wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

Which way TZ?
limanika
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 1:37:04 PM

Tanzania is going through a rough patch. Picture this:
Malawi: They have disagreed with Malawi on where the boundary between them lies. Tanzania insists the boundary lies along the centre line of the Lake Malawi while Malawi insists the boundary lies along TZ mainland boundary with the lake. That TZ should not claim even an inch of the water, and apparently the maps support this claim. The conflict is serious; TZ has reiterated their military is ready for any eventuality
Rwanda – How did this conflict with Rwanda start? Again TZ has reiterated their military is ready for any eventuality, have expunged illegal immigrants from Rwanda
Kenya – This is more of cold war. TZ has reiterated they want to be the logistics hub for air and sea transport for entire region including S. Sudan. This without due consideration that Kenya exists and has been serving this role all this time. If this is not cold war, what is?
EAC – TZ not participating in infrastructure projects being undertaken by KUR. TZ opposed to federation, single EAC tourist visa and monetary union?
US – last 3 US presidents have visited TZ in and out at will. Currently the blue eyed boy of EAC, not going down well with other EAC states
SADC – TZ sees itself as more of SADC rather than EAC. TZ sees itself as a logistics hub for Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. However, it is easier for these countries to connect to the sea through Mozambique than TZ. DRC has a coast of its own, and apparently do not share any dry border with TZ.
Now, which way TZ?
kamundu
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 7:47:12 PM

Reminds me of the dog with the bone that got to the river then.......
Tz is seriously Xenophobic. Yaani, doing business with them is just impossible especially if you are Kenyan.
I think we should take advantage of our geographical location, it favours us more than it favours TZ
Peace in our Homeland.
the deal
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 8:42:30 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Tz's advance is already making folks nervous...watch for this leap of the century...Tz is SADC's proxy in DRC....aah Malawians are just making noise...nothing to worry there...on Rwanda...SADC...the West...they all want Kagame out...Tz like any power house...is just flexing its muscle and Kenya is worried real bad...
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 8:51:41 PM

the deal wrote:
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Tz's advance is already making folks nervous...watch for this leap of the century...Tz is SADC's proxy in DRC....aah Malawians are just making noise...nothing to worry there...on Rwanda...SADC...the West...they all want Kagame out...Tz like any power house...is just flexing its muscle and Kenya is worried real bad...

What advance?
the deal
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:11:05 PM

the deal wrote:

What advance?

The Chinese...the US & its former Presidents have all landed in Tz in 2013...all of them have come with goodies...the port from the chinese is very viable...all we need is peace in DRC...the richest country in Africa...or why do you think Tz is shafting Rwanda like that? Rwanda is supporting M23...once peace is attained in DRC...serious mining will take place...all shipped through the new port in Tz...even South Sudan can use it...SS are becoming distant from .Ke...theyre even talking Djibouti...thats a blow...Tz has the psychologic edge...or why do u think UK had to go to China? Its a blow in the sense that all the superpowers are coming to Tz instead of the current regional powerhouse...itself is an indicator of the leap Tz has taken....
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:37:53 PM

the deal wrote:

What advance?

The Chinese...the US & its former Presidents have all landed in Tz in 2013...all of them have come with goodies...the port from the chinese is very viable...all we need is peace in DRC...the richest country in Africa...or why do you think Tz is shafting Rwanda like that? Rwanda is supporting M23...once peace is attained in DRC...serious mining will take place...all shipped through the new port in Tz...even South Sudan can use it...SS are becoming distant from .Ke...theyre even talking Djibouti...thats a blow...Tz has the psychologic edge...or why do u think UK had to go to China? Its a blow in the sense that all the superpowers are coming to Tz instead of the current regional powerhouse...itself is an indicator of the leap Tz has taken....

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly , you are very funny - you have really tickled me
the deal
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:54:16 PM

Yeah I'm fun....but eish the number of threads popping on Wazua about Tz just shows that Kenyans are worried about Tz...oh was Kikwete even in Mombasa for that EAC meeting?...I'm sure he gave it a middle finger...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:06:28 PM

deleted
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:12:41 PM

the deal wrote:

What advance?

There's no advancement there...infact the Bagamoyo chorus has now changed and the rhyme now is Dar port should be modernized to match the efficiency of Msa. The visits are a clear indication and signal of who is involved in DRC

On the M23 issue...Kagame has refused to eat ugali with those causing the war in DRC...read Kagame's piece on the EastAfrican sometime ago..tho its full of mafumbo the guy is exposing something that the many would rather close their eyes to. After this, he became a dictator..heard that before? And after that TZ became the new darling. The Rw TZ issue started when Rwandan intelligence agents intercepted and arrested Gen Stanislas Nzeyimana alias Bigaruka Izabayo, a senior FDLR commander, on his way out of Tanzania, where he had met senior regime and military officials. It is believed he is being promised the leadership of Rwanda because there's a plot to ouster Kagame.

On S.Sudan, they say the option to construct a pipeline to Djibouti is cheaper for them...well and good...it could be a blessing to us, we'd rather handle our resources alone. But from yesterdays meeting, S.Sudan was proposing that they be included on the Lappset project.

On discussions here, we are not worried rather we are wazuaring.

