wazua Thu, Jun 18, 2026

13 Pages«<910111213>
All duty free shops at JKIA pulled down!!!!!!!!
#101 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 9:05:31 AM

I can see now guys are exposing that Oga airport for what it is......a hellhole.....as somebody has said, just check in any luggage.
#102 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 10:06:05 AM

CLK wrote:
webish wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:
I can 24hrs later you guys are helping out a brother...if it was so obvious names would have been thrown about at the point of the question.

1. Bole International Airport AddisAbaba
2. Francistown International Airport Botswana
3. SSKIA Botswana.

IMO I even think Mohammed Airport in Lagos is better than JKIA now add all those other airports that you say are not black African, JKIA wouldnt even feature anywhere in the top ten. Its not enough to have people in yellow sweaters who can speak to you in swa...But I have hope with the Engineer

Unless someone rigged the rankings..hio airport ya Oga iko down even compared with our 'crappy' JKIA. Immigration officers/police always insists on kitu kidogo...croissant shaped big mamas looking out to harrass people...taxi guys pouncing on everyone at arrivals...poor signage... All in all Djili Airport Kinshasa is worse I have experienced;extreme corruption & bribery. Even with all papers in order you get a sigh of relief once you go through. ni kama mtihani

Hio Lagos hata hakuna scanners the crude police officers have to manhandle all the carry in baggage and you see how they even throw old mamas panties around, that is a shame of an airport with many idle officers roaming the airport space asking for kitu kidogo even begging that you can't use the naira in any other place so you leave OT who them.........your check in big even when you lock it has to be broken into not to mention the many scammers in the name of taxi drivers........it remains one of my worst.

With all these experiences, you will make me cancel my trip to Lagos in a weeks time. Eish.

Is it that bad? V always been told about the "hungry' authorities and rogue forex that's rampant at the airport itself. Sad Sad Sad

If you can, do not check-in any luggage...

I dont always check in any luggage whether travelling to Africa countries, EU, China or the Americas; In fact I have only checked in my luggage once en-route to Seattle and that was 3 packets of jogoo flour and a trench jacket!

Memories of a friend of mine who lost everything including USD are still fresh in my mind, he had to attend the 3 day confreence in Sao in one-shirt,one-longi,one-panty and everything else ONE!

Sad Sad

#103 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 10:43:44 AM

Murtalla Mohammed..

still under construction? Still one Chukwu the first immigration officer you meet on the queue..?
After almost 40min of searching for my gate.. backs and fourths.. an officer told to look thru the window for and when my connection plane arrives, when i see where it parks, then know that's my gate.. Problem solved..

On another trip a guy helped me go thru checks shwaa shwaa,at the mesmerised looks of fatigued 'queuees'. Spent waiting time in their tiny office upstairs. parted with few Nairas after..

I have his no. incase anybody is going to Lagos.. i can share it...
CLK
#104 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 10:58:55 AM

CLK wrote:
webish wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:
I can 24hrs later you guys are helping out a brother...if it was so obvious names would have been thrown about at the point of the question.

3. SSKIA Botswana.

IMO I even think Mohammed Airport in Lagos is better than JKIA now add all those other airports that you say are not black African, JKIA wouldnt even feature anywhere in the top ten. Its not enough to have people in yellow sweaters who can speak to you in swa...But I have hope with the Engineer

Unless someone rigged the rankings..hio airport ya Oga iko down even compared with our 'crappy' JKIA. Immigration officers/police always insists on kitu kidogo...croissant shaped big mamas looking out to harrass people...taxi guys pouncing on everyone at arrivals...poor signage... All in all Djili Airport Kinshasa is worse I have experienced;extreme corruption & bribery. Even with all papers in order you get a sigh of relief once you go through. ni kama mtihani

Hio Lagos hata hakuna scanners the crude police officers have to manhandle all the carry in baggage and you see how they even throw old mamas panties around, that is a shame of an airport with many idle officers roaming the airport space asking for kitu kidogo even begging that you can't use the naira in any other place so you leave OT who them.........your check in big even when you lock it has to be broken into not to mention the many scammers in the name of taxi drivers........it remains one of my worst.

With all these experiences, you will make me cancel my trip to Lagos in a weeks time. Eish.

Is it that bad? V always been told about the "hungry' authorities and rogue forex that's rampant at the airport itself. Sad Sad Sad

I dont always check in any luggage whether travelling to Africa countries, EU, China or the Americas; In fact I have only checked in my luggage once en-route to Seattle and that was 3 packets of jogoo flour and a trench jacket!

Memories of a friend of mine who lost everything including USD are still fresh in my mind, he had to attend the 3 day confreence in Sao in one-shirt,one-longi,one-panty and everything else ONE!

Sad Sad

Wewe ni plug kweli, i am not seeing how am going to Seattle with a carry-on bag only, kwanza that weather? and when coming back i even pay for extra baggagesmile The shops and the prices are too tempting, funny thing US requests that you do not lock your bags, and you will find your stuff intact. But coming back i pack my stuff such that whoever wants to steal anything, will have to take time doing so, you wrap the bottles of perfume and shoes in bedding, they give up on the way...
This is where travel insurance comes in, wont mind getting 1000USD to replace my mtumba wardrobe, and check in always check in your luggage to your final destination, anything happens to it, airline takes care of it...
And who checks in cash??
#105 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 11:03:57 AM

CLK wrote:
CLK wrote:
webish wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:

3. SSKIA Botswana.

Sad Sad

Wewe ni plug kweli, i am not seeing how am going to Seattle with a carry-on bag only, kwanza that weather? and when coming back i even pay for extra baggagesmile The shops and the prices are too tempting, funny thing US requests that you do not lock your bags, and you will find your stuff intact. But coming back i pack my stuff such that whoever wants to steal anything, will have to take time doing so, you wrap the bottles of perfume and shoes in bedding, they give up on the way...
This is where travel insurance comes in, wont mind getting 1000USD to replace my mtumba wardrobe, and check in always check in your luggage to your final destination, anything happens to it, airline takes care of it...
And who checks in cash??

Seattle is cool and fine in summer, it depends on when you visited it (if you have ever!)

Ati the airline takes care of your lost luggage? Utangoja mpaka uone kitukuu chako.

#106 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 11:40:08 AM

Sasa mimi nimeingia tu Lokichogio airport.... can i compare it with any other????
CLK
#107 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 11:43:49 AM

CLK wrote:
CLK wrote:
webish wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:

3. SSKIA Botswana.

Sad Sad

And who checks in cash??

Seattle is cool and fine in summer, it depends on when you visited it (if you have ever!)

Ati the airline takes care of your lost luggage? Utangoja mpaka uone kitukuu chako.

Visit every November, so am out of luck on the summer weather, you must have missed the bit on travel insurance, yes the airline is responsible for loss of luggage, they pay for it, as in if you lost a whole bag, lakini kama mtu aliiba perfume ama suti, thats a different story altogether..
#108 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 12:03:11 PM

CLK wrote:
CLK wrote:
CLK wrote:
webish wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:

3. SSKIA Botswana.

Sad Sad

And who checks in cash??

Visit every November, so am out of luck on the summer weather, you must have missed the bit on travel insurance, yes the airline is responsible for loss of luggage, they pay for it, as in if you lost a whole bag, lakini kama mtu aliiba perfume ama suti, thats a different story altogether..

Sawa boss, me I dont visit Tacoma Airport every November, let alone every year!

Mo
#109 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 1:19:45 PM

With the names being thrown around maybe we need to agree on the parameters for benchmarking......and somebody just mentioned Lagos......jeez.

Yes to me Lagos is better than JKIA, i know you have a knack of thinking you know best but my experiences in lagos have not been worse than those at JKIA. Even the looks leave alone the service

yes! muhamed murtala in lagos is far better off than jkia except the cops harrassing you and the scavanging money changers + taxi drivers the infrastructure is ok...way above jkia. you can take that to the bank!
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#110 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 3:12:53 PM

The contract period had expired and KAA had no obligatin to renew it. Kamlesh obtained a court order but did not furnish the KAA with it on time before demolision tnok place(12AM 31st July 2013)

@Maka, seriously speaking, how comes your legal arguments are always wrong in this forum. Am not hating or something like that, but i have noted that you are always 'giving legalish' advices and comments but all comes out as wrong. Are you a lawyer or law student?

I have duly noted I am always wrong will definetly work on this,thank you for pointing it out...everyday is a learning process atleast you have given me the reason to work even.harder...
My ALWAYS wrong thoughts...

There is no provision in law that allows one to forcibly evict third parties not party to a lease agreement. If a lease expires by effluxion of time the Tenant is supposed to vacate and if that Tenant is a head tenant the landlord must issue a simultaneous single notice to the tenants in possession. To evict one must have a Court order and authorities/precedent on this abound in our Courts all the way to the Court of Appeal. In the Duty Free case Pattni became, at the stroke of midnight, what we call in law a "hold-over" tenant that is a person who though initially in rightful possession of property as a Tenant, wrongfully and without the landlord's consent, remains on the property after the term of their lease has expired. This type of tenancy is also called a " tenancy at sufferance". In Kenya we do not have what are called "self help" evictions. ONE MUST FOLLOW THE JUDICIAL PROCESS to obtain an eviction order. There are no two ways about it. KAA had two options when it comes to dealing with Pattni: Accept him as a tenant for a new lease term, or treat him as a trespasser and seek eviction.  Once KAA chose a course of action, they were bound to it and could not seek another remedy. They had to obtain an order for eviction. As far as service of the order is concerned please read the reported case: Daniel Murigi vs Kenya Railways Corporation (Nyamu J). It is evident KAA evaded service and depending on the singular facts of a case they can be cited for contempt. Finally ALL the sub tenants have causes of action for the damage caused to their items

So, @maka, legally speaking, what is the remedy for a landlord whose tenant keeps running to the court not to be evicted every time the lease comes to an end? Doesn't the owner of the property have a right to decline renewing the lease or is it automatic? We know the agreement between Pattni and KAA was unfairly and "corruptly" entered into, so, what options does KAA has to get back the shops and let them at a fair market rate? Is there a way KAA can obtain eviction orders prior to expiry of the lease to be effective after the lease expires? Is there a way of beating the system "albeit crudely" - read desperate measures.

I feel for the people who were working there and their families but i have no love lost with Pattni... I really hope KAA wins this one.
13 Pages«<910111213>