wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

8 Pages«<23456>»
State of Poverty in Kenya
#61 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 5:30:51 AM

@rankaz, great. I hope national and county govt fellows are reading this. Mutua said his county will not have water issues in 5yrs. Every home will be connected. What happened to the earlier plan to have all homes connected by a certain yr?

Went the way of so many other promises. In the 70s, when some of these promises were made, 2000 looked as though it was too far. Shock on them when it arrived. Our biggest failure, it seems, is not in lack of planning but rather in execution of the said plans.

As an aside, I'm reliably informed that the water supply initially intended to supply Machakos town (I think hiyo maji aitha inatoka au inapitia pande za Emali) was diverted by a top politician, no longer with us, to water flowers in his farm. On the other side, if you take the road from Machakos to Kitui, I was shown another farm (I forget the exact name of that place) said to be owned by watermelon, where water intended to supply towns such as Matuu, Kanyonyo, parts of Mwingi & Kitui, etc has been diverted into the shamba. The pipes and canals are clearly visible right from the main road.
#62 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 5:45:01 AM

@rankaz, great. I hope national and county govt fellows are reading this. Mutua said his county will not have water issues in 5yrs. Every home will be connected. What happened to the earlier plan to have all homes connected by a certain yr?

It was "water for all by the year 2000", 13 years later, water is still a problem even in the urban areas. We just need to put our leaders to task. Ask hard questions, we have hired them to work for us not the other way round.
#63 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 5:50:12 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Went the way of so many other promises. In the 70s, when some of these promises were made, 2000 looked as though it was too far. Shock on them when it arrived. Our biggest failure, it seems, is not in lack of planning but rather in execution of the said plans.

As an aside, I'm reliably informed that the water supply initially intended to supply Machakos town (I think hiyo maji aitha inatoka au inapitia pande za Emali) was diverted by a top politician, no longer with us, to water flowers in his farm. On the other side, if you take the road from Machakos to Kitui, I was shown another farm (I forget the exact name of that place) said to be owned by watermelon, where water intended to supply towns such as Matuu, Kanyonyo, parts of Mwingi & Kitui, etc has been diverted into the shamba. The pipes and canals are clearly visible right from the main road.

Very sad, and other residents along the path have also diverted some to irrigate their shambas.
#64 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:08:59 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Very sad, and other residents along the path have also diverted some to irrigate their shambas.

This story has been around for like a decade or so, and why is it a sad state of affairs?

Meanwhile, the Israelis have such beautiful farms in Kibwezi. They feed and employ the natives with their magic.
#65 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:19:41 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

This story has been around for like a decade or so, and why is it a sad state of affairs?

Meanwhile, the Israelis have such beautiful farms in Kibwezi. They feed and employ the natives with their magic.

May be its not sad to you but its sad that no one has a voice to question the state of affairs. Last month the residents of yatta turned up to de-silt the yatta canal that was built by the colonial govt that was meant to be the lifeline of the people there. Apparently companies like Kenya wine Agencies and some horticultural farms benefit from it but not the residents Here's the video of residents de-silting it. Govt had promised 11 million to do it but nothing was ever done.

As for Kibwezi, those who are near the river benefit, but those with no means of pulling the water from the river have no other alternative
#66 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 7:52:21 AM

@Rankaz, i like your analysis. I also agree with your analysis of the Wakamba: hardworking and goodnatured people. BUT i disagree with the notion that much food will allevoiate poverty. If this was true, agriculturally rich counties like Nyandarua would be full of rich people but this is not the case. Infact, abundance sometimes slows down innovation and makes people lazy

Its the nature of man to look for something else to do once the issue of food is settled. That is why the Industrial revolution came after the Agrarian revolution.
Am curious to know the current poverty rate of Nyandarua. In 2005/6 It was 46.3%, compared to Turkana which was 94.3%.
Anyway, I think most leaders of Ukambani don't want to get their people out of poverty. That poor man will always vote in the rich guy who gives him 50/-when he visits.

Having come from Nyandarua, I have notice a gradual but sure drop of economic levels in this county as compared to the nineties.
The reasons are pretty obvious:
1. Farm input are way too expensive: check the of fertilizer, daily meal, AI seeds, etc. Why do we still import fertilizer in this age and time!

2. Cartels: market prices are controled by a few individuals. Principle of demand and supply doesn't work here. How come the brokers are millionaires yet farmers are poor. The local administration has failed the farmers by not doing simple. things like regulating packaging! Ever seen how a bag of potatoes or cabbage looks like. County govt should start there!

