wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

M-PESA vs ZAP?
Vickey Tah
#1 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2009 11:14:00 AM

Which would you rather start as a business?why?

Mgema akisifiwa,itabidi umezidiwa....
brubo
#2 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2009 5:29:00 PM

if i can both......
If for some reason i have pledge royalty to one then definately MPESA...
Safaricom has the masses....... !!!!!!
shawny
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2009 9:59:00 AM

with mpesa,the intial outlay i think is a bit high (correct me if i'm wrong) while zap is a bit low (i think all you need is a float of 15k). however,safaricom has the masses and the margins you make per transaction cannot be compared to ZAP. though the strategy with zap is to get the masses,and once that gets root then you can be sure of hihg margins based on volume
Poggie
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2009 11:42:00 AM

Zain,in its folly zapped their strategy by applying a single tariff on all amounts transferred. It may sound cool to say the least but a big disadvantage to the dealer who has to shoulder the risk and exposure of handling cash. Safcom on the other hand remunerates according to the amount dispensed. So the more float a dealer keeps the more commission he earns and hence mitigates for the risk involved of having lot's of cash. So,yes,I would go mpesa for now until Zain wakes up.

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
kabwato
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2009 6:52:00 PM

M-pesa ...pereiod friom the way it appears Zain intoduceas their staff with an intention to beatingand or pulling safcoms products and this is where they have failed all along..honestly with all the infracture involved in Zap .ie the network,dealers,software etc canot be maintained on just a 10 bob per trancation

consider an example here assuming that Zain is doing this work of Zap thing for charity to the dealers alone ....then further assume that a small store in toa costs 10k,,and a further 10k for the salary of the guy manning the shop then we see that :

total expenses per month =10k+10k=20k

1 transaction generates 10bob then to break even an single store needs

20000 trancations/10 = 2000 trancastions per month or

2000/30days in a month to get 67 transactions per day

obviousily ............it is clear now from the example above that to the worst u need like 100 transactions per day to say u are working ...then the next questions ias where can u get this in tao ....

to conclude i say that u can only do this is you want to loose as it is clearly not substainable

#6 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2009 5:06:00 AM

@kabwato,your argument is compelling,but you have made an assumption that Zap will be the only business carried out in the premises,which as far as I know is not the case. Someone offering Zap,Mpesa will most probably deal in complimentary business - airtime,handset sales etc. Much as Zap can't stand on its own,it will invite the customer to undertake other business. But I completely agree that the margins should be commensurate with the level of risk.
jerry
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2009 5:07:00 AM

Do MPESA as a biz: ZAP as a hobby! Zap can work for those already doing related biz and want additional source of income.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
johwak
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2009 7:54:00 AM

just visit a zain centre and obtain a copy of charges for deposits and withdrawal as much of the info given here in SK is false.10/= is the amount charged when transfering cash from one customer to the other,when you visit the dealer the charges vary depending on the amount of cash you either want to deposit or withdraw. And the profit margins are good.

johnie the walker
Litoro
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2009 10:30:00 AM

If there is any Skerian in this ZAP Biz,jitokeze utuelezee kunaendaje.Am really interested in knowing the initial costs,margins and other terms en conditions though sina laini ya celtel...oops Zain.
cxz
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2009 10:43:00 AM

http://www.stockskenya.c...spx?stk=0&top=12644

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool’s wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
Litoro
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2009 10:51:00 AM

@cxz,Hii ni nini? that link doesn't work.
#12 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 1:01:00 PM

MPesa any day!!!.....zap must wake up first before kenyans really embrace them!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
mkagollah
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:56:00 PM

Mpesa anytime.Minimum commission in Zap is KES 10.As a dealer u got to share this wid Zain.waa!Mpesa has a minimum commission of 25.Who is going to gain more?Ni biashara dudes!!Go for Mpesa

mkagollah