wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Review of the 2004 Mazda Demio 1.3l
newstan2013
#1 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 2:32:27 PM

This compact hatchback is built from the Mazda DY platform which is a mixture of ford fusion and ford fiesta. It was introduced in 2003 to replace the rather unspirited and unsightly Demio 121. It holds a 1348cc double cam shaft engine with variable valve timing that produces approx 90hp and has a top speed of 167km/h.
This small car weighs 1080kg without a driver and has a load capacity of approx 400kgs. On the other hand, the Demio boasts an extremely spacious interior for a car of its size. Thus inside the small car lies a big car with lots of leg room for both the front and back seats. It therefore goes without saying that the little mazda can accommodate five adults comfortably.
The Demio handles faithfully and seats nicely at highway speeds. The steering is accurate with road speed sensors that ease off power steering assistance at highway speeds to enhance driver involvement and practicability. It will always be remembered for its highly sensitive throttle response especially in lower gears that's coupled with loads of torque at lower RPMs.
At 100km/h, the Demio is pulling 3000rpm; it therefore follows that, typical of any Mazda engine, it gets lively at higher RPMS (say 3000-3500) below this, nothing much is happening really. Thus becomes one of the most suitable hatchbacks for both city and highway driving.
Kihangeri
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 8:50:59 PM

My only worry with this tiny vehicle is that it compromises your survival chances incase of an accident as you are as good as sitting on the tarmac if a bigger car collides with your damio. At our place, we call such cars boda boda and not family car and thus has no image building characteristics.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

amga
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 2:37:06 AM

i drive one and i fully concur
#4 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 8:36:38 AM

Kihangeri wrote:
My only worry with this tiny vehicle is that it compromises your survival chances incase of an accident as you are as good as sitting on the tarmac if a bigger car collides with your damio. At our place, we call such cars boda boda and not family car and thus has no image building characteristics.

Ditto.It commands little respect and you cannot get those reserved parkings.Anyway how does it compare to the Volkswagon Golf?
formerfarmerno1
#5 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 9:51:49 AM

It's a solid car. feels like a bigger car. Had one for 4 months but sold it. consumption was disappointing for a 1.3l engine. 12km/l with little or no traffic. I get the same from a 1.8l nissan bluebird sylphy. spares are just not available. you have to wait for weeks to find them if lucky.
jimmy1
#6 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 8:17:10 AM

Mazda demio fuel consumption depends on the plugs you use. The best plugs are denso irridium plugs, the ones with a pointed tip like a sharpened pencil. Four plugs go for 4k, & you get 17kms per litre where there is no or very little traffic jam if you are not a rough driver. Cleaning the throttle body (carburetor) for this car also gives better fuel consumption & MUST be done when the battery is disconnected. Second hand spares are availale in kirinyaga rd, enterprise road, baricho rd etc. Brand new spares are also available at cmc motors but they are very expensive
newstan2013
#7 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 9:52:51 AM

Well laid out Jimmy. The Mazda Demio is a mature car and being a 1.3l, it should give back reasonable mileage even to the aggressive driver. So it all comes back to the type of plugs used and the overall service to the vehicle.
sitaki.kujulikana
#8 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 10:20:58 AM

Kihangeri wrote:

you better drive a truck then, hakuna kitu ka secure car in case of an accident. There are so many parameters that come into play.
wilyum
#9 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 10:55:41 AM

allow me to hijack this and ask, is it normal for legacy non-turbo 1.9l to consume 6km/ltr in nairobi?
newstan2013
#10 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 10:58:41 AM

True, my friend. There is no car that can be labeled as 100% secure. I said mature not secure by the way, but all in all, I believe the driving styles and the general condition of the vehicle determine how safe you are in case of an accident. If you are the type that loves pulling your vehicle past 120km/h then my friend you are gambling with the laws of physics.
newstan2013
#11 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 12:10:45 PM

Wilyum, check the usual suspects; air & oil filters, plugs and use the recommended oil. Also, try not to let the vehicle run out of gas kabisa as this may lead to debris being sucked from the bottom of the tank which may clog your fuel system. Otherwise, the legacy is supposed to give you an average of 8km/l in city driving and around 12km/l on the highway.