Point to note, we're the new middle east. If you know the history of middle east then you should be concerned on what is developing.
the deal
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:15:30 PM

the deal wrote:
Yeah I'm fun....but eish the number of threads popping on Wazua about Tz just shows that Kenyans are worried about Tz...oh was Kikwete even in Mombasa for that EAC meeting?...I'm sure he gave it a middle finger...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@the deal you don't really understand the geo-political relationship between Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. Current status can be traced back to the Mwalimu-Kenyatta-Obote-Idi Amin days. Tanzania and Kenya chose opposite ideological paths that will be hard to reconcile even after 100 years. Uganda was the unstable

the deal
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:17:51 PM

In Tanzania people are saying that meeting in Mombasa wasnt even an EAC meeting http://www.ippmedia.com/...ntend/index.php?l=58692 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@Sparkly you will be shocked at how much I know...I love geopolitics...
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:36:04 PM

the deal wrote:

@the deal you don't ready understand the geo-politics of East Africa. The current relationships go back to the 70s.

Kenya and Tanzania took opposite ideological directions in early 70s. Mwalimu Nyerere was deeply socialist and once remarked that if he wanted to go to London, he just needed to cross the border to Nairobi. He also called Kenya a man eat man society.

Uganda was the militarized and unstable of the bunch. Kenyan trained Amin "Dada" overthrew Obote forcing him to free to TZ. TZ fought a war against UG in 78-79 and overthrew Amin and his Libyan troops. TZ had to foot the war bill leaving the country impoverished for decades.

The differences between Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda are historical as well as ideological and will not be reconcilled even in the next 100 yrs. Nothing to do with showing middle fingers or national pride.

As it is, Kenya will have to intergrate with Uganda, Rwanda, SS, Burundi, Ethiopia and Somalia leaving TZ to flirt with both SADC and EAC but commiting to none. TZ stands to lose.
InnovateGuy
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:55:27 PM

the deal wrote:
In Tanzania people are saying that meeting in Mombasa wasnt even an EAC meeting http://www.ippmedia.com/...ntend/index.php?l=58692 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@Sparkly you will be shocked at how much I know...I love geopolitics...

Oh boy! You miss the point by a mile. Why would an outsider who is many miles away want to drive a wedge between you and your neighbour? What you don't realize is that JK is being used by the big boys to 'fight' Kagame because he has not been 'toeing' the line lately. Everyone wants a piece of DRC. The west want regime change in Kigali so that they cane 'eat' in peace. The 'rest' of East Africa sees beyond these machinations. Intergration is the real deal my friend. 'Separatist' strategies will not work in the long run.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Wakanyugi
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:56:41 PM

Someone needs to explain to me why all this is important. All the countries in the EAC have more problems than they can solve in a life time.

If you think Uhuru visiting China or an American president coming to Tanzania will solve these problems, you know nothing about geopolitics.

As for Tanzania against Malawi against Rwanda against DRC, Kenya against Uganda against Sudan etc etc - these petty pissing games are mere distractions. That is all.

I hope the leaders who are engaging in them will wake up soon and do the work they were hired to do. Serving the people of this region.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:57:56 PM

the deal wrote:

boss, did you even read that article, or you are just rehersing for an appearancecon churchill show?

just visit jamiiforums.com and you will notice which nations citizens are at pain amongst the E.AC!

InnovateGuy
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:04:44 PM

the deal wrote:

FYI, sometimes it takes even 10 days for a ship to dock and offload in Bagamoyo. Again, the costs are prohibitive - over 70 % than in Mombasa. I will not even talk of the many roadblocks and the kitu kidogo which increases the cost of doing business. What will happen if Rwanda and Uganda avoid Bagamoyo? Toa goggles.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:36:02 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Someone needs to explain to me why all this is important. All the countries in the EAC have more problems than they can solve in a life time.

If you think Uhuru visiting China or an American president coming to Tanzania will solve these problems, you know nothing about geopolitics.

As for Tanzania against Malawi against Rwanda against DRC, Kenya against Uganda against Sudan etc etc - these petty pissing games are mere distractions. That is all.

I hope the leaders who are engaging in them will wake up soon and do the work they were hired to do. Serving the people of this region.

couldnt have said it better we focus on things that dont help us...our myriad of problems can only be solved by us,focusing on the real deal and putting this issues in the backseat us all we need to do...
Realtreaty
#18 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 1:08:59 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kinjitikile Ngware. The Maji Majis who believe they can stay away from EAC and survive just not knowing that most of its imports are produced in South Africa. It exports its natural resources to south Africa they they buy mikufu na kunena "Ukiviona vyaelea, vyaundwa!!!
#19 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 3:42:28 AM

Deleted...

the deal wrote:

@the deal you don't ready understand the geo-politics of East Africa. The current relationships go back to the 70s.

Kenya and Tanzania took opposite ideological directions in early 70s. Mwalimu Nyerere was deeply socialist and once remarked that if he wanted to go to London, he just needed to cross the border to Nairobi. He also called Kenya a man eat man society.

Uganda was the militarized and unstable of the bunch. Kenyan trained Amin "Dada" overthrew Obote forcing him to free to TZ. TZ fought a war against UG in 78-79 and overthrew Amin and his Libyan troops. TZ had to foot the war bill leaving the country impoverished for decades.

The differences between Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda are historical as well as ideological and will not be reconcilled even in the next 100 yrs. Nothing to do with showing middle fingers or national pride.

As it is, Kenya will have to intergrate with Uganda, Rwanda, SS, Burundi, Ethiopia and Somalia leaving TZ to flirt with both SADC and EAC but commiting to none. TZ stands to lose.

hisah
#20 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:02:19 AM

The end game should be Africa community as Ghadaffi rightly foresaw it and paid for it... Such a trading bloc will be a force to reckon...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!