wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Planting trees
Motomoto
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 2:55:20 PM

Dear Wazuans
I have an acre of land which i want to plant trees that i could sell in future, next 10 or so years. The area is Makueni. Can Eucalyptus trees grow there?
2. Does the Department of forestry (if it exists) offer seedlings to individuals.
3. If not where can I get tree seedlings (not necessarily eucalyptus)

Thanks
#2 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 3:39:03 PM

If no other trees grow in Makueni,then you are assured the eucalyptus won't do either.An acre will take 600-650 trees (Standard spacing) and yep,seedlings and advice on best variety for your piece of land can be got from your nearest KEFRI station.

http://www.kefri.org/#
jamplu
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 4:03:24 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans
I have an acre of land which i want to plant trees that i could sell in future, next 10 or so years. The area is Makueni. Can Eucalyptus trees grow there?
2. Does the Department of forestry (if it exists) offer seedlings to individuals.

Thanks

Which part of makueni?
Motomoto
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 9:21:47 PM

jamplu wrote:
Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

Which part of makueni?

Mukaa area
Motomoto
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 9:23:49 PM

[quote=Njung'e]If no other trees grow in Makueni,then you are assured the eucalyptus won't do either.An acre will take 600-650 trees (Standard spacing) and yep,seedlings and advice on best variety for your piece of land can be got from your nearest KEFRI station.

http://www.kefri.org/#[/quote]
Thanks Kasee...
#6 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 9:31:20 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

I dont know if mukaa is in the green part of makueni but eucalyptus will dry up the place. My suggestion is u visit the forest dept machakos or nrb and someone will advice you on which trees will do well where
Motomoto
#7 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 9:58:28 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

I dont know if mukaa is in the green part of makueni but eucalyptus will dry up the place. My suggestion is u visit the forest dept machakos or nrb and someone will advice you on which trees will do well where

But where are the Agriculture Extension Officers to advice people. I am seeing people planting trees in the middle of their shambas...Who is supposed to tell them this is wrong?
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 10:16:22 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

But where are the Agriculture Extension Officers to advice people. I am seeing people planting trees in the middle of their shambas...Who is supposed to tell them this is wrong?

That is one department that needs new life. infact they've made it that its upto you to seek them when you need advice. Advice them when you get the chance
#9 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 10:24:00 PM

kama ni makueni forget eucalyptus and plant apple mangoes and oawpaws..
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 10:41:23 PM

eucalyptus grow in the cool areas of mukaa/ nunguni /kilome. they've always grown there since mzungu came to the area.the place has always been cool and wet.plant and forget.
8 years down the line you will be a millionaire.
#11 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 10:53:29 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

That is one department that needs new life. infact they've made it that its upto you to seek them when you need advice. Advice them when you get the chance

These, along with Livestock Extension Officers are amongst the most difficult fellows to find. They're so scarce yet their services are sorely needed. But they are there, I sometimes see them in my locality.
#12 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 8:54:03 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

These, along with Livestock Extension Officers are amongst the most difficult fellows to find. They're so scarce yet their services are sorely needed. But they are there, I sometimes see them in my locality.

This is a country with no work ethics...You go looking for government land surveyors, they are not in office but in the filed busy doing their own survey work and they are on government payroll...you pay for services that are supposed to be offered free...and when @kiash raises these concerns we all turn against him...ABK
GGK
#13 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 10:40:29 AM

Hi, try Tree Biotechnology Programme in Karura. they will advise you on the best breed for your area. I've been there a number of times and they are very resourceful
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#14 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 11:16:43 AM

there is a dry area species being sold by Tree Biotechnology at Muthaiga. Kshs 18 per seedling.
jamplu
#15 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 12:24:47 PM

even pine patula does well there. I have a few seedlings eucalyptus and pine patula can deliver near to you! if interested niko jamplu@yahoo.com
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 11:21:56 PM

Motomoto wrote:
Dear Wazuans

Thanks

Wicked humour...
a4architect.com
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 8:20:36 AM

Bamboo is rated among the top 10 most profitable plants to grow...maybe you can try it...

http://www.a4architect.c...ecture-and-construction/
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
accelriskconsult
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:35:15 AM

Eucalyptus does well in Mukaa.

There is a forest owned by Kyale Mwendwa on one of the hills next to Mukaa. The trees were planted by the colonialists.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 4:21:33 PM

[quote=a4architect.com]Bamboo is rated among the top 10 most profitable plants to grow...maybe you can try it...

http://www.a4architect.c...cture-and-construction/[/quote]
But be careful about that guy who is all over the media/internet telling guys that they will be able to harvest 9ft pole of 3*3ft thickness.
faa
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 4:29:16 PM

is the Eucalyptus also know and "Mufao"?

if so, it does consume alot of water...

What about "muthithinda"? it's quite profittable also..I know of a farmer in Nyandarua who sells one wide mature muthithinda at 20,000 ...he has planted this in a 1.2 acre shamba...

Pesa inaingia mpaka kichwa inashangaa