wazua Sun, Apr 20, 2025

149 Pages«<1213141516>»
Mumias Sugar huge demand
mwanahisa
#261 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 3:12:37 PM

Now i see you understand the phrase, 'its senseless to give bad news in a hurry'.

@dunkang, I was waiting for thatLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . Yes indeed I do understand the phrase. The difference,In the case of MSC, we know for sure that the news will be really dire. In Britam's case, as I have already pointed out they have had an uplift of 4 billion shillings from their main listed equity (pardon the pun). Barring a catastrophic claims experience in H1, I can bet their results will be better than last year's. As for Mumias, we are all praying for its salvationPray Pray .
mwekez@ji
#262 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 5:32:24 PM

sib today wrote:
... Whereas long awaited reforms in the sugar sector could seem to be coming signaled by the recent cancellation of import licenses, false dawns in the sector have crept up regularly over the last 10 years.

Modoh
#263 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 6:20:19 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@mwekez@ji;
Mumias historically reports its full year results by August 31 unless maybe this year there will be a change

Wasn't the CFO ousted a week or two ago?

I am almost certain that this year, they will drag their feet on reporting. Note that, they have also traditionally reported their first half results on the last Friday of January, but I guess that we can say that this was in the Kidero era. This year H1 results were announced on 27th February, the very last day allowed by NSE regulations.

Now i see you understand the phrase, 'its senseless to give bad news in a hurry'.

Msafara wa mamba burukenge hawakosi![/b]
Mucene
#264 Posted : Saturday, August 17, 2013 2:00:39 PM

THE government has suspended the issuance of sugar import licences and registration of any new sugar import companies.
The government has also lifted the existing ban on exports of sugar from Kenya.
The measures is aimed at reducing the sugar over-supply and stabilising market prices......

An in order to introduce sanity in the distribution of sugar in the country, all the eleven licensed white sugar millers were directed to submit the list of their distributors and other customers to the Ministry with immediate effect.
This will enable the government closely monitor the distribution, sale and pricing of sugar to avoid undue market distortions.
All licensed millers have also been ordered to suspend their dedicated distributorships and open up to a larger retailing distribution network.

http://the-star.co.ke/ne...e-sugar-import-licences

How is this going to affect Mumias?
If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
#265 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 6:51:45 AM

Three more sugar factories have been registered in Busia County in a move set to pile pressure on listed miller Mumias Sugar Company (MSC).

http://www.businessdaily...96/-/8xn70k/-/index.html
hisah
#266 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 6:55:04 AM

Three more sugar factories have been registered in Busia County in a move set to pile pressure on listed miller Mumias Sugar Company (MSC).

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/8xn70k/-/index.html

Plus comesa safeguard expires in March 2014 i.e. T - 6 months.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#267 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 9:09:18 AM

hisah wrote:

Let us look at the Comesa countries in detail with regards to sugar produced,sugar exported,destination of the exports and prices.Perhaps once the details are looked at then we can conclude it is a threat.I believe the biggest threat is inefficiency and theft.
Ericsson
#268 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 11:41:18 AM

A case of lost opportunity by Mumias Sugar.It should have started expanding it's reach and putting up factories in sugar rich areas like West Pokot and Tana River rather that been reliant on Mumias area.
It should have factories at several locations similar to New KCC
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#269 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 11:52:13 AM

hisah wrote:

Let us look at the Comesa countries in detail with regards to sugar produced,sugar exported,destination of the exports and prices.Perhaps once the details are looked at then we can conclude it is a threat.I believe the biggest threat is inefficiency and theft.

SHHHHH!
Wewe nawe huwezi ficha siri! Let this thing fall! lets spread the fear bwana! Actually, look also at local retail prices, and you will be shocked at the propaganda! Most are like or worse than Kenya's!

georgegop
#270 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 1:14:43 PM

In my opinion,the registration of more sugar millers at a time when comesa is looming is in itself an indication that sugar business is very lucrative. If Mumias puts its house in order then they can go places..
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
#271 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 1:35:53 PM

georgegop wrote:
In my opinion,the registration of more sugar millers at a time when comesa is looming is in itself an indication that sugar business is very lucrative. If Mumias puts its house in order then they can go places..

