Only broke nigga around?
aristocrats
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:20:00 PM

Ignore my username. I've just been wondering,kwani I'm the only broke Nigga around here? Guys are discussing posts about their Subarus,VWs,Rav 4s,plots,building houses,importing Range Rovers and Motorbikes......jameni!!! Na niko na job,by the way,lakini sina any? Hata kiatu imeinama 45-degrees at the heel. I'm in the wrong forum ama?? Leteni morale..............

I dont know,therefore I ask.
sierra
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 3:51:00 PM

hey nigga,

hawa ni watu wametoka mbali and at one point they were where you are,but if you are agemates with akina gukka then you are the only broke nigga around!!!

be yourself
eli
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 4:06:00 PM

Some guys here are like 40-50 years old. Some 30+ years old and some,like you are 20+ years old.

I fall in the last group and so are you! This group of people rarely discuss Range Rovers,plots,etc! Save and invest,and before long,you'll be discussing the same!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 4:34:00 PM

...how old are you? I read an article by Oyunga Pala ( Mantalk) where he said,'If you are 40 and you have not made your first million (Ksh),stop trying. Some men were meant to serve'. ...
jmichi
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 6:48:00 PM

u r in the right forum,i thot that sk ws 4the rich bt then i realizd majority r 'wonna b rich' am a studi &an sk addict.if u feel dmoralizd then avoid investment option 4 nw.bt it shud act as a chalyg nt a threat!

if u resign in realizing ur dream u cease to live.
never outshine your master......robert green
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 8:06:00 PM

@Aristocrats
Dont be fooled,as @jmich says...some of us are just 'wonna bes' but..it's what keeps us going...and SK busy. Ever read 'the secret'? i guess we're just exercising what we read...attract and it shall come unto yee..hehee

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 8:20:00 PM

Dude,uko sawa,time=age,time=money hence age=money. Bado u r still closer to the startline

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
PONDI
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 9:05:00 PM

aristo.... be challenged not discouraged. on a related note,margaret Thatcher once said 'if you are 30 and dont drive to work then consider yourself a failure in life'.....

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
Charley
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 12:56:00 AM

Will not use the term nigga,some self respect! Anyway,Maybe I am the wrong bloke to comment but money is not everything. I have achieved all you list but I am not any happier than I was to begin with. Granted,you should not starve but........ there is more to life,the things that I enjoyed most were free - jogging in the open,friends,the sun,the trees,the birds,a social network,health,love,compassion for others and giving..............
aristocrats
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 5:03:00 AM

@all,thanks guys. The use of word 'nigga' was just for effect,nothing malicious. I'm 29,so,yes,there's still time.

@pondi,the Iron Lady must've been referring to Britain bwana....In Kenya,a car is still a status symbol bwana.

I dont know,therefore I ask.
Jacy26
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 5:17:00 AM

Morning guys. I concur with @Charley.
The best things in life are indeed free.

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
kafein
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 5:30:00 AM

@ aristo,

dont compare yourself with others,many have failed coz of that,,just coz nani have upgraded his/her car..u take a bigger loan to upgrade your car too..u end up straining yourself...polepole but be focused
Mr.Tea
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 5:46:00 AM

There is a good piece popularly known as Desiderata,acquaint thyself with it,it works when you feel low and listless.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 6:21:00 AM

Words from Deciderata:

'Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
they are vexations to the spirit.
If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain and bitter;
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself. Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans'
the sage
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 7:14:00 AM

Gordon Gekko! Dude,you seriously call yourself Gordon Gekko.
jitetee
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:06:00 AM

That is a good summary of things @Charley.

@aristocrat

It is true that money does not buy happiness though it does come pretty close!! hehehe. My advice would be that you set yourself aggressive financial goals that stretch your abilities,work hard toward achieving them but never ever forget to enjoy life along the way...

But @Pondi my forcibly-reformed buddy,you might make someone jump from a building with that Margaret Thatcher quote! hehehe.

Time and chance happen to all.
Tutu
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:07:00 AM

@aristocrats,

M wid you,at first i thot aiiii m in the wrong forum coz i don't even own a tuktuk,leave alone a mkokoteni. I still hang around here coz of it challenges me to work smart and not necessarily working hard. Warren Buffet once said ''It's better to hang out with people better than you...and you will drift in that direction'. This is what keeps me here. m in the age grp ya btwn 25 & 30. Don't whack me pllllzzzzz

Sk informative,challenging,etc

so aristocrast keep it here and remain focused,i am! We will also make it it's all in the mind what you think you become!

For me to live is Jesus Christ,to die is gain
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:19:00 AM

@Aristo,

If the shoes are leaning outward at 45 degrees,you need not worry.It doesn't mean you are a poor dude.Just probably short and therefore your centre of gravity is low......Try interchanging them occassionaly and soon,the tilt will disappear...-:)....BTW,they say life starts at fourty.What is the hurry for?......damn!

Guka wa bijuti...
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:20:00 AM

I concur with @kafein - read his post.

But its also good to acknowledge that,yes,on this site,i have come to really respect people. We have people (am not one of them) who have really accomplished alot in their life. Age only matters when you remain focused. a 29 year old who blows all his salary by the 3rd of each month and leaves on loans without any investments will still be there at 40. If someone has achieved alot at 40,they did not start investing at 39............no. They started when they were earning much less (get my drift?)

@Charley
I may be wrong but someone once mentioned that you actually appreciate those free things you have mentioned much more as you go up the Maslow's hierarchy. if you are at the basic level,you are too busy trying to meet those for you to realise that there is anything free... as you go past belonging - esteem you start appreciating what you have,yourself,your achievements and you are more at peace to enjoy the free things.... It made some sense though.

But that is not to mean that we shouldnt enjoy what we have no matter the level we are in.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Jokimy
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 8:23:00 AM

You are in the right forum. As a wise man said 'he who walks with the wise shall be wise but a companion of fools shall suffer destruction. In this forum,you can pick the best advice/opinion and benefit from it as many have done.

The experience of being broke is a stage in life and happens to everyone including the rich,the weathy and the famous. The only difference is the degree. At your age I was in similar boat but now in my mid 30s,the story is different.

You get what you deserve or think you deserve. Where you are today is as a result of thoughts,beliefs and actions you took some time ago. To get to where you want to be in the future,focus your thoughts,beliefs and action on that direction and you will get there.

The plans of the diligent lead surely to plenty,but those of everyone who is hasty,surely to poverty.