Usain Bolt bolts
For Sport
#21 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 3:40:42 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

Wameze wembe.

It will be a sad day if the rules get changed to suit just one Jamaican!

What purpose does the rule serve?
For Sport
#22 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 3:46:38 PM

I think this is a ridiculous rule...why disqualify someone after one error. They should have sort of a "yellow card" to caution the athletes. People around the world were so eager to see whether the guy would break his own record but that didn't happen. I can't even remember the name of the other Jamaican who won.

It will always be said he won because Bolt didnt run. Bolt is still the news here.
#23 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 4:56:03 PM

I think this is a ridiculous rule...why disqualify someone after one error. They should have sort of a "yellow card" to caution the athletes. People around the world were so eager to see whether the guy would break his own record but that didn't happen. I can't even remember the name of the other Jamaican who won.

I think they decided to introduce that rule because initially a yellow card used to be awarded to everyone after a false start and a red card issued to the culprit after the 2nd false start.

Guys reckoned that it would nip in the bud the perceived mischief by some athletes to deliberately make a false start so as to cause anxiety in the 2nd start that would likely cause a potential winner to false start and be disqualified.

However, I agree it needs to be re-looked....it's too punitive!
#24 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 5:08:47 PM

For Sport wrote:
YesuWangu wrote:

Wameze wembe.

It will be a sad day if the rules get changed to suit just one Jamaican!

What purpose does the rule serve?

Imagine making your competitor feel like he does not have reflexes as fast as yours.

That someone is concentrating waiting for the bang and from the corner of his eye he sees you dashing off is unsettling to that someone.

Hii ni mind games Bolt was playing. He doesnt need a head start to win you know.
#25 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 5:13:44 PM

@Taz,
Stop being selective....Did the world wake up today to realise this is unjust?.It's been going on for many years.....and for heaven's sake,we have already changed some rules to allow drug cheats such Chamberlain and Gatlin to run when they should be rotting in some Philadelphia backstreet high on steroids and anabolics....Hopeless running labs.....Just when will they learn to fire and win fair on Mursik?
kiriita
#26 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 6:32:53 PM

@Taz,
Stop being selective....Did the world wake up today to realise this is unjust?.It's been going on for many years.....and for heaven's sake,we have already changed some rules to allow drug cheats such Chamberlain and Gatlin to run when they should be rotting in some Philadelphia backstreet high on steroids and anabolics....Hopeless running labs.....Just when will they learn to fire and win fair on Mursik?

@ Guka, I thought the 'instant death' disqualification was only introduced last year [and that b4 that there was a 'yellow card' process?

I stand to be 'collected' though.
#27 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 7:40:00 PM

kiriita wrote:
@Taz,

@ Guka, I thought the 'instant death' disqualification was only introduced last year [and that b4 that there was a 'yellow card' process?

I stand to be 'collected' though.

The rule was introduced in August 2009 by Jorge Salcedo, the then head of the IAAF technical commission.

The amended rule reads:

"162.7: From 1 January 2010, except in Combined Events, any athlete responsible for a false start shall be disqualified."

I think it is a retrogressive rule. Who doesn't make mistakes? And who should be penalised that heavily for making a single mistake? It was unfair to Bolt in the finals and Chambers in the semis. Bolt should deliver a World Record in the 200m.
For Sport
#28 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 9:49:02 PM

R.Starkman wrote:
"The rule was changed to give TV execs a better show. They were riled by the delays caused by false starts. The irony that the new rule wound up costing them track and field’s brightest star wasn’t lost on world champion hurdler Perdita Felicien.

“I’m so worked up,” said Felicien in an interview from Korea. “I don’t like the rule. I never liked the rule. Unfortunately, it took Usain Bolt to highlight how stupid the rule is. How much more eloquent can I be? Honestly, it sucks for every athlete that gets disqualified under this new rule. It doesn’t hurt more that it’s Usain Bolt, but it kind of brings the issue to light a lot more.

“You have the biggest name, a universal name in track and field which comes along once every millennium and he false starts in a race where everyone was watching to see him win. And you don’t get to see him run. You don’t even get a chance to see him get beat actually, which sucks.”

Bolt tripped up by 'ridiculous' false start rule
#29 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 5:53:00 AM

Useless rule. 100m=Bolt, nothing less. Almost everybody was disappointed less a few saddists.
MCHUNA
#30 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 11:18:55 AM

... was Sepp Blatter involved in this?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
cnn
#31 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 3:25:55 PM

19.42 in the 200m,the third fastest time ever for the event.
Inuendo
#32 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 7:14:24 PM

MCHUNA wrote:

... was Sepp Blatter involved in this?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Sepp Blatter? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
#33 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 8:51:45 PM

cnn wrote:
19.42 in the 200m,the third fastest time ever for the event.

The time officially is 19.40. Lets not take anything away from Bolt. Pietro Mennea held the record at 19.72 for nearly 20 years before Michael Johnson came along.
BTW I fully support the no false start rule for competitions. It can be allowed for beauty pageants like the Diamond League, but serious competition calls for the convergence of brain and brawn in order to determine truly great champions.
mchawi
#34 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 3:55:55 PM

Made up for everything win a new WR in the 4 x 100 mts relay.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 10:54:28 AM

Somebody commended that the lightening at the background is God cheering...What a stunning performance...What a photograph!

#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 11:07:37 AM

Somebody commended that the lightening at the background is God cheering...What a stunning performance...What a photograph!

Lakini hio ya juzi Gatlin alimpeleka kweli kweli.......If only Blake and Gay were there probably the WR would have been broken!!!
#37 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 11:37:52 AM

Lakini hio ya juzi Gatlin alimpeleka kweli kweli.......If only Blake and Gay were there probably the WR would have been broken!!!

Yep the 9.58s came about coz Gay pushed him all the way.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 12:32:51 PM

bkismat wrote:

Yep the 9.58s came about coz Gay pushed him all the way.

what time did those bulky photographers running off the track clock? they seem to have beaten him - gear and all! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#39 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 12:41:31 PM

He has powerful Friends.. With a picture like this, this is a man who can say 'I have lived'

Edyj
#40 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 2:24:32 PM

Call me skeptical but I have started getting a feeling that Bolt is not very clean
"The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score". - Bill Copeland