3. Insecurity: some of the well organized farmers have had to move out of their homes due to continued attacks!

4. Climate change: kitambo farmers would planting in July with the wet season. today its so hot and planting can take place without irrigation.

5. Land subdivisions: though there is still large pieces of land, the continued divisions haven't done any good to the county.

These among other reasons have contributed to slowdown of this sleeping giant.

People aren't poor here. They are not rich either!
#67 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 10:36:48 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

May be its not sad to you but its sad that no one has a voice to question the state of affairs. Last month the residents of yatta turned up to de-silt the yatta canal that was built by the colonial govt that was meant to be the lifeline of the people there. Apparently companies like Kenya wine Agencies and some horticultural farms benefit from it but not the residents Here's the video of residents de-silting it. Govt had promised 11 million to do it but nothing was ever done.

As for Kibwezi, those who are near the river benefit, but those with no means of pulling the water from the river have no other alternative

Our philosophical heritage has made us deny that 'the voice of the people is the voice of God'. By 'killing God' man has killed himself.

We are the ones who've nurtured our leaders. Behold the farmer who whines and pines that he is reaping what he did not sow!

The water that is needed here is only found in God. If I seek it elsewhere I'll find only 'vinegar'.

And my throat will be so parched that I'll have no voice.

Else, how could the Father leave the Christ crucified? How did Christ know that he'd been left?

You must be the water bearer to have a voice.

#68 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 10:39:32 AM

radio wrote:
@Rankaz, i like your analysis. I also agree with your analysis of the Wakamba: hardworking and goodnatured people. BUT i disagree with the notion that much food will allevoiate poverty. If this was true, agriculturally rich counties like Nyandarua would be full of rich people but this is not the case. Infact, abundance sometimes slows down innovation and makes people lazy

Its the nature of man to look for something else to do once the issue of food is settled. That is why the Industrial revolution came after the Agrarian revolution.
Am curious to know the current poverty rate of Nyandarua. In 2005/6 It was 46.3%, compared to Turkana which was 94.3%.
Anyway, I think most leaders of Ukambani don't want to get their people out of poverty. That poor man will always vote in the rich guy who gives him 50/-when he visits.

Having come from Nyandarua, I have notice a gradual but sure drop of economic levels in this county as compared to the nineties.
1. Farm input are way too expensive: check the of fertilizer, daily meal, AI seeds, etc. Why do we still import fertilizer in this age and time!

2. Cartels: market prices are controled by a few individuals. Principle of demand and supply doesn't work here. How come the brokers are millionaires yet farmers are poor. The local administration has failed the farmers by not doing simple. things like regulating packaging! Ever seen how a bag of potatoes or cabbage looks like. County govt should start there!

3. Insecurity: some of the well organized farmers have had to move out of their homes due to continued attacks!

4. Climate change: kitambo farmers would planting in July with the wet season. today its so hot and planting can take place without irrigation.

5. Land subdivisions: though there is still large pieces of land, the continued divisions haven't done any good to the county.

Then they are dead.
#69 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 11:53:46 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Sasa huyu Micah Cheserem was the Gabbana of CBK yaani his signature iko kwa noti ya M01. What was his greatest achievement at central bank?

If he went to one village in Kitui and cried what of he was to do a fully road tour in such counties as Kilifi-Ganze n Magarini, Kwale -Kinango and Taru / Samburu, pitia Taita Taveta, parts of rural Nyanza both Luo and Kisii where i saw land subdivided into 1/4 of an 1/8 na watu wanaishi. . . Tell me wazuans wont Cheserem go hang like the teaumatized journalist covering Ethiopia Drought in 84?

And to imagine the level of resource wastage in this garment.. .and MPigs and gabbanas thinking of themselves and their concubines it is soo sad.

Am sorry but Ukambani needs the likes of George Harun Mwau . . .

Umesahau Garsen, kule kwa mla mamba (where did he go by the way?) If you take the route from Malindi to Garissa, for miles and miles on end, as far as your eyes can see it's just bare land (soon getting colonized by the nuisance mathenge plant, aka Prosopis juliflora). And yet the self same river tana just flows idly by enroute to the indian ocean.

Most of the problems that befall these places are usually political. Siasa mbaya maisha mabaya.

Until the people learn that the leaders they elect affect their lives, then the poverty will stay with us for a long time. I simply cannot believe the circus in Makueni right now...

