Only broke nigga around?
karis
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:31:00 AM

Relax aristo. There are many of us who are also trying to reach where some of the SKerians are. Every once in a while I prepare a mini-balance sheet of my assets and liabilities. So far the difference between the two has not been very good,but am optimistic and I try to set ambitious targets of acquisition of assets and boosting my earnings from both jobo and biashara where I land some. I try to have as little depreciable assets as possible just to make sure that the investments are of value at the time I evaluate my position. Am not too far from the 30 year mark,and my target is to bag a few millions by the time I turn 30,of course with God ahead of all my plans. I'd just say you be an ardent follower of these discussions (hata kama wewe uko silent kama mimi) and let them enlighten you on what others are doing and where you think you can fit in to better your life. Let this be a challenge,not a discouragement. SKerians,keep up the good work!
sheep
#22 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 9:13:00 AM

The easiest way to grow rich is by using debt.Put it in sure investments like rental property with guaranteed high returns.Take calculated risks rigged greatly to your favour.All of the richest people I know of take huge loans and invest wisely.Debt is your greatest friend,embrace it.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
reddevil
#23 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 9:18:00 AM

Money is not everything?...

Why are you in SK? for entertainment...?

I am sure each of us is here to pick up tips in-order to make that extra penny...

The guys who say money is not everything are the one's who have been there done that..

Follow such words to your peril...and you will never make the money...

Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
condi
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 9:41:00 AM

@aristo

no one achieves what is in your list over night,its achived through working smart and being patient. Get tips from our brother and sisters who have achieved what you want to achieve.
Kioko_Nesa
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 11:28:00 AM

You are in the right forum this is a dream land. If you cant dream please forget SK

Kioko
PONDI
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 12:19:00 PM

words to live by ... 'Money is not the most important thing in the world. Love is. Fortunately,I love money.”

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
sukuma
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 1:19:00 PM

You are in the wrong forum sir,facts are hard to bite btw many consolations here lakini wankucheka kimoyomoyo.go to mashada,that is where i was before i graduated to the no poverty zone!get my drift?

sk lady
bebeto
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 1:35:00 PM

you are not alone dude,many are here,but use this as a challenge not a threat,
besides,ukishindana na ndovu msalani,utapasua........

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Gideonboots
#29 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 2:19:00 PM

@ Sukuma,Ur right,I had not tried mashada.

Hand that Giveth Receiveth
#30 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 2:25:00 PM

Prob is,if you start blogging at Mashada,you find it very difficult to adjust when you re-unite with Skerians... for the obvious reasons.... two very different communities.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Charley
#31 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:37:00 PM

@reddevil Why am I in SK? To gain knowledge - I crave information,I am a knowledge gatherer. As a part time NSE investor &ndash; sure SK may help (it hasn&rsquo;t so far only because my decisions override those of majority at SK i.e. I go against the grain&hellip;). Also,if I can share my aspirations/experiences with my fellow Kenyans in any forum &ndash; that is as it should be for why am I on earth,and a Kenyan?
@aristocrat @all: Back to making money - I did not mean that one should not seek to make money. No! By all means you must try to do so. One must seek to improve their QOL! But in doing so remember today,enjoy today and the free things on offer,they are the best. Who says you will see 40 and then have money. Time alone is not a reliable indicator of monetary success! The vast majority of 40s,50s,60s and older have little to show&hellip;
My 10 point advise (it works for me)
1. Have positive principles &ndash; honesty,no greed,hard work,persistence,exercise (try this,try that and keep at it until something works (Note &ndash; honesty and no greed means I will never be super rich &ndash; I am certainly not rich,but many will argue otherwise!))
2. Keep friends who motivate you positively (or have none!) and in the right direction (not those that lead you to deci&rsquo;s,GNLD&rsquo;s and manna from heaven!)
3. Be not afraid to go against the grain by following your intuition. Don&rsquo;t be afraid to venture and change strategies (sell that house and buy plots,sell that car and buy a plot,sell that plot and buy a house; sell the plot and buy a car,stocks etc) don&rsquo;t be static,be dynamic in changing situations!
4. Understand the investment environment (e.g. understand Kenyan environ and Kenyan psych!) and act accordingly irrespective of all is being said (e.g. due to PEV and safaricom IPO I thought the only way for NSE was down &ndash; I was alone in this view; I decided to withdraw entirely from the NSE &ndash; saved a fortune). Currently seeking a reentry point (but in absolutely no hurry).
5. Focus on yourself,your virtues,your goals,forget the Kamaus.
6. Have a supportive spouse that thinks like you,with similar goals; and support your spouse too (be friends (take her out dancing,have dates; it will be the two of you against the world!)
7. Remember it is not how much you earn,but how you allocate your resources (invest some,spend some (tusker baridi)
8. Be creative in whatever you are doing &ndash; create a new avenue,seek new partnerships,create new opportunities; try and you will be amazed. Don&rsquo;t just sit there and wait for the opportunity; create it!
9. Take risks but be economical with them (do as much groundwork as possible!). Once the risk is taken,be strong and take the rewards as well as the losses and move on..
10. Have realistic expectations (e.g. a flat in Pipeline rather than an apartment on Riverside Drive &ndash; it&rsquo;s all brick and mortar; it is you who will turn it into a home) &ndash; and you know what,Riverside may just happen as a bonus&hellip;&hellip;..
My pesa nane to all you young teenies out there and all the best; but remember to enjoy life as you go along for today will be gone forever.