wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

I million cabbages
#21 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 8:04:33 AM

Siringi wrote:
Cant belief the caffichi stori has made it to wazuaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
there are guys who believed it and made real cheddar. It is all about timing and knowing your seasons.
My uncle told it to me. . .kikiumana you talk to the headmistresses of the boarding schools near you. They may not eat you as badly as the middlemen and cartels wa soko.

Hata shule haisaidii.

A girls school has 1200 students.

1 caffichi is eaten by 10 students so school needs 120 caffichis in one eating.
Make a lunch and supper affair they eat 240.

Now Jagger has 30000 caffichis, how long will he take to clear the stock?

Watoto watagoma after one week.Even cows refuse if you make it an everyday affair.

Try somethibg else or do mixed farming ie divide it into 4 quaters the weka onion, skuma, spinach and cabbage.
#22 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 8:17:29 AM

You guys are scaring the chap!

Personal experience: planted 18, 000 pieces. Sold 15, 000 of them at 22bob each. Total 330k. Expenses on seeds, fertilizer, labour and a truck of manure approx. 60k on the higher side. Duration 90 days.

Go for it. If you can get irrigation water you will always make money. Secret is to plant when others are not and water. Most farmers depend on rain.

Currently, I am expanding our dam!

Last week a piece in the shamba was going between 30-50bob! Avg cost of producing a cabishi is like 6 - 8 bob!
#23 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 8:21:02 AM

@maka., where are doing the onions? Kajiado?
#24 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 9:12:26 AM

Hata shule haisaidii.

Watoto watagoma after one week.Even cows refuse if you make it an everyday affair.

Try somethibg else or do mixed farming ie divide it into 4 quaters the weka onion, skuma, spinach and cabbage.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Big chick! you have managed to divide a cabbage among 10 students.salut
#25 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 9:14:54 AM

radio wrote:

Personal experience: planted 18, 000 pieces. Sold 15, 000 of them at 22bob each. Total 330k. Expenses on seeds, fertilizer, labour and a truck of manure approx. 60k on the higher side. Duration 90 days.

Go for it. If you can get irrigation water you will always make money. Secret is to plant when others are not and water. Most farmers depend on rain.

Last week a piece in the shamba was going between 30-50bob! Avg cost of producing a cabishi is like 6 - 8 bob!

We are not scaring him we are giving him possible challenges so as to manage his expectation.

Please tell him where you sold yours and how long it took and what happened to the 3000 coz you planted 18000.

Your above scenario is near real than the one he projected ealier.
#26 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:09:19 AM

radio wrote:
@maka., where are doing the onions? Kajiado?

Kiserian....
#27 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:42:29 AM

Good for you to plant. But take your mind off the 80 bob price. Cobweb Theorem is always at play in such markets. There will be serious oversupply in a few weeks

Of course timing is quite important. Wholesaling at 40bob would still give you about 1m after factoring expenses. Even selling at a throw away price of 20bob will give you 600k. This after just 3 months.

Lower that to 10 bob (am being modest by not saying 5 bob) coz thats yhe price middlemen buy at.Talk to farmers in Kimende Lari area.

And they are good at timing, giving false promise the first week then coming back when you are desperate and willing to sell even at 3 bob.

Start with establishing ready market then grow them.

Otherwise theory sounds good while practical ni balaa tupu.

Good luck.

The middle men must be making unbelievable profits coz the cheapest i've bought cabbage past year is 40bob and highest is 100bob. Currently price is 80bob for a cabbage of about 2kg.
#28 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:46:17 AM

Siringi wrote:
Cant belief the caffichi stori has made it to wazuaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
there are guys who believed it and made real cheddar. It is all about timing and knowing your seasons.
My uncle told it to me. . .kikiumana you talk to the headmistresses of the boarding schools near you. They may not eat you as badly as the middlemen and cartels wa soko.

Hata shule haisaidii.

I think the nairobi population of 5m can absorb 30k cabbages. What if i drop 5k cabbages at Kangemi, another 5k at Umoja, 5k at dagoretti, 5k at mlolongo, 5k at Kitengela, and 5k at kasarani? I believe this can be done in one single day.
#29 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:51:38 AM

radio wrote:

Applause Applause Applause I believe it's doable with the right timing and inputs.
#30 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:56:36 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Good for you to plant. But take your mind off the 80 bob price. Cobweb Theorem is always at play in such markets. There will be serious oversupply in a few weeks

Of course timing is quite important. Wholesaling at 40bob would still give you about 1m after factoring expenses. Even selling at a throw away price of 20bob will give you 600k. This after just 3 months.

Lower that to 10 bob (am being modest by not saying 5 bob) coz thats yhe price middlemen buy at.Talk to farmers in Kimende Lari area.

And they are good at timing, giving false promise the first week then coming back when you are desperate and willing to sell even at 3 bob.

Start with establishing ready market then grow them.

Otherwise theory sounds good while practical ni balaa tupu.

Good luck.

I know of places pande za Nyeri, Laikipia, etc where farm-gate prices are 3bob each.
Badala ya kulima, why not become a middleman/broker yourself?

