I million cabbages
There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob.
Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months.
I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. factor water, seedling, labour, transport etc Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
dunkang wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob.
Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months.
I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. factor water, seedling, labour, transport etc Lets give those expenses 400k. That leaves 2m.
Good for you to plant. But take your mind off the 80 bob price. Cobweb Theorem is always at play in such markets. There will be serious oversupply in a few weeks
Lolest! wrote:Good for you to plant. But take your mind off the 80 bob price. Cobweb Theorem is always at play in such markets. There will be serious oversupply in a few weeks Of course timing is quite important. Wholesaling at 40bob would still give you about 1m after factoring expenses. Even selling at a throw away price of 20bob will give you 600k. This after just 3 months.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
jaggernaut wrote:Lolest! wrote:Good for you to plant. But take your mind off the 80 bob price. Cobweb Theorem is always at play in such markets. There will be serious oversupply in a few weeks Of course timing is quite important. Wholesaling at 40bob would still give you about 1m after factoring expenses. Even selling at a throw away price of 20bob will give you 600k. This after just 3 months. Lower that to 10 bob (am being modest by not saying 5 bob) coz thats yhe price middlemen buy at.Talk to farmers in Kimende Lari area. And they are good at timing, giving false promise the first week then coming back when you are desperate and willing to sell even at 3 bob. Start with establishing ready market then grow them. Otherwise theory sounds good while practical ni balaa tupu. Good luck. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Right @bigchick. And also avoid flat land. Could be disastrous when it floods
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. Got 5 acres lying idle in mayakos (midway mayakos town and makutano...2.5 km off the main road...Don't know what to do with it!!! But no water nearby...Uko na roho ya borehole?
Magigi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. Got 5 acres lying idle in mayakos (midway mayakos town and makutano...2.5 km off the main road...Don't know what to do with it!!! But no water nearby...Uko na roho ya borehole? Ukifanya borehole jaribu somethingelse.Kama matunda melons, maembe , paipai nakathalika. Sijasiskia cabbage ya kutoka Mayakos. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/25/2012 Posts: 1,624 Location: Langley
Bigchick wrote:Magigi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. Got 5 acres lying idle in mayakos (midway mayakos town and makutano...2.5 km off the main road...Don't know what to do with it!!! But no water nearby...Uko na roho ya borehole? Ukifanya borehole jaribu somethingelse.Kama matunda melons, maembe , paipai nakathalika. Sijasiskia cabbage ya kutoka Mayakos. ... Ama sukuma If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Bigchick wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Lolest! wrote:Good for you to plant. But take your mind off the 80 bob price. Cobweb Theorem is always at play in such markets. There will be serious oversupply in a few weeks Of course timing is quite important. Wholesaling at 40bob would still give you about 1m after factoring expenses. Even selling at a throw away price of 20bob will give you 600k. This after just 3 months. Lower that to 10 bob (am being modest by not saying 5 bob) coz thats yhe price middlemen buy at.Talk to farmers in Kimende Lari area. And they are good at timing, giving false promise the first week then coming back when you are desperate and willing to sell even at 3 bob. Start with establishing ready market then grow them. Otherwise theory sounds good while practical ni balaa tupu. Good luck. I know of places pande za Nyeri, Laikipia, etc where farm-gate prices are 3bob each. Badala ya kulima, why not become a middleman/broker yourself? Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. I have the land. We can talk. i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. I have the land. We can talk. Guys dont burst his bubble I know your being real but imagine if he fails to panda then at that time 3 months down the line cabbages arent there....he,ll kick himself for not trying...@jaggernaut go for it if you do it well huwezi toka bure...but lemmie put a spin to this...how about 1million onions an acre takes 120k-150k depending on spacing,the best thing about onions is that you have 4-6 months before they go bad...am planning to do a sizeable amount il return with my margins in this thread... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
Mastermind wrote:Bigchick wrote:Magigi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:There is always this joke that the easiest way to become a millionaire is to plant 1 million cabbages and sell each at 1 bob. Anyway, on a serious note, 1 acre can have 30,000 cabbages and with the price of one cabbage currently at 80bob in Nairobi, it means one can make Ksh 2,400,000 in just 3 months. I am seriously looking for 1 acre of land to lease within 100km of Nairobi to try and actualize this. Got 5 acres lying idle in mayakos (midway mayakos town and makutano...2.5 km off the main road...Don't know what to do with it!!! But no water nearby...Uko na roho ya borehole? Ukifanya borehole jaribu somethingelse.Kama matunda melons, maembe , paipai nakathalika. Sijasiskia cabbage ya kutoka Mayakos. ... Ama sukuma Cabbages seem to do well in cooler places, Machakos si kuna joto sana? Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Member Joined: 5/9/2011 Posts: 786 Location: Mashinani
Shida ni kupata market Peace in our Homeland.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
kamundu wrote:Shida ni kupata market nditto I may be wrong..but then I could be right
kamundu wrote:Shida ni kupata market na ukijietea marikiti/other markets?
Lolest! wrote:kamundu wrote:Shida ni kupata market na ukijietea marikiti/other markets? Cartels za market ni mbaya kabisa. If you dont belong utapayuka the whole day then go back with them.In Msa ua zinaanza kujipika zikiwa kwa lorry.You end up throwing them somewhere near Mariakani on you way back. My advice look for the middlemen in advance.Let them come to the shamba to pick.Also plant them in such a way that they do not mature at the same time. Its hard to sell in the market when you are new or a one-off guy. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
@Jagger, Wachana na cafishi. If the people of Kimende and kinangofu have not made it, there must be something fishy with cafishi. It must be the way they are Maji maji . Try onions instead as you can harvest and store as you market. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Cant belief the caffichi stori has made it to wazua there are guys who believed it and made real cheddar. It is all about timing and knowing your seasons. My uncle told it to me. . .kikiumana you talk to the headmistresses of the boarding schools near you. They may not eat you as badly as the middlemen and cartels wa soko. "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
I million cabbages