The challenges here are;
- Senseless competition for raw materials, whereby, its reported that some firm are poaching canes that are not ready.

- Corruption within COMESA, where wealthy individuals import sugar from outside the region, then re-export it in the region, e.g. Zambian politicians do this always.

- Inefficient and very very old machineries!

mwekez@ji
#272 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 1:50:43 PM

The challenges here are;

... Corruption within COMESA, where wealthy individuals import sugar from outside the region, then re-export it in the region, e.g. Zambian politicians do this always.

Opening of the COMESA safeguards will make this worse. How will Mumias then survive?
#273 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 2:10:59 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

The challenges here are;

... Corruption within COMESA, where wealthy individuals import sugar from outside the region, then re-export it in the region, e.g. Zambian politicians do this always.

Opening of the COMESA safeguards will make this worse. How will Mumias then survive?

You remember the saga where zambian trucks were held at Namanga and the Zambians retaliated with duty charges!

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/jv01ck/-/index.html

The only solution for this problem is for Kenya to force an audit so as to establish and set the production capacities of each factory. It does not make sense that TZ imports 25% of its sugar requirement whilst at the same time TZ sugar is flooding Kampala and Kigali! The only states in the COMESA region that truely have excess sugar are Sudan, Swaziland and Malawi according to my internet data based search (but i stand to be corrected).

Most are repackaging/branding Brazilian and South African sugar and selling as theirs.

#274 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 2:20:14 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

The challenges here are;

You remember the saga where zambian trucks were held at Namanga and the Zambians retaliated with duty charges!

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/jv01ck/-/index.html

The only solution for this problem is for Kenya to force an audit so as to establish and set the production capacities of each factory. It does not make sense that TZ imports 25% of its sugar requirement whilst at the same time TZ sugar is flooding Kampala and Kigali! The only states in the COMESA region that truely have excess sugar are Sudan, Swaziland and Malawi according to my internet data based search (but i stand to be corrected).

Most are repackaging/branding Brazilian and South African sugar and selling as theirs.

True and the countries you have listed have a ready market with the EU and prefer selling there than exporting to fellow COMESA states.
kollabo
#275 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 4:11:49 PM

I was at the supermarket yesterday. Mumias 2Kg is 255/- while the kawaida polythene packed is 188/-
Realtreaty
#276 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 9:31:58 PM

smile Time to make those who bought Mumias at 13 Kes hppy as they may have held for so long (wrong) as they may be getting a 20cts to 35 cts dividend for mumias FY 2012-2013.
mwanahisa wrote:

@dunkang, I was waiting for thatLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . Yes indeed I do understand the phrase. The difference,In the case of MSC, we know for sure that the news will be really dire. In Britam's case, as I have already pointed out they have had an uplift of 4 billion shillings from their main listed equity (pardon the pun). Barring a catastrophic claims experience in H1, I can bet their results will be better than last year's. As for Mumias, we are all praying for its salvationPray Pray .

georgegop
#277 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 12:27:26 PM

My brokers have been piling pressure on me to sell Mumias. I bought loads of it a while back at 6/= and now they are advising me that its a moribund stock which i should sell to avoid making further losses.
Personally am very reluctant to sell, and still willing to hold on to it as along term thing.
Any advise from the house of Wazua?Sad
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
mypesa
#278 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 4:54:19 PM

still waiting for the roasting day (full yr Results).Trust will not go <3 bob ,otherwise some of us may be admitted to ICU for the losses
Even In The Most Severe Drought In The Jungle Lions Will Never Feed On Grass.
#279 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 8:16:58 PM

mypesa wrote:
still waiting for the roasting day (full yr Results).Trust will not go <3 bob ,otherwise some of us may be admitted to ICU for the losses

Still massaging the books. In Africa Traditions bad news is told slowly.
mypesa
#280 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 7:37:44 PM

So Many Questions Than Answers
No Results till Now
Even In The Most Severe Drought In The Jungle Lions Will Never Feed On Grass.