My experiences with Eastern have always been tragic. Women from these areas do not deliver in hospitals, and every time we were woken up at 4am to tend to a referral from Matuu or Ekalakala, the outcome was always a still-born child, a maserated still-born or we lost both the mother and the child.

By the time they arrive in hospital, they had tried delivering at home, the neighbour's wife had tried to assist the delivery, the TBA had tried and failed and so they started the 150km+ journey to hospital. Half of these women never make it back home. Probably 2 in 10 of these women who went into theater came out with a live baby or came out alive themselves.

I once watched a 17yr old die before my eyes due to eclampsia (she started fitting at 7am and arrived at the hospital at 5pm). She was too far gone.

Lower Eastern needs selfless and driven leaders who can positively change the people's lives. Not the likes of Ngilu, Kalonzo etc.
#70 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 12:21:13 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Let me tell you where I'm coming from. Take a walk with me here. Imagine a child or even an adult facing malnutrition. What does that portend? Ill health of course, chiefly because the antibodies required to fight off infections are protein in nature. That means then such a person will spend more time bed-ridden due to illness and has no energy or indeed even time to attend school and/or engage in other economic activities. All because of lack of food, something that could easily have been alleviated if there was water.

Similarly, imagine a child who walks for 10kms (some walk longer by the way) in search of water for domestic use. Do you think such a child will have time to go to school? Of course not. And by the way, if they have to walk that far to get their drinking water, you can already begin to visualize that theirs is a rather dry, parched, hardly productive land.

With those two scenarios in mind, can you now see how the simple act of provision of water will impact on both healthcare and education standards? By the way, it's also a proven scientific fact that malnutrition especially in early life, results in stunted growth and development. Obviously the brain is most affected by this, which then means acquisition education becomes an uphill task. All because of lack of water. You can almost begin to see how that poor child in the interiors of the dry Ukambani, Turkana or indeed any other part of Kenya has to surmount incredible odds just to catch up with his well-endowed colleagues.

Now, take a walk to Mwea, and the interior of Kirinyaga district (huko pande za Kagio, Mbarichu, etc) and see the wonders of an act as simple as provision of water for irrigation purposes. You recall the wars they fought with the national irrigation board in the late 1990s? Thing is, soon as the NIB was kicked out, rice farming as well as use of irrigation water was kinda 'liberalized' to areas beyond the mwea irrigation scheme proper. Today, there's so much rice being produced in areas beyond the original scheme proper and in fact, right now as we speak, the Japanese gov't is almost finishing their project to rehabilitate the scheme as well as expand it by building more canals and increasing water supply. Why did this happen? Because the gov't long realized, practically, that the existing supply is inadequate and since there clearly is demand for more, why not? Talking of which, have you seen how fast Mwea town has grown in the last 10yrs or so?

In short, hata huko Ukambani in the remotest of places, let them put the first 1000acres under irrigation waone. Guys will swarm there like bees onto nectar and in no time, it'll be time to expand the project. Eventually, this area may well be our future bread-basket albeit untapped for now. Of course, by selling their surplus, they then get money to invest in alternative economic sectors and begin to sort of diversify their production, but the seed money will have come from agriculture. Of course as the area expands, settlements crop up creating demand for other services and in no time, the gov't will have to provide the requisite roads, hospitals, schools and other social infrastructure. You see how a simple act, provision of water, can have far reaching ramifications beyond our wildest of imaginations?

As I always say, droughts are natural occurences but famines are man-made. Right now as we speak, large swathes of the U.S are facing their worst drought in decades and so did Australia just the other day. But we're unlikely to hear of entire populations there facing certain death by hunger. You know why? Planning and implementation of programmes, part of which includes irrigation.

I say, give the hardworking farmer in Tseikuru some water and this country will never have to beg ndugu zetu to sell us green grams and other cereals again. Let's try it and see. I've seen the zeal with which they take to that land whenever it rains and it amazes me.

While we are waiting for water from our leaders, 'Monsanto' and other corporate entities are introducing their products and at a profit.

This one of 'monsanto' is a true tragedy.. Another catastrophe happening before our very own eyes. I wonder what I can do to 'fight' them beyond good organic farming.. and spreading the word.

I hear people cry Leaders leaders leaders and wonder! How does one expect 40million people to agree on something? Is a bad leader born with a mark somewhere in his body for voters to know? And what if we elect bad leaders/good leaders gone bad, does it mean for 5 years we sit and wait for the next elections while busy dieing?

Change is you and me. Cry about leaders when you've initiated a project to start something. Don't waste airtime crying leaders behind a keyboard, for those leaders aren't going nowhere!

#71 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 12:50:57 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
The most important policy that Uhuruto can implement, according to me, is the one of direct social resource transfer to the poor. If they do only this I will rate their government a success.

Unfortunately it odes not seem to feature as a priority.

Ruto says that they hope to increase the number of people and amounts that government transfers to the poor but only, if they can find the money.

In my opinion this should be a guaranteed item on the budget, before paying salaries or building half a billion shilling offices for retired geezers.

It makes economic sense too.

Imagine if those poor families in Kitui were guaranteed a regular income. They would spend and build local economies. The dignity gained would encourage people to try new things, take more risks to build the income of their families.

The country will benefit.

Here is an old saying: "Give a man a fish and feed him for a day but show him how to fish and you'll have fed him for life"

This populist idea of "giving resources to the poor" will get us no where! It is and ideology peddled by NGO-types who are only interested in protecting their jobs!

Here are two basic problems with such a policy:

1] How do you define "the poor"?
2] Which resources do you suggested we give them - land, money, or what?

#72 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 3:49:20 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Let me tell you where I'm coming from. Take a walk with me here. Imagine a child or even an adult facing malnutrition. What does that portend? Ill health of course, chiefly because the antibodies required to fight off infections are protein in nature. That means then such a person will spend more time bed-ridden due to illness and has no energy or indeed even time to attend school and/or engage in other economic activities. All because of lack of food, something that could easily have been alleviated if there was water.

Similarly, imagine a child who walks for 10kms (some walk longer by the way) in search of water for domestic use. Do you think such a child will have time to go to school? Of course not. And by the way, if they have to walk that far to get their drinking water, you can already begin to visualize that theirs is a rather dry, parched, hardly productive land.

With those two scenarios in mind, can you now see how the simple act of provision of water will impact on both healthcare and education standards? By the way, it's also a proven scientific fact that malnutrition especially in early life, results in stunted growth and development. Obviously the brain is most affected by this, which then means acquisition education becomes an uphill task. All because of lack of water. You can almost begin to see how that poor child in the interiors of the dry Ukambani, Turkana or indeed any other part of Kenya has to surmount incredible odds just to catch up with his well-endowed colleagues.

Now, take a walk to Mwea, and the interior of Kirinyaga district (huko pande za Kagio, Mbarichu, etc) and see the wonders of an act as simple as provision of water for irrigation purposes. You recall the wars they fought with the national irrigation board in the late 1990s? Thing is, soon as the NIB was kicked out, rice farming as well as use of irrigation water was kinda 'liberalized' to areas beyond the mwea irrigation scheme proper. Today, there's so much rice being produced in areas beyond the original scheme proper and in fact, right now as we speak, the Japanese gov't is almost finishing their project to rehabilitate the scheme as well as expand it by building more canals and increasing water supply. Why did this happen? Because the gov't long realized, practically, that the existing supply is inadequate and since there clearly is demand for more, why not? Talking of which, have you seen how fast Mwea town has grown in the last 10yrs or so?

In short, hata huko Ukambani in the remotest of places, let them put the first 1000acres under irrigation waone. Guys will swarm there like bees onto nectar and in no time, it'll be time to expand the project. Eventually, this area may well be our future bread-basket albeit untapped for now. Of course, by selling their surplus, they then get money to invest in alternative economic sectors and begin to sort of diversify their production, but the seed money will have come from agriculture. Of course as the area expands, settlements crop up creating demand for other services and in no time, the gov't will have to provide the requisite roads, hospitals, schools and other social infrastructure. You see how a simple act, provision of water, can have far reaching ramifications beyond our wildest of imaginations?

As I always say, droughts are natural occurences but famines are man-made. Right now as we speak, large swathes of the U.S are facing their worst drought in decades and so did Australia just the other day. But we're unlikely to hear of entire populations there facing certain death by hunger. You know why? Planning and implementation of programmes, part of which includes irrigation.

I say, give the hardworking farmer in Tseikuru some water and this country will never have to beg ndugu zetu to sell us green grams and other cereals again. Let's try it and see. I've seen the zeal with which they take to that land whenever it rains and it amazes me.

While we are waiting for water from our leaders, 'Monsanto' and other corporate entities are introducing their products and at a profit.

