Regretabbly a majority of governors and even very educated kenyan lack basic understanding of government budgeting!
Finacial year runs from July 1st to June 30th.
There are very strict timelines (Sept to Feb) for preparing estimates justifying and getting approvals.including parliamentary approvals
The unfortunate misunderstanding is that people think gava has money sitting in a bank somewhere...hakuna pesa it is our taxes in anticipation plus borrowings aids and grants
Budgets are estimates made ona an assumption that in the coming financial year revenues and taxes collected will be as per estimate.
Sasa hii siasa ya kusema ati you take your time sahau.am interested to hear how counties propose to generate their 'own' revenues outside the allocations form central gava
[quote=Gathige
@McR, If i were a Governor, no one would push me. I would prepare the budget at own pace and submit when ready after all the facts are right.It is very demeaning as a Governor to keep being shoved around by all manner of institutions.
Take the case of my county Kajiado. We can raise more money than we need by just managing land resources (Fees on land transfers, Services Provision at a fee)yet my Governor was in the US the other day to learn how Devolution works!. My Governor can raise a County Bond, we the residents and others will buy it at a good return and we have all the money to fund our preferred projects and even loan other counties.
[/quote]