wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Kenya Broadcasting Corporation TV
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 9:28:22 AM

This must be the worst of the many worse state agencies.

Seriously, they had 30-40 years head start compared to the competition, yet they can never do anything correctly! From broadcasting, research, employment, technology etc!

I think its problem come from the fact that senior government officials have had serious conflict of interest in this business e.g Moi (KTN), Uhuru (K24),

bartum
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 11:18:15 AM

kibaki
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 2:37:23 PM

They have been and are still a public broadcaster, and I think they have one of the widest reach, they have produced some of the best journalists and both radio and tv personalities, their local productions have in the past and present enjoyed large following in the region, I also have a feeling they are the biggest employer among the other broadcast media houses and so far they are the only local guys who have a digital broadcast setup via signet.

not bad for a public corporation.
#4 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 4:05:39 PM

They have been and are still a public broadcaster, and I think they have one of the widest reach, they have produced some of the best journalists and both radio and tv personalities, their local productions have in the past and present enjoyed large following in the region, I also have a feeling they are the biggest employer among the other broadcast media houses and so far they are the only local guys who have a digital broadcast setup via signet.

not bad for a public corporation.

A good starting point.

IMO, being a public broadcaster, we should free it up from the profit motive as the sole reason for its existence and operation. I dunno how other countries handle their public broadcaster operations, but I think KBC should not have to fight it out with the other purely commercial outfits for its existence. I think we should bite the bullet and fund it fully.

Once freed up from this, we can then sanction it to concentrate on whatever else that a media company should do. I have in mind them researching on and coming up with locally relevant (as opposed to just buying) documentaries, sports programs, science shows, etc as well as truly national news. I want, as a viewer, to be informed of how my brothers and sisters in far-flung places of Kenya are doing, be it those in Mandera, Turkana, Kuria, Lamu, etc. I wanna know how these people live, what is their culture like, their environment, their challenges, way of life, etc. I don't want to always have news about Nairobi and neighboring counties, or always be told about Garissa only when terrorists strike, no. Kenya is much bigger than that.

In so doing, KBC can, in a small way, contribute to generating some excitement and interest about other kenyan's culture which may go a long way in extinguishing negative ethnicity, promoting our sense of nationhood as well as perhaps exciting some interest in domestic tourism. KBC should never have to compete with the commercial broadcasters in screening the Oga/Phillipino/Latino rubbish that currently passes for prime-time programming in virtually all our tv stations. I know I'd be their most loyal viewer if only they could give me this kind of 'alternative' programming.
#5 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 10:13:58 AM

Is Ms Yambo still in the weather?

#6 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 11:42:31 AM

Whats with the pathetic picture quality? Kwani how much needs to be invested to have a beautiful refreshing quality like that of KTN,NTV and CORDtv?
#7 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 12:15:26 PM

Whats with the pathetic picture quality? Kwani how much needs to be invested to have a beautiful refreshing quality like that of KTN,NTV and CORDtv?

Now i can see someone who, like me, watches (at times) and has seen serious problems at KBC-TV unlike @Nakujua.

On sato, i was watching street court and what they did as they also did last week, showed alot needs to be done in that house. They need the RIGHT technicians, technologists, engineers, managers and most importantly, TECHNOLOGY.

You cannot show pictures of a programme and the sound is for another programme and adverts. And showing pictures at 4 times fast forward because time is over is a BIG JOKE!

Ericsson
#8 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 1:01:31 PM

And why are the following channels not on Signet;
KTN
NTV
Citizen
K24
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#9 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 5:51:20 PM

I think QTv is worse, sad for the cutting edge media giant NMG
#10 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 11:30:19 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

I think QTv is worse, sad for the cutting edge media giant NMG

Aiiih No Bwana GG...QTV is bad but KBC is worse the quality is just horrendous with the kind of reach they have they should be raking major chumz on advertising...just look at BBC amazing...Still a public entity look at the revenues made by them www.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBC as someone said KBC were ahead of competition they should.have been miles away by now...lakini wapi.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 7:32:17 AM

KBC is state owned. I'm shocked you guys are shocked at the quality. You now have a wide array of choices and I don't get why you'd even tune kbc into your channels.

matata
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 7:50:00 AM

Most people in the urban area adore KBC. it is the mother of all. They do not even like a change of channels. However KBC should spice up.
sitaki.kujulikana
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 10:20:35 AM

Ericsson wrote:
And why are the following channels not on Signet;
KTN
NTV
Citizen
K24

they are throwing tantrums to get a digital broadcast licence, so they thought by withdrawing from the two licence holders the migration will fail.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 10:21:47 AM

This must be the worst of the many worse state agencies.

Seriously, they had 30-40 years head start compared to the competition, yet they can never do anything correctly! From broadcasting, research, employment, technology etc!

I think its problem come from the fact that senior government officials have had serious conflict of interest in this business e.g Moi (KTN), Uhuru (K24),

..and beautiful Presenters too.
iMANI
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 4:16:36 PM

matata wrote:
Most people in the urban area adore KBC. it is the mother of all. They do not even like a change of channels. However KBC should spice up.

@matata

which urban areas are these...hoping si huko Rongai..
Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.