Market
Review
MULTICHOICE RIP-OFF
pssst quiet jimmi gathu will hear you aaanze kufanyia hesabu phombe siyui sigara nyama shoma. Muchene.. . King G wrote:I pay DSTV for my family. Ball kwa pub. life continues.... "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Impunity wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Hapa naona mkingoja muda mrefu sana for a competitor. Just ask yourself who owns local multichoice operations, therein lies your answer as to why there's unlikely to be a viable competitor in the near future. If your viewing hours are limited, I humbly submit you have no reason subscribing to pay tv. Not when the same alternatives exist on FTA Satellite tv anyway. And if the EPL is your thing, why not get the JSC sports card that goes for about US $180 p.a. The beauty of this is that the decoder offers you a chance to view other fta channels besides the sports. And by the way, ESPN bado ziko hapo kwa JSC.Check this out. Sounds great! Not commenting about ESPN, but about EPL. Watching soccer / football, is not really my thing, but for those who watch, it's true that Aljazeera sports has EPL, they got the rights for about $300 million. http://www.standardmedia...e/?articleID=2000088635
http://www.screendigest....e_mena_region/view.html
You can get the card from: http://www.jsc-cards.com/order/
Only get a new decoder if your decoder cannot support the card. The full sports package is currently @ $165 PER YEAR! Current deal expiring on 31-05-2014 http://www.jsc-cards.com...sports-package-p48.html
JSC FAQ: http://www.jsc-cards.com...ly-asked-questions.html
The FAQ reveals that HD6, +10 & +3 has English commentary. In the FAQ, note the different channels that show the different matches. If you can get Nilesat's signal, you are good to go, start by searching for it & it's FTA channels http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=395050#post395050
Sample schedule on HD6: Note the R and the L, Repeat / Live http://www.en.aljazeeras...hedule/channel/hd6/tab/2They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Gathige wrote:Am wrote:dunkang wrote:Dash wrote:Am wrote:It is called absolute Monopoly.They have No competitor, Wait until the get one. Their Customer service sucks. Ive waited for that competitor to come for years no sign :( GTV came and left! StarTimes is here and it SUCKS big time! NKT!!!I still have a GTV de corder and stuff, that I bought the SAME day they Closed shop! The had an offer at Nakumats.The biggest Multichoice seller is the English Premier league. If a Competitor, however big or small can be able to come here and get those rights then Multichoice Collapses PAP. @Am, Always be wary of offers. Its either the product is just about to expire, a new technology is about to be released or just dead stock that needs to be offloaded. In my other life when i used to do stock take, we once visited a pharmacy where 50% of the items had expired and guess what-- they had the lowest prices in town! How True. Something to be absolutely careful about. Especially when the offer is on Food Products. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
Wazuans can analyse the financials of Naspers group to realise why their stranglehold on PayTV is not going away soon. The best hope we have is that internet prices come down to the point where you can stream games online using a 3000bob internet connection. The way healthy competition is developing in the ISP sector, I can see internet prices coming down in the next few years.
Not too mention that movies are repeated 3 to 5 times. Guess subscribers are getting a raw deal.
My biggest problem is that they have moved all all other leagues (La liga, Seria A) to premium channels SS5 and SS6. Previously these games would be on SS3/SS10/SS7 basically giving Compact Plus subs a very raw deal. "The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score". - Bill Copeland
but there's no alternative where i am
msemakweli1 wrote:but there's no alternative where i am You do have an alternative with what @D32 has stated up there. If a fan of football, then 20k per year for HD football channels is a bargain.
D32 wrote:Impunity wrote:[quote=Rankaz13]Hapa naona mkingoja muda mrefu sana for a competitor. Just ask yourself who owns local multichoice operations, therein lies your answer as to why there's unlikely to be a viable competitor in the near future. If your viewing hours are limited, I humbly submit you have no reason subscribing to pay tv. Not when the same alternatives exist on FTA Satellite tv anyway. And if the EPL is your thing, why not get the JSC sports card that goes for about US $180 p.a. The beauty of this is that the decoder offers you a chance to view other fta channels besides the sports. And by the way, ESPN bado ziko hapo kwa JSC.Check this out. Sounds great! Not commenting about ESPN, but about EPL. Watching soccer / football, is not really my thing, but for those who watch, it's true that Aljazeera sports has EPL, they got the rights for about $300 million. http://www.standardmedia...e/?articleID=2000088635
http://www.screendigest....e_mena_region/view.html
You can get the card from: http://www.jsc-cards.com/order/
Only get a new decoder if your decoder cannot support the card.The full sports package is currently @ $165 PER YEAR! Current deal expiring on 31-05-2014 http://www.jsc-cards.com...sports-package-p48.html
JSC FAQ: http://www.jsc-cards.com...ly-asked-questions.html
The FAQ reveals that HD6, +10 & +3 has English commentary. In the FAQ, note the different channels that show the different matches. If you can get Nilesat's signal, you are good to go, start by searching for it & it's FTA channels http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=395050#post395050
Sample schedule on HD6: Note the R and the L, Repeat / Live http://www.en.aljazeeras...edule/channel/hd6/tab/2[/quote] Are decorders that work with the cards available locally? any wazuan using this service in Kenya? "The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score". - Bill Copeland
King G wrote:I pay DSTV for my family. Ball kwa pub. life continues.... @King G, Do you prefer the pub over home in order to cut Dstv costs or you just prefer the pub?
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
I really need a solution to this.... is there someone selling these AlJazeera gadgets locally? "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
GGK wrote:I really need a solution to this.... is there someone selling these AlJazeera gadgets locally? Yap, there is. I can hook you up with the fellow, my buddy actually, who's based in coasto. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/27/2010 Posts: 266 Location: Nairobi
@Rankaz,@D32,
cheers for the FTA Al Jazeera recommendation. Would you know of any installers in Nairobi?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
Rankaz13 wrote:GGK wrote:I really need a solution to this.... is there someone selling these AlJazeera gadgets locally? Yap, there is. I can hook you up with the fellow, my buddy actually, who's based in coasto. @Rankaz, pls inbox me the Coasto installers + tel contacts, rahatupu at ymail dot com
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
mkeiyd wrote:King G wrote:I pay DSTV for my family. Ball kwa pub. life continues.... @King G, Do you prefer the pub over home in order to cut Dstv costs or you just prefer the pub? There is no costs to cut; i said i pay DSTV for my family and pub with the boys. Where is the cost cutting measure (the family in the sentence is not the package bwana) Thieves
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
Rankaz13 wrote:GGK wrote:I really need a solution to this.... is there someone selling these AlJazeera gadgets locally? Yap, there is. I can hook you up with the fellow, my buddy actually, who's based in coasto. plz hook me up ... my email... kamundudry-at-gmail-dot-com "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
mkeiyd wrote:King G wrote:I pay DSTV for my family. Ball kwa pub. life continues.... @King G, Do you prefer the pub over home in order to cut Dstv costs or you just prefer the pub? Not sure what this question was since the answer was in the question. Will " yes" suffice?
@Rankaz13 if the guy is in business then just put his email/cell no here and guys can contact him....more sales!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Interested in this Al jazeera deal.Pliz call jkmunga@gmail.com
Market
Review