wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

Owning a home with 30k? possible in Kenya?
GalMU
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 4:49:05 PM

After all my expenses,chamas,Sacco and insurance I am left with 30k every month, Is there a way i can get a mortgage with this kind of money and where?
a4architect.com
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 6:43:32 PM

The best solution is to save for 2.5 to 3 years=kes 1m.

With the 1m, pool resources to buy 1/8th land near nairobi where you can get good rental income.
You can join other guys on such a pooling resouces idea here

http://a4architect.com/d.../topic/joint-investment/
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 7:30:55 PM

GalMU wrote:
After all my expenses,chamas,Sacco and insurance I am left with 30k every month, Is there a way i can get a mortgage with this kind of money and where?

Mortgage sahau....
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 9:00:54 PM

With just 25k per month one can access a 4 year mortgage for one of those Suraya bed sitters going for 900k!

Plus you can charge 10-15k rent on the same house!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 10:45:39 PM

guru267 wrote:
With just 25k per month one can access a 4 year mortgage for one of those Suraya bed sitters going for 900k!

Good luck to him with that...Report back n tell me(us) how it goes...
webish
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 8:50:47 AM

guru267 wrote:

I would actually advise the same.

Hey @Maka did you mean to sound sceptical? Or are you genuinely curious? smile

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
mwekez@ji
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:14:41 AM

webish wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Good advice @guru. However, note that purchase price is for cash buyers. Purchase price for mortgage buyers is 1.25M (so, to pay 25K for 7 years) http://www.suraya.co.ke/index.p...asa-mombasa-road?start=9
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:21:31 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
webish wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Good advice @guru. However, note that purchase price is for cash buyers. Purchase price for mortgage buyers is 1.25M (so, to pay 25K for 7 years) http://www.suraya.co.ke/index.p...asa-mombasa-road?start=9

You can still pay off the mortgage in 4 years with 35k monthly!
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:24:49 AM

guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
webish wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Thats a very good move...@webish am serious he should follow up n report he/she dint say what type of house they want...
webish
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:31:44 AM

guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
webish wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Better still, for a 1.2M house, this is well within range that sacco's can give you Loan. So, If you can just get the deposit, pay most of it before House is Finished, then when they get done, you only take mortgage for around 1M, whose 4YR repayment would be @ 29K p/m. At 13pc interest(only sacco).

of course, you can choose to live in it, or rent out after 4yrs, and then work on another project.

Btw, not sure if you have family, but this would be best for "single" or a couple w/out a baby. (My opinion).

mwekez@ji
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:34:54 AM

guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
webish wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Yeah. And that is about @GalMU budget. Over to him/her Brochure
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:40:14 AM

Am just curious, are wazuans advicing someone to buy a 15m2 apartment for KES1M? Along mombasa road?

Hata na dawa, siwezi nunua!

#13 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 9:50:56 AM

Am just curious, are wazuans advicing someone to buy a 15m2 apartment for KES1M? Along mombasa road?

I believe so...
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:01:36 AM

I believe so...

Wololo mayo!
5m x 3m total area? Na bado service charges! Hii wazua ina millionaires kweli kweli.

#15 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:07:12 AM

Even if you rent out the unit for 8k you will still making a 12% yield... That's a perfect investment if you ask me!

I'm sure in 2018 guys will be paying more than 2.5M for these things...
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:08:29 AM

GalMU wrote:

Mortgage sahau....

Try Edermann Greatwall apartments 2bdr @28pm mortgage but you need to raise the deposit. Excellent rental returns which you can plough back and clear in shorter time
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:13:37 AM

guru267 wrote:

Even if you rent out the unit for 8k you will still making a 12% yield... That's a perfect investment if you ask me!

Bandika hiyo hesabu hapa!
You also assume that tenants will be lining up for them, mmh? There are far much sweeter ways to waste 1.2M.

a4architect.com
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:27:02 AM

The most economical way to go about it with kes 1m budget is through pooling resources as is being discussed here.

www.a4architect.com/discus/topic/joint-investment/

This way, you will own a 20m2 bedsitter with chances of increasing other rental units vertically in future.
For this, you will have to team up with other like minded Kenyans and execute the project with ownership under sectional title or LLC.
With this, there is a guaranteed 10% ROI.

The next best option is Sucasa.

Sucasas 18m2 costs 1.3m and has no option of future expansion.

The other option is to buy land in the middle of nowhere for 0.5m and build a mabati shack for 0.5m. Here, you cant use the house since its too far from tarmac eg Jamii Bora situation.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:27:33 AM

guru267 wrote:

You also assume that tenants will be lining up for them, mmh? There are far much sweeter ways to waste 1.2M.

8k*12months = 96k

96k/900k = 12% approx.

8k is very conservative because I charge 9k for my SQ in south C!
webish
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:31:24 AM

guru267 wrote:

Hey @dunkang , if you realize, those "sweeter ways" of spending 1.2M or 30k p/m is what the poster needed.

Would be very helpful if you tell us what you would go for. Like @digitek1 did. smile