wazua Thu, Jun 18, 2026

13 Pages«<89101112>»
All duty free shops at JKIA pulled down!!!!!!!!
#91 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 9:39:27 PM

Pattni on NTV...
#92 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 10:09:00 PM

http://www.thisdaylive.c...avel-experience/145782/

After years of neglect with overstretched facilities,MMIA has now undergone an overhaul, which has led to a remarkable comeback.

The proposed multi-storey car park will take between 3000 and 5000 cars when completed and the hotel will have international conference centre within it for a rich airport experience for business travellers.

Better to compare once jkia construction work is through.
CLK
#93 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 10:38:19 PM

A simple question of comparing whatever you claim to have seen on visits has become so difficult.......Google could help but I just don't enjoy people typing away things against JKIA when they can't substantiate their claims of superior airports in Africa that they claim to have used!!!

Ata usiende mbali...Go to Ethiopia Addis to be precise

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Its unfair to compare Bole and JKIA, kindly try comparing it with an airport that handles the same capacity of travelers etc, try the lounge at that airport, however i could say the design is a little more spacious, probably the times i passed through it there were not so many people.
Better ventilation, JKIA ni kama prison, probably too squeezed and those shops do not make it any better.
The toilets (i visited once) you need more room for you and your luggage since its not one of those places you are guaranteed to find it where you placed it, the stairs, they could as well charge and make sure they are clean, i cannot imagine having a layover at JKIA.

The person putting JKIA ahead of Charle de Gaulle was paid!! how now? however jungus do not want the movements from one terminal to the other, so CDG can be a bit confusing, missed my flight the first time i landed here.

Amsterdam is my favorite, very good directions, more straight forward, the KLM lounge is one to die for. Also liked the airport in Dublin.
Heathrow ni drama, sijui kama ni kuchoka ama ni nini, from one terminal to another.
Dubai is accomodative, passed through just once...

O.R. Tambo beats JKIA handsdown, so does Durban and Capetown airports, Cairo too, hata ile iko Botswana, i have seen worse than JKIA, for instance the Lusaka airport and the Lilongwe ones, , you actually start feeling unsafe, wonder who allows them to be International airports. Daresalaam just meets the expectations given the people and their 'naomba' culture

Hiyo ya Lagos ni soko, hawkers kwa dirisha ya ndege??
#94 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 10:53:27 PM

webish wrote:

With all these experiences, you will make me cancel my trip to Lagos in a weeks time. Eish.

Is it that bad? V always been told about the "hungry' authorities and rogue forex that's rampant at the airport itself. Sad Sad Sad

God be with you,God be with you my brother/sister.
if others made it,yes you can.
CLK
#95 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 10:54:57 PM

With the names being thrown around maybe we need to agree on the parameters for benchmarking......and somebody just mentioned Lagos......jeez.

Yes to me Lagos is better than JKIA, i know you have a knack of thinking you know best but my experiences in lagos have not been worse than those at JKIA. Even the looks leave alone the service

Even thru Ogas know they are behind on this one but it's ok....just means we are not on the same wavelength, for there's no aspect I can see Lagos ahead of our 'relic'.....and I saw that jibe too....no apologies to make if that is how you perceive me.

Lagos and JKIA are a cut of the same cloth but aesthetics they're ahead. Please dont be blinded by "patriotism" JKIA is crap

I find JKIA a little bit organised, that said i spend as little time at JKIA as possible, so maybe an Oga can tell us more
CLK
#96 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 11:01:28 PM

Murtalla Muhamed (Nigeria) better than JKIA (Kenya)? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
An airport full of thieves that are always looking for something to steal from your luggage, to the extent of using razor blades to steal!

People saying MMIA is better than JKIA must be very very sick!

I concluded anyone thinking JKIA is bad, probably they have not seen worst, i personally do not check in any luggage if traveling to Ogaland, squeeze everything in one bag, had a bad experience with checked in luggage transiting lagos..
CLK
#97 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 11:05:39 PM

Murtalla Muhamed (Nigeria) better than JKIA (Kenya)? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
An airport full of thieves that are always looking for something to steal from your luggage, to the extent of using razor blades to steal!

People saying MMIA is better than JKIA must be very very sick!

Who told you JKIA has no thieves? The two airports are in competition of who's better at anything evil. But atleast MMIA looks good you can take a photo, JKIA is ancient neglected.

wezi wa JKIA hawashindi O.R. Tambo, huko utaona mtu anapita kando yako amevaa suti kama ile ulinunua, when you land be sure you wont find it, actually KQ nowadays insist on wrapping your bags for free....
CLK
#98 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 11:07:58 PM

webish wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:
I can 24hrs later you guys are helping out a brother...if it was so obvious names would have been thrown about at the point of the question.

1. Bole International Airport AddisAbaba
2. Francistown International Airport Botswana
3. SSKIA Botswana.

IMO I even think Mohammed Airport in Lagos is better than JKIA now add all those other airports that you say are not black African, JKIA wouldnt even feature anywhere in the top ten. Its not enough to have people in yellow sweaters who can speak to you in swa...But I have hope with the Engineer

Unless someone rigged the rankings..hio airport ya Oga iko down even compared with our 'crappy' JKIA. Immigration officers/police always insists on kitu kidogo...croissant shaped big mamas looking out to harrass people...taxi guys pouncing on everyone at arrivals...poor signage... All in all Djili Airport Kinshasa is worse I have experienced;extreme corruption & bribery. Even with all papers in order you get a sigh of relief once you go through. ni kama mtihani

Hio Lagos hata hakuna scanners the crude police officers have to manhandle all the carry in baggage and you see how they even throw old mamas panties around, that is a shame of an airport with many idle officers roaming the airport space asking for kitu kidogo even begging that you can't use the naira in any other place so you leave OT who them.........your check in big even when you lock it has to be broken into not to mention the many scammers in the name of taxi drivers........it remains one of my worst.

With all these experiences, you will make me cancel my trip to Lagos in a weeks time. Eish.

Is it that bad? V always been told about the "hungry' authorities and rogue forex that's rampant at the airport itself. Sad Sad Sad

If you can, do not check-in any luggage...
#99 Posted : Sunday, August 04, 2013 11:19:55 PM

A nigerian's exp.

Starting from the parking lot, its a total disgrace. Even though the parking toll was increased 3months ago from N150-300 for cars and N200-400 for jeeps, the parking lot is a total disgrace. The roads are so terrible, pot-holes every corner and filled up with beggars and touts. I believe they should take a clue from the MM2 multi storey parking lot that was built my a private firm.
Another serious grey area is the departure/arrival lounge. not a single chair to sit down. u see travellers and users all sitting on the floor while some just spread cloths on the floor to sleep while waiting for their love ones. its indeed an eye-sore.
Well, I need not mention non existence of coffee centres, relaxation spots, non VIP restaurants etc. and yes, the almighty begging that goes on at the airport. right from the customs officials, to the immigrations and the so called SAHCOL officials that keeps begging you to give them money at every point.
Speculz
#100 Posted : Monday, August 05, 2013 7:58:09 AM

I think JKIA is not too bad , bole is just better designed and a bit spacious as compared to JKIA, Try travelling in or out of Kinshasa where they only have one baggage scanner and the possibility of a cavity search is very real ..
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
13 Pages«<89101112>»