This one of 'monsanto' is a true tragedy.. Another catastrophe happening before our very own eyes. I wonder what I can do to 'fight' them beyond good organic farming.. and spreading the word.

I hear people cry Leaders leaders leaders and wonder! How does one expect 40million people to agree on something? Is a bad leader born with a mark somewhere in his body for voters to know? And what if we elect bad leaders/good leaders gone bad, does it mean for 5 years we sit and wait for the next elections while busy dieing?

Change is you and me. Cry about leaders when you've initiated a project to start something. Don't waste airtime crying leaders behind a keyboard, for those leaders aren't going nowhere!

The battleground is in identity and technological development.

Power to the people.

#73 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 5:28:16 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Has monsato knocked Kenya's gate?? If it has, then we are done...soon Kenyans will be some walking zombies
#74 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:17:44 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Has monsato knocked Kenya's gate?? If it has, then we are done...soon Kenyans will be some walking zombies

It amazes me that we'd ban importation of GMOs and have this killers peddle their seeds here. And whats worse is its everywhere.. The maize/wheat(their flour) you eat could be from their seedsSad

Im not saying to do this, but maneno of ugali/chapati/beer et al made from maize/corn and wheat/barley niliwacha. I hope it doesn't affect indigenous sweet potatos, arrow roots, amaranth etc

Wakanyugi
#75 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 7:23:40 PM

mukiha wrote:
This populist idea of "giving resources to the poor" will get us no where! It is and ideology peddled by NGO-types who are only interested in protecting their jobs!

Spoken like a true Tea party fanatic.

Unfortunately your 'trickle down economics' reasoning is crap, even using your own definition of 'teaching a man to fish.'

In a consumption based economy, giving a man resources to spend is the first step towards teaching that man to fish. After all, if Kenyans stopped consuming, half of the economy you take for granted will disappear.

As to how you define the poor, how about this:

No one should have to die of hunger?

The difference between you and I is that you think uplifting the poor is a net loss to the country. I think it is a gain and no price is too big to pay, even making the rich and comfortable like you and I pay a little more.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#76 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 7:32:34 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Spoken like a true Tea party fanatic.

Unfortunately your 'trickle down economics' reasoning is crap, even using your own definition of 'teaching a man to fish.'

In a consumption based economy, giving a man resources to spend is the first step towards teaching that man to fish. After all, if Kenyans stopped consuming, half of the economy you take for granted will disappear.

As to how you define the poor, how about this:

No one should have to die of hunger?

The difference between you and I is that you think uplifting the poor is a net loss to the country. I think it is a gain and no price is too big to pay, even making the rich and comfortable like you and I pay a little more.

I have never found a better placement for Mukiha's views.....real tea party!!!!
#77 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 7:34:48 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Si 'mkubwa' aliwaonyesha njia. You see, for society to move forward, we may sometimes have to sacrifice personal comforts for the greater good e.g. granting wayleaves for water pipes to pass through your land. In the same vein, it must be made abundantly clear that whoever arrogates what is essentially a public commodity for their own private use must be willing to pay a very steep price, legally. Otherwise it'd make no sense in this case to arrest the neighbors and leave the 'big guy' untouched.
#78 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:12:01 PM

radio wrote:

Hii maneno ya farm inputs sijui itatusumbua hadi lini. I wonder whether we learnt anything from former Malawi president, the late Bingu wa Mutharika's efforts to make his country self sufficient in food, a feat that was achieved in 10 short years. Sadly, as with most things Kenyan, cartels are in control. I wonder, why is it that we practise the most ruthless form of greed, camouflaged as capitalism, possible?

As for cartels, one way of countering the same is to provide timely market information to our farmers, who can then organize themselves, preferably in co-operatives, to exploit the market opportunities. If the farmer in Nyandarua was aware of the demand and price of his commodity say in Kitui or Garissa, si atajikakamua kabisa to be able to exploit it? I know I would. I still recall hoe farmers in Kijabe were pouring away their milk a while back at the exact same time that our brothers and sisters in Turkana were dying of hunger. To me, there was no better indicator of an uncaring gov't as that. Maziwa inamwagwaje wakati jirani anakufa njaa?

While at it, I also think we need to come up with new innovative ideas to exploit our existing crops. We all know about how you can't separate a Kenyan from his drink. Now watch as this British company makes wine/vodka from potatoes and tell me why we can't do it:

Chase vodka.

