wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

Aquifer Discovered in Kenya
Shotgun
#41 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 10:21:09 AM

A local tale claims that Ondiri Swamp in Kikuyu Town extends all the way to Lake Naivasha. If that is true, and Nairobi is always hit by 'chronic water shortages', then I agree with McD. We may have all the resources in this country but do we have the resources (expertise and financial)and goodwill to fully exploit them?

I will give the Jubilee gaament the benefit of doubt.
limanika
#42 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 10:31:20 AM

Libya has constructed man-made river using underground water reserves similar to those in Turkana. Theirs could last 1000 yrs however!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Man-Made_River
I hope you now understand why the West has raised eyebrows while here in Kenya most are asking … so what!
MuchNo
#43 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 10:33:06 AM

majimaji wrote:

sigh.

Heh heh heh... touché!
#44 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 10:36:08 AM

limanika wrote:
Libya has constructed man-made river using underground water reserves similar to those in Turkana. Theirs could last 1000 yrs however!
I hope you now understand why the West has raised eyebrows while here in Kenya most are asking … so what!

It's not that the discovery means nothing, the point some of us are raising here is that today Kenya already has excess water available that is easier to tap yet we are doing nothing about it!!!! This can't be compared to the oil that we have never had!......which year has ever passed without complains of floods in kenya......that is fresh water readily available and going to waste (causing destruction).....what about R. Tana in relation to the realitively dry Eastern Province?

Will Kenya deploy high technology to harness this water from the aquifier when nothing is yet to be done on harvesting the readily avaialble water....priority guys!!!!
limanika
#45 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 10:59:55 AM

limanika wrote:

It's not that the discovery means nothing, the point some of us are raising here is that today Kenya already has excess water available that is easier to tap yet we are doing nothing about it!!!! This can't be compared to the oil that we have never had!......which year has ever passed without complains of floods in kenya......that is fresh water readily available and going to waste (causing destruction).....what about R. Tana in relation to the realitively dry Eastern Province?

Will Kenya deploy high technology to harness this water from the aquifier when nothing is yet to be done on harvesting the readily avaialble water....priority guys!!!!

Nobody has said they are going to exploit the reserve so you are jumping the gun here. What is exciting is the comfort to know that water scarcity is no reason not to invest in Turkana, and Kenya has a fall back plan if climate change turns for the worst.
#46 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 11:00:58 AM

Ditto..in future that finding is a good thing..
As of now.. the Turkana continue with their lives..

The other problem is how the farming communites view semi Arid areas, as lacking and bad.
The Amazon is unbearable to any other people apart from the native tribes.. so is the Congo forest unless you are pygmy.

Dry does not necessary mean bad.. look at Las Vegas..
Bora maji ya kunywa. The Turkana population is doing just as fine as the Nairobi population is doing with its water.. not enough, but meets the needs..

grolut
#47 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 11:04:05 AM

Isn't Turkana an alkaline lake?
yes it is thats why the water is un drinkable, but the water underground (over 100KM below surface) is fresh

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...so it's easier to the get the water 100KM below than purify the alkaline water!!!

Wacheni kuropokwa wajameni. Even the deepest level below the ocean surface is not that deep!!!!

Kama mafuta inapatikana 1.2km below the earth surface, kwani hii maji yenyu ni magma?

Hahaha nimecheka pwana Laughing out loudly
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#48 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 11:11:44 AM

limanika wrote:

Nobody has said they are going to exploit the reserve so you are jumping the gun here. What is exciting is the comfort to know that water scarcity is no reason not to invest in Turkana, and Kenya has a fall back plan if climate change turns for the worst.

You are reasonable in your defence, we almost in agreement now....before we get to this water, there is still so much we can do on matters water!!!!
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 11:24:45 AM

limanika wrote:

#50 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 11:27:16 AM

limanika wrote:

You are reasonable in your defence, we almost in agreement now....before we get to this water, there is still so much we can do on matters water!!!!

In Kenya water is not the problem, the issue is how to manage water water...we have more water that we actually need.

A country like Saudia has no single river, not even an inch of a river and yet they have more water than they need!
Ni ubongo minus ujinga,hakuna kitu ingine.

#51 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 11:27:53 AM

Kenya should move fast and exploit the aquifer to transform Turkana into the country's bread basket. Just like the US used the Ogallala aquifer (RINK)to turn the arid and semi arid great plains into the most productive US agricultural land. If Americans could do it a century ago, we surely can do it now.

The Ogallala Aquifer is a vast, shallow water table aquifer located beneath the Great Plains in the United States. One of the world's largest aquifers, it underlies an area of approximately 174,000 mi² (450,000 km²) in portions of eight states: (South Dakota, Nebraska, Wyoming, Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Texas).
About 27 percent of the irrigated land in the United States overlies the aquifer, which yields about 30 percent of the ground water used for irrigation in the United States. The regions overlying the Ogallala aquifer are some of the most productive regions in the United States for ranching livestock, and growing corn, wheat, and soybeans. Early settlers of the semiarid High Plains were plagued by crop failures due to cycles of drought, and it was only after World War II when center pivot irrigation became available, that the land mass of the High Plains aquifer system was transformed into one of the most agriculturally productive regions in the world.
The aquifer system supplies drinking water to 82 percent of the 2.3 million people (1990 census) who live within the boundaries of the High Plains study area.

#52 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:03:56 PM

Isn't it amazing just how blessed Kenya is?
God loves us and this country.

#53 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:22:34 PM

limanika wrote:

Kenya may have excess water but I am sure Turkana didn't before this find.
#54 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:26:56 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
limanika wrote:

So when do you estimate they will start enjoying this find? In terms of cost how does getting the excess water Kenya has to Turkana compare with harvesting from the aquifier???
#55 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 12:41:14 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
limanika wrote:

So when do you estimate they will start enjoying this find? In terms of cost how does getting the excess water Kenya has to Turkana compare with harvesting from the aquifier???

I don't know when they will start enjoying the water, but I hope someone somewhere is working on it.

I don't know how the cost of getting excess water from Kenya to Turkana compares with exploiting the acquifer, but I am sure someone will carry out a feasibility to compare piping water from the Kenya higlands to Turkana (some 600KMs minimum) with drilling a 300M hole to draw unlimited supply of the same.smile smile

#56 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 1:14:08 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
limanika wrote:

I don't know when they will start enjoying the water, but I hope someone somewhere is working on it.

I don't know how the cost of getting excess water from Kenya to Turkana compares with exploiting the acquifer, but I am sure someone will carry out a feasibility to compare piping water from the Kenya higlands to Turkana (some 600KMs minimum) with drilling a 300M hole to draw unlimited supply of the same.smile smile

Hi guys don't bash @McReggae...He is dead right on this one...

It is simply not economically viable to extract the water on a large scale to feed it to the rest of the country like many of you are saying....

...and in a country where there is plenty of surface water boreholes are supposed to be backups!!!
#57 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 1:17:25 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
limanika wrote:

Hi guys don't bash @McReggae...He is dead right on this one...

It is simply not economically viable to extract the water on a large scale to feed it to the rest of the country like many of you are saying....

...and in a country where there is plenty of surface water boreholes are supposed to be backups!!!

smile Applause .....a rare one!!!
#58 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 2:20:21 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
limanika wrote:

Well according to the Director of Water Resources this will be done in two months time. The project was funded by Japan. I think what excites most of us about this discovery is that the acquifer was discovered probably where its needed the most and perhaps other counties will also follow suit.

http://www.capitalfm.co....water-projects-in-kenya/
#59 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 2:25:25 PM

Its up to the gov of Turkana to make sure the water here is harnessed and used however the people of Turkana wish to. There are many aquifers elsewhere esp in Western Kenya I went there for a funeral and the water people were using was being drawn from the ground.

My thoughts are that now that we know water is not a problem, we should agitate to use it to our benefit. It is believed that almost half of humanity will face water scarcity in 2030. That means people will be thirsty and some industries will drop/close down. Thats why there's this frenzy to take satellite pictures everywhere.
majimaji
#60 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 2:48:14 PM

How come Kisumu is by lake Victoria yet the town lacks adequate water and what is available in taps has colour?