Choices & Consequences
#11 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 10:06:43 AM

Gathige wrote:
According to Governor Ruto, his county was adding Kshs 200 extra on each vote hence their deficit.Surely, how can such kind of budgeting even be contemplated in a country assembly? Ati ongeza milioni mia mbili on top its like in a sand market where you add a wheelbarrow on top of each sand truck.No wonder Cheresem berated them by insinuating they do not understand the difference btwn a billion and a million and they were all laughing not understanding they were actually being reprimanded .

I think you heard what you wanted to hear from Gov. Ruto....he was very clear that in some counties the real money collected was never really recorded giving examples including Kiambu where the quarry used to bring 50K and now it is bringing 600K.

Infact the dude from revenue allocation said that the governors had very little time to prepare the budget (and for the 1st time) hence the teething problems......some of their Exec. members had been there for less than a month.

@McR, If i were a Governor, no one would push me. I would prepare the budget at own pace and submit when ready after all the facts are right.It is very demeaning as a Governor to keep being shoved around by all manner of institutions.

Take the case of my county Kajiado. We can raise more money than we need by just managing land resources (Fees on land transfers, Services Provision at a fee)yet my Governor was in the US the other day to learn how Devolution works!. My Governor can raise a County Bond, we the residents and others will buy it at a good return and we have all the money to fund our preferred projects and even loan other counties.

Unfortunately for you, the law is such that the county reps and the national institutions have a say on how run the county
#12 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 10:12:15 AM

Isaac Ruto came out very clear and convincing on his case. I admired his understanding of even matters in other counties. Interestingly, some of these deficits eg for Mombasa are coz of inherited debts from the councils. This thing will work, goodpeople. It must work.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 10:24:50 AM

I repeat..
Devolution must fail...

Ive said it before.. its 1963 all over again...

It will not, Mr Pessimist. It must work. Conspiracy theorists need to see the difference between 1963 and today. Did we expect a smooth changeover? There has to be teething issues. As much as central gvt has it's part, politicking, pessimism and lack of understanding of our katiba on this are other impediments.We shall overcome.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 10:27:20 AM

Isaac Ruto came out very clear and convincing on his case. I admired his understanding of even matters in other counties. Interestingly, some of these deficits eg for Mombasa are coz of inherited debts from the councils. This thing will work, goodpeople. It must work.

Applause Applause Applause Infact Ruto has exceeded my expectation on understanding of county matters, the guy is so clear. Devolution will work, these guys are simply learning on the job for which they had very little/zero experience!!!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 10:37:39 AM

there is a constitutional office of budget controller..kwani kazi yake ni gani?
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 11:11:16 AM

@mcr, guy is totally impressive. We need to be positive. Even the central govt will be considered a failure if this thing doesn't work. My Rwandese friends tell me it works there, it should work here too. It's a system which we haven't tried before, wel'l smoothen the rough edged as we move on. How does anyone benefit if devolution fails? I want to see good service provision whichever part of the country I visit. This was a noble idea. We can kick oout the non performing governors at the polls.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 11:15:56 AM

@mcr, guy is totally impressive. We need to be positive. Even the central govt will be considered a failure if this thing doesn't work. My Rwandese friends tell me it works there, it should work here too. It's a system which we haven't tried before, wel'l smoothen the rough edged as we move on. How does anyone benefit if devolution fails? I want to see good service provision whichever part of the country I visit. This was a noble idea. We can kick oout the non performing governors at the polls.

Applause WORD!!!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 11:30:39 AM

digitek1 wrote:
there is a constitutional office of budget controller..kwani kazi yake ni gani?

@digitek, Anybody advising the Governor's other that what they want to hear is against devolution. Simple things like Payroll can be centrally administered and even outsourced rather than each and every county having a payroll function.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 12:49:43 PM

Sad Sad Sad Regretabbly a majority of governors and even very educated kenyan lack basic understanding of government budgeting!

Finacial year runs from July 1st to June 30th.
There are very strict timelines (Sept to Feb) for preparing estimates justifying and getting approvals.including parliamentary approvals

The unfortunate misunderstanding is that people think gava has money sitting in a bank somewhere...hakuna pesa it is our taxes in anticipation plus borrowings aids and grants

Budgets are estimates made ona an assumption that in the coming financial year revenues and taxes collected will be as per estimate.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Sasa hii siasa ya kusema ati you take your time sahau.

am interested to hear how counties propose to generate their 'own' revenues outside the allocations form central gava

[quote=Gathige
@McR, If i were a Governor, no one would push me. I would prepare the budget at own pace and submit when ready after all the facts are right.It is very demeaning as a Governor to keep being shoved around by all manner of institutions.

Take the case of my county Kajiado. We can raise more money than we need by just managing land resources (Fees on land transfers, Services Provision at a fee)yet my Governor was in the US the other day to learn how Devolution works!. My Governor can raise a County Bond, we the residents and others will buy it at a good return and we have all the money to fund our preferred projects and even loan other counties.
[/quote]
#20 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 1:21:26 PM

Siringi wrote:
Sad Sad Sad Regretabbly a majority of governors and even very educated kenyan lack basic understanding of government budgeting!

Finacial year runs from July 1st to June 30th.
There are very strict timelines (Sept to Feb) for preparing estimates justifying and getting approvals.including parliamentary approvals

The unfortunate misunderstanding is that people think gava has money sitting in a bank somewhere...hakuna pesa it is our taxes in anticipation plus borrowings aids and grants

Budgets are estimates made ona an assumption that in the coming financial year revenues and taxes collected will be as per estimate.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Sasa hii siasa ya kusema ati you take your time sahau.

am interested to hear how counties propose to generate their 'own' revenues outside the allocations form central gava

[quote=Gathige

[/quote]

At the heart of it all is the MONEY! BIG money, power nayo? Devolution is great if done carefully and diligently. It will succeed, but GREED on both sides of the divide must be checked.