on another SINGLE customer,it could sustain growth and profits. Quite the opposite is true for telecoms operators - the more subscribers you have,the lower the ARPU - average revenue per user. Charges will keep dropping and the mobile market is more or less saturated for an economy such as ours. Penetration is about 35-40% (in the middle east where GDP per capita is abt 10-15 times ours on average,penetration is about 100-120% and ARPU is much higher since people there are not at all worried about whether to buy bread or 20 bob airtime.) So the market is getting saturated for voice and in the data field,AK,Orange,KDN and Wananchi are playing hard and successfully. See all those sidewalks getting dug up? Thats AK,Jamii Telecom,KDN,Orange,etc - its NOT Safaricom and there is no data player they could acquire without causing a market monopoly. They acquired OneCOm but thats a bed time story for another day.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
jammo
#65 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 4:52:00 AM

@gideonboots.... It's a struggle not to respond to ur post! .. Comparing Safcom to equity? ... Warrrr!! Haiweskani!

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
jammo
#66 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 5:02:00 AM

..compare firms that r affected by similar variables! Whether fundamentally(financial statements,business sector n industry) or technically..market statistics..float available,pricing,liquidity of the share,volume,shareholder type (longterm/shortterm,loaded/broke,investment/speculative..etc etc... For safcom n equity.. Only related variables r the technical variables..relatively affordable..to tradin small scale investors..and very liquid..at any given day whatever the volume u need to buy or sell u will do so with relative ease.. Aaaaaiiii! GideonBoots! U amaze me!

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
jammo
#67 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 6:02:00 AM

One thing workin for safcom... Zain is pathetic!! Modem failing..inaccessibility to certain websites..downloadin is a nightmare!..plus tariff charges to other networks have been altered upward and they hav no courtesy to atleast inform or warn subscribers! If it was campus i'd vote 'BURN IT DOWN!!' Orange...here i come!

#68 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 9:14:00 AM

yay... I am going to get a whopping 40/- or so...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Djinn
#69 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:16:00 AM

VVS - don't spend it all in one place smile

#70 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:22:00 AM

When are they starting disbursing the much awaited 'earning' ?I want to spend my 5 dollars responsibly. :)

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

Blackberry
#71 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 1:01:00 PM

@impunity

from my broker's report for jana - NSE foot notes,ati November 2009 could it be a typo? ama si hiyo ni matusi?

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

bwambua
#72 Posted : Saturday, May 23, 2009 5:11:00 PM

i can see some r anticipating a whooping 40/-. Kudos smart ivestors. rumour has it that it may b out by Nov...

bmw
mtaalam
#73 Posted : Monday, May 25, 2009 9:25:00 AM

Cleaver MJ! Pay us dividend through mpesa and charge us for receiving.
I'm sure the plan is to force shareholders with small amounts convert the dividend to airtime. :)

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
Djinn
#74 Posted : Monday, May 25, 2009 9:57:00 AM

@bwambua - November? Excellent,just in time to buy something for Christmas smile

#75 Posted : Monday, May 25, 2009 10:53:00 AM

Ati November?For me to get Kes.42 less Kes. 25 due Mpesa charges!

And you still call me an investor?

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

mtaalam
#76 Posted : Monday, May 25, 2009 11:47:00 AM

@Impunity,
42/- for 420 shares that you probably bought at 2,100/- or much less is not that bad....
I think it's very good compared with the dividends other counters are offering. Just 'okoa jahazi' (convert it to airtime :)

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
#77 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2009 5:35:00 AM

Can I use my dividend to re-pay my okoa? Oops,even then I need to top-up 10/-!!!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB