#101 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:17:17 AM

Muheani wrote:

After the fact.
Fire has happened.

Looking ahead
I hope someone is already working at contingencies and business continuity. We cant be shut down..no.

Now thats where the problems begins we never have BCPs...this is going to be rough...

Mboss, BCPs are there. Be informed. An airport can be shut down to contain the fire, arriving airlines are rerouted to other airports nearby, e.g. MSA. Departures can be delayed or cancelled till things are contained.

wait for it....
#102 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:18:02 AM

muganda wrote:
The power of social media

SadSad Sad Sad
#103 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:19:46 AM

Terrorism? Al shabab?
#104 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:20:26 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Heads must roll

Not even one incompetent guy will lose his job...you can take that to the bank with a fine tooth comb

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

and they will have their cake and eat it too Sad

My crystal ball is clear on the cause of this massive fire!!!

Sad Sad

Edyj
#105 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:23:55 AM

Tokyo wrote:
The whole scenario looks very suspicious to me .JKIA duty free, fuel, huge fire all within a few days. Convince me otherwise

so many questions are unanswered. Very very suspicious when you think about the two incidents together.

"The trouble with not having a goal is that you can spend your life running up and down the field and never score". - Bill Copeland

#106 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:26:28 AM

The best fire fighters in the region could not contain the inferno?
:(

#107 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:30:13 AM

Sorry to hijack the thread, but has there ever been a thread in Wazua commemorating the August 7th 1998 Bomb blast?

#108 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:30:18 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Heads must roll

Not even one incompetent guy will lose his job...you can take that to the bank with a fine tooth comb

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Sad Sad

Tafadhali sema...hii sio La Mujer!! We don't have to wait for your speculation...
#109 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:32:35 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Huge fire closes Nairobi's international airport

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Flowers/Fruits for export go back to their owners-No Kenyan flowers will be auctioned/sold in Europe today/tomorrow.-millions lost.
Other marketers will take advantage of the gap and Kenyan exporters will be in tears.
Booked Cargo is stuck.

And someone is smiling rich today.
#110 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:32:36 AM

The best fire fighters in the region could not contain the inferno?
:(

That is the BIG question!!!!
#111 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:32:58 AM

Muheani wrote:

After the fact.
Fire has happened.

Looking ahead
I hope someone is already working at contingencies and business continuity. We cant be shut down..no.

Now thats where the problems begins we never have BCPs...this is going to be rough...

Mboss, BCPs are there. Be informed. An airport can be shut down to contain the fire, arriving airlines are rerouted to other airports nearby, e.g. MSA. Departures can be delayed or cancelled till things are contained.

wait for it....

They've already happened.
#112 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:34:46 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Flowers/Fruits for export go back to their owners-No Kenyan flowers will be auctioned/sold in Europe today/tomorrow.-millions lost.
Flowers are like miraa-timely.
Other marketers will take advantage of the gap and Kenyan exporters will be in tears.
Booked Cargo is stuck.

#113 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:35:11 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Booked Cargo is stuck.

That's what you call, in economic terms, pareto optimality.
#114 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:35:53 AM

How it started. Yaani the fire has been burning from 4am until now? That is a huge disaster.

#115 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:36:04 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Heads must roll

Sad Sad

Tafadhali sema...hii sio La Mujer!! We don't have to wait for your speculation...

Thats smoke was black and heavily sooty, it cant be from burning papers and wooden chairs...ni hayo tu!
Sad Sad

#116 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:36:05 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Booked Cargo is stuck.

What about the tourists coming in for the great migration? iko chida...
#117 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:36:41 AM

And the KQ losses will continueSad Sad Sad
#118 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:39:01 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Booked Cargo is stuck.

I think cargo exports can resume since the cargo terminal and control tower weren't affected.
#119 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:39:14 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Heads must roll

Sad Sad

Thats smoke was black and heavily sooty, it cant be from burning papers and wooden chairs...ni hayo tu!
Sad Sad

and yet they are using water to put it out..kama sio combustibles, they needed a different method...
#120 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:39:14 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Booked Cargo is stuck.

You talk alot about cargo/flowers/avocado...hata kama ni biashara yako na iko affected, eish, come srore; you must mention flower cargo in post on this thread?