wazua Fri, Jul 3, 2026

NSSF Proposed contributions
#11 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 4:55:27 PM

@wendz, this was long overdue! NSSF currently only deducts 1 day's lunch from employees. This amount is too little to help anyone in old age. Consider that most firms do not have pension schemes for employees and you'll see this is right. The African society fabric is also changing with no one to take care of wazee. In UG NSSF is 5pc from employee 10 from employer

This would be very welcomesmile smile
#12 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 4:56:12 PM

#‎NSSF‬ BOSS ‪#‎TomOdongo‬ sacked; Labour Secretary ‪#‎KazunguKambi‬ says he should vacate office immediately and hand over to Corporation Secretary.

The Cabinet Secretary for Labour
Kazungu Kambi on Monday
terminated the services of National
Social Security Fund (NSSF) boss Tom
Odongo. Mr Kambi cited no reasons
for the decision to sack the NSSF
managing trustee, but directed that
he should vacate office immediately

Mr Odongo was asked to hand over to
the corporation secretary Ms Hope
Mwashumbe.
Hapa kuna court case...

Whaaaat? Kwani what has happened now?
#13 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 5:03:24 PM

#‎NSSF‬ BOSS ‪#‎TomOdongo‬ sacked; Labour Secretary ‪#‎KazunguKambi‬ says he should vacate office immediately and hand over to Corporation Secretary.

Kazungu Kambi on Monday

Mwashumbe.
Hapa kuna court case...

Kazungu Kambi is mad...if this goes to court he will get 12 months salo as statutory compensation for unfair termination, one months salary for every year worked and his pension
streetwise
#14 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:03:13 PM

Choices have consequences
#15 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:12:27 PM

I would like to see this KK interviewed by Sibi Okumu about this....
#16 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:30:01 PM

staff will be celebrating the exit of Odongo. Messed up operations on being appointed MT when PWC was invited to do HR remapping. This was poorly done and resulted in great inefficiencies. Claims of arrogance and bias rife too.
#17 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:31:34 PM

I agree with Mr Odongo's job cuts programme. NSSF collects 6.8b per annum (remittance) and 5.2b goes to administrative costs? That doesn't even begin to make sense!

#18 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:50:15 PM

I agree with Mr Odongo's job cuts programme. NSSF collects 6.8b per annum (remittance) and 5.2b goes to administrative costs? That doesn't even begin to make sense!

are you serious? That clearly means they can't afford to pay retirees. I smell a fat rat here!!
#19 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:01:45 PM

Kazungu Kambi on Monday

Mwashumbe.
Hapa kuna court case...

Kazungu Kambi is mad...if this goes to court he will get 12 months salo as statutory compensation for unfair termination, one months salary for every year worked and his pension

maka which ACT are you quoting?hope its not employment act 2007 which to me as an employee is a useless piece of legislation
githundi
#20 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:42:43 PM

Yaani I'll be contributing pension for others to eat. Hell no, not now. Am totally pissed off.
I would prefer the bill to be amended to allow those currently in occupational pension schemes to be exempted.
But unfortunately they are salivating on these billions.
Until such a time that their expenditure is less than 10 per cent of investment  income, they should stay away from my money.
Democracy does not belong to the dead