This must be the easiest way to do it.
#31 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 11:25:37 AM

Please don't ever cheat yourself about cabbages and potatoes. Zina wenyewe. Take the advice above. Start with trying to sell the 2 bob ones then you'll get to understand what exactly happens in this market.
#32 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 1:33:10 PM

Am smelling the money . . .$€$€$€£¥¢trail right here on this thread!
Now this story

PRINCE CHARLES' LOVE FOR RABUON FROM NYANZA BOOSTS DEMAND

we only need to sneak in waru from Meru, Molo,-Narok, Limuru and kinangofu /Nyandarua to the Royal family dinner table and we are in bizna. Or better still bribe those gourmands to write about the healthiest veges from area code +254. . .

Halafu get the Prince to test tea made from miraa or muguka for dessert.
If only there was a way of freezing the caffishi and getting it to China and Europe. . .
#33 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 2:37:12 PM

Siringi wrote:

Hata shule haisaidii.

I think the nairobi population of 5m can absorb 30k cabbages. What if i drop 5k cabbages at Kangemi, another 5k at Umoja, 5k at dagoretti, 5k at mlolongo, 5k at Kitengela, and 5k at kasarani? I believe this can be done in one single day.

@ Jagger, the reason why Coca Cola is a market leader is Distribution network. It's easy to say you will drop the cafishi in Umoja, Dago, Kayole, Dandora etc. the reality hits you hard when you have a truck full of cafishi and when you arrive at Kangemi, a mean looking guy asks you, who are u and what are you doing here? Your response may be I am a Kenyan with right to move and trade anywhere in this country. The guy will respond , we control this market. He will set the price and the terms. All the while the cafishi is cooking in the truck and the owner wants to offload and return for the next mzigo.

Best thing is to look for a market, buy from those farmers selling at 2 bob and then sell as a middle man aka broker.

Better still "get to know people" and if you get a tender to supply the military, you will be an overnight cafishi millionaire.

All the best. Usife Moyo mwanaume in kujaribu.
#34 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 3:09:27 PM

There's hope. Sell the kafishi kwa estates(but not markets). Uzia kina mama mboga and also retail. Set aside some chums for 'boys' in estates where they reign
#35 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 9:53:30 AM

Gathige wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Hata shule haisaidii.

@ Jagger, the reason why Coca Cola is a market leader is Distribution network. It's easy to say you will drop the cafishi in Umoja, Dago, Kayole, Dandora etc. the reality hits you hard when you have a truck full of cafishi and when you arrive at Kangemi, a mean looking guy asks you, who are u and what are you doing here? Your response may be I am a Kenyan with right to move and trade anywhere in this country. The guy will respond , we control this market. He will set the price and the terms. All the while the cafishi is cooking in the truck and the owner wants to offload and return for the next mzigo.

Best thing is to look for a market, buy from those farmers selling at 2 bob and then sell as a middle man aka broker.

Better still "get to know people" and if you get a tender to supply the military, you will be an overnight cafishi millionaire.

All the best. Usife Moyo mwanaume in kujaribu.

@Gathige. Cant agree More.

@Jaggernut. You must do your research, know your target market and get your network/distribution right. I am in the market and know for sure that Kila farm product ina wenyewe na story yake behind it. But you can overcome by researching Prior to Planting. That is a Must.Another Important factor to Consider is seasons. You need to know what will be in demand when. For example, time to plant tomato may be towards December as demand is high then etc, etc. You do not want to be harvesting when everyone else is - you want to have the Product ripe when it is in high demand. Id is down to demand and supply dynamics. Lastly, not every produce grows in any soil and any environment. In other works, you got a piece of land in Loitoktok and be sure that Onions will thrive there year round, but you cannot grow lettuce there, etc etc.
#36 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 10:21:19 AM

Wololo...just got back on air n this caught my eye .... mboga kwisha choma mimi sana...but one day I will try again. Instead of jumping into unknown waters, I wud first try by being a broker coz the risks as a broker r less. Once u study the market n its dynamics, u may decide whether its a good idea to go on and plant. As bigchick has put it,there comes a time hata .ng'ombe wanakucheka wakiona ukiwapea mboga....
#37 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 11:10:12 AM

Wololo...just got back on air n this caught my eye .... mboga kwisha choma mimi sana...but one day I will try again. Instead of jumping into unknown waters, I wud first try by being a broker coz the risks as a broker r less. Once u study the market n its dynamics, u may decide whether its a good idea to go on and plant. As bigchick has put it,there comes a time hata .ng'ombe wanakucheka wakiona ukiwapea mboga....

Welcome back @Washiku. Tunangoja Picha za Big Day
Wa_ithaka
#38 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 11:13:57 AM

For every one farmer who plans and sells at the right time, Kieni kule Nyeri is full of gitongoro and mboga farmers who've lost it planting 2 acres of either and leasing others only to find the market ikodown kabisa because every farmer thought of doing the same. Luckily munge can eat the mboga, onions are used for manure.

Fanya research or convince shules to buy your crop. In advance
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#39 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 11:36:36 AM

Mastermind wrote:
There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob.

Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months.

I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this.

Got 5 acres lying idle in mayakos (midway mayakos town and makutano...2.5 km off the main road...Don't know what to do with it!!! But no water nearby...Uko na roho ya borehole?

Ukifanya borehole jaribu somethingelse.Kama matunda melons, maembe , paipai nakathalika.

Sijasiskia cabbage ya kutoka Mayakos.

... Ama sukuma

Cabbages seem to do well in cooler places, Machakos si kuna joto sana?

True cabbages like cold weather otherwise they will open up and become sukumawiki
#40 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 11:51:30 AM

Siringi wrote:

Hata shule haisaidii.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause