Friday resigns
Dash
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:13:38 PM

KRU directors are going to kill rugby just when it was getting off its feet. Chris Brown also out....
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:15:20 PM

yikes!!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:16:49 PM

RINK
http://www.kenyarfu.com/...ens/405-mike-friday-goes
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:20:09 PM

.......NKT.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:20:34 PM

The football madness has gotten its way to Rugby. SMH
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:28:25 PM

He couldn't wait until Friday?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:30:41 PM

I saw this coming, when he missed the flight home on the day the team came home number 4.

Dash
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:55:47 PM

Its a damn shame, I believe he really wanted to turn the game to a fully professional one. He had a vision for this countrys rudge.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 8:50:40 PM

Chida Sad
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 10:12:37 PM

Let him go, Paul Treu is on the plane coming for contract negotiations.

Lakini Africans need to learn patience, why could they not keep their end of the bargain with Friday, whatever it was.
kiriita
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 10:19:00 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
He couldn't wait until Friday?

Lol. Is the pun intended?

Seriously though iko chida.
bebeto
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 9:13:25 AM

Just when i was hoping football would learn some good lessons from the guy/KRFU. Truth be said, hes been a frustrated man...
We are our own enemies
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 9:36:31 AM

Coach Mike Friday’s resignation statement

‘With everything that has transpired over the last 7 months, it is very clear to both Chris Brown and me that we cannot and will not, continue into next season.

The interference from certain individuals have made it impossible for Chris and I to run a professional performance programme.

Our view is that they have continually sabotaged and compromised our strategy and planning; this has not been in the best interests of Kenya 7’s Rugby.

With that in mind, the status quo that nothing has changed or is looking as though it may change in the future in terms of transparency and organization, we are giving the KRU notice that we have exercised our break in contract on the 31st July, so that the KRU can make necessary plans for next season.

It is a matter of regret and disappointment that we have felt it necessary to take this decision.

Despite numerous requests, the lack of transparency over last year’s budget is a matter we have found impossible to manage.

This trend has continued for the start of the next season and consequently it is impossible for us to plan properly with certainty and run a performance programme in this way.

Chris Brown and I can assure you that we have not taken this decision lightly.

We have provided the planning and season plan for the KRU over the last month and it is now with the KRU so that our successors can continue with the journey of Kenya 7’s and build on the performance and respect gained from last season.

The Kenya 7’s squad have been a credit to their country and have coped remarkably well given all the many distractions and disruptions they have had to deal with along the way. They are a fantastic group of players and it has been a privilege for both Chris and me to have work with them all.

The Players are precious assets that deserve and need to be given consistent professional support and direction by Kenyan Rugby in order to maximize their potential.

We truly hope the KRU does that and we wish them well on their journey and Chairman Mwangi Muthee is certainly the individual to lead the Kenya Rugby evolution. Preparation for the 2013/14 IRB World Sevens Series must be an absolute priority now and we wish Kenya the best of luck on that journey.’

Coach Mike Friday
http://docs.com/UELL
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 9:53:40 AM

Friday wrote:
We truly hope the KRU does that and we wish them well on their journey and Chairman Mwangi Muthee is certainly the individual to lead the Kenya Rugby evolution. Preparation for the 2013/14 IRB World Sevens Series must be an absolute priority now and we wish Kenya the best of luck on that journey.’

If the problem is not the chairman, who is this other nobody who is so powerful than the chair?

#15 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 10:01:46 AM

Friday wrote:

If the problem is not the chairman, who is this other nobody who is so powerful than the chair?

the guy who tried to sack him just before the world cup. can't seem to remember the name.
Dash
#16 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 11:40:31 AM

bkismat wrote:
Friday wrote:

the guy who tried to sack him just before the world cup. can't seem to remember the name.

Jalango. But the chair doesnt make decisions alone. The board votes on matters as a whole. The board is made up of members who never made money or a life from playing rugby, I think they carried that bitterness with them to present day. Then again the chair might not be so innocent as well.
kollabo
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 1:17:53 PM

Phil Jalang'o and his Harlequins attitude
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 1:29:43 PM

AIBU.
Alba
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 4:53:23 PM

Blaming Philip Jalango does not make any sense. He has been out of the picture for a while. It seems Mike Friday says he is still facing interference. The buck lies with Mwangi Muthee. he even promised fans that Mike Friday was there to stay. Kumbe behind the scenes, KRFU has been plotting to replace Friday. Unfortunately Friday is not giving details, just a bunch of vague accusations.
MKWASI
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 5:30:35 PM

Alba wrote:
Blaming Philip Jalango does not make any sense. He has been out of the picture for a while. It seems Mike Friday says he is still facing interference. The buck lies with Mwangi Muthee. he even promised fans that Mike Friday was there to stay. Kumbe behind the scenes, KRFU has been plotting to replace Friday. Unfortunately Friday is not giving details, just a bunch of vague accusations.

Certainly not the Chairman, if I'm reading the statement correct. There must be some other forces which shall be known with time.