Another tasteless ad;Stima Loan.
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 7:10:00 AM

Wapi watoto?

Wako wanaonaona TV kwa jirani.Kwanini?

Jirani ako na stima through stima loan.

Hata mimi nita apply Stima loan kesho.

<And why is she holding that lantern in the face of her huzzy?>

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 8:15:00 AM

@Impunity;

I disagree. Look at the add again....

...when the wife says 'Wanaona TV kwa jirani' the look in her eyes and her facial expression are saying 'Why aren't we watching our TV in our house?'

....when she answers the next question with the statement 'KPLC; Stima Loan' her face says 'What have you been waiting for? Go get us electricity'...no wonder the husband quickly promises to go to KPLC tomorrow...and her face lights up to reveal her full natural beauty.

If you ask me; that was excellent acting!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
mtaalam
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 8:24:00 AM

The ad is not creative but it's effective.

ili iwe funzo...
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 8:54:00 AM

Creativity of an ad doesn't count to anything in business...it's the effectiveness that matters!

As the saying goes: 'A creative ad wins awards,but not customers. An effective ad wins customers,but not awards'

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
And1589
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 07, 2009 11:05:00 AM

Just try getting the stima loan itself! been on the beat for a month and still a lot of paperz to sign and bla bla bla aaargh.

Becoming number one is easier than remaining number one
mjuaji
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 5:47:00 AM

U have to agree the actors,esp the lady,act very well (as opposed to the guys in the HELB advert).

'In the world there's three types of people: Those who can count and those who can't'
festom
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 6:28:00 AM

I detest the HELB ad. The father and the kids are agemates lol

Don't sit and wait - look for the next opportunity
sizzla
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 9:12:00 AM

i just detest they way they grin at the KPLC offices....too fake!

...black woman and child
Silk
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 11:20:00 AM

I'm okay with it though be excited. There are worse cases e.g the Helb and this OMO one!!!

Life is too short.
3Piece
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 3:09:00 PM

am a sucker for creative ads but this ad,as plain as it is,works for everyone,hata ware wa machinani!!

retirement at 40.
stocksdoctor
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 6:18:00 PM

Talking of the HELB advert,I've been up and down the HELB offices trying to repay my campus loan. I filled a standing order 3 months ago which is yet to get to my bank despite my many visits to anniversary towers and many emails to HELB officials. Anyone out there with luck in paying their loan thru a standing order?
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 10:49:00 AM

It a BORING advert,but effecient in its own small way...It's the best KPLC could come up with.

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:20:00 PM

I agree with Leona's comment. The advert is effective and simplistic. It probably must have been done in pitch darkness after one of the many KPLC BLACKOUTS..
Jacy26
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:50:00 PM

The ad I can't stand is the one for fair & lovely ati 'your face is proof.....take the mirror test' aiih pleez..can't be fooled that easily.

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
thuks
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 3:02:00 PM

besides the advert,how many kenyans remain powerless for months even after paying the kenya power for the power...

Time is your life,what do you do with yours?
I care!
Kioko_Nesa
#16 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 9:16:00 AM

The guy uses key to open the door even when there are people insided. Kwanin huko ni Gachie or its were?

And with all these dums being closed,hii maneno ya stima loan it work?

Kioko
#17 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 10:37:00 AM

why dont you deposit money directly into the HELB accounts in various banks and take the receipts to anniversary towers. then get an updated statement. it doesnt take time.

back to this ad; with the looming increased power rationings,why take a stima loan,if you will not use the stima?

JB
Seles83
#18 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 1:11:00 PM

target market

Failure inspires winners...winners are made not born
More monies, more problems...
cherubin
#19 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 3:49:00 PM

i rather like the OMO ad though hiyo kuku!!aiii!!inagoja kushikwa kwa sand?Honestly,show me a hen than can remain transfixed on the ground after all the commotion brought abt by the skidding boy.watch closely,the hen is thrown onto the sand pit for the boy to hold.camera tricks.good effort by any standards!!

There Is No Virtue So Trully Great And Good Like Justice!
kenyan
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 25, 2009 11:39:00 AM

OMO's Haki yetu....beats the Doom Boxing ring ad....yaani iko down.

the kenyan
Quoting one is plagiarism; quoting many is research.