As the interviewer said,"...Good things come in small packages..or in this case, from the ground." Honestly, is it really that difficult?
Across the oceans on the other side of the world the Japanese have always had their sake beer and wine made using rice. How difficult is that seriously?

Sometimes it takes a revolutionary mind to introduce a new way of doing things. I know of a fellow from the rift who was a large scale maize farmer from back in the day. As was customary then, all maize was bought, at the time, by the NCPB (a noble idea by the way but which we seem to have bungled thoroughly). So, over time, he realized that ncpb was shortchanging him by delaying payments as well as offering low prices. What to do? He resorted to harvesting his maize green and selling it directly to the market himself. Of course, in due course, the then draconian provincial administration was dispatched to intimidate and warn him against it but the man persisted and told them all off. From the proceeds, which were significantly higher than those offered by ncpb for dry maize, he was able to see all his children through education up to college level as well as amass a small fortune for himself.

Moral of the story? For us to move forward, to accomplish what we have never done before, we must be willing to do that which we have never done.

#79 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:29:22 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
My dear friends,

I have read all your comments. I am afraid I still disagree on one point.

Most of you are trying to give the government a pass on this issue.

Why the hell then did so many Kenyans vote for them, if not not to address problems like this, which for many are literally a matter of life and death?

Why should the kind of poverty that Cheserem wept about be acceptable in Kenya today?

I'll tell you why. Because many of those with power think it is more important to take care of the minority rich than the majority poor.

Such thinking has to be reversed, otherwise our country is doomed.

The rich don't need help. The poor do. It makes economic, moral, political and social sense.

Why is it so hard to see this?

its not only govt that has to bring change...if you wait on govt you might wait forever. for example in yatta the church is transforming lives through agriculture...its not republican philosophy...afterall how has giving resources aka relief food helped
#80 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:46:35 PM

jguru wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Sasa huyu Micah Cheserem was the Gabbana of CBK yaani his signature iko kwa noti ya M01. What was his greatest achievement at central bank?

If he went to one village in Kitui and cried what of he was to do a fully road tour in such counties as Kilifi-Ganze n Magarini, Kwale -Kinango and Taru / Samburu, pitia Taita Taveta, parts of rural Nyanza both Luo and Kisii where i saw land subdivided into 1/4 of an 1/8 na watu wanaishi. . . Tell me wazuans wont Cheserem go hang like the teaumatized journalist covering Ethiopia Drought in 84?

And to imagine the level of resource wastage in this garment.. .and MPigs and gabbanas thinking of themselves and their concubines it is soo sad.

Am sorry but Ukambani needs the likes of George Harun Mwau . . .

Umesahau Garsen, kule kwa mla mamba (where did he go by the way?) If you take the route from Malindi to Garissa, for miles and miles on end, as far as your eyes can see it's just bare land (soon getting colonized by the nuisance mathenge plant, aka Prosopis juliflora). And yet the self same river tana just flows idly by enroute to the indian ocean.

Most of the problems that befall these places are usually political. Siasa mbaya maisha mabaya.

Until the people learn that the leaders they elect affect their lives, then the poverty will stay with us for a long time. I simply cannot believe the circus in Makueni right now...

My experiences with Eastern have always been tragic. Women from these areas do not deliver in hospitals, and every time we were woken up at 4am to tend to a referral from Matuu or Ekalakala, the outcome was always a still-born child, a maserated still-born or we lost both the mother and the child.

By the time they arrive in hospital, they had tried delivering at home, the neighbour's wife had tried to assist the delivery, the TBA had tried and failed and so they started the 150km+ journey to hospital. Half of these women never make it back home. Probably 2 in 10 of these women who went into theater came out with a live baby or came out alive themselves.

I once watched a 17yr old die before my eyes due to eclampsia (she started fitting at 7am and arrived at the hospital at 5pm). She was too far gone.

Lower Eastern needs selfless and driven leaders who can positively change the people's lives. Not the likes of Ngilu, Kalonzo etc.

Maternal mortality has always been one of those things that tugs at my heart and it really is a tragedy that doesn't get the publicity and resources it deserves. I remember once doing some work in Kibwezi and I came out devastated.

Here, belief in TBAs is so prevalent and absolute one gets the feeling modern day medics have no chance. I recall seeing so many cases of mothers who attend ANC religiously but when it's time to give birth, they'd rather go to the TBA and the patient only comes to you when complications arise, by which time it often is too late to assist them.

Of course, there also are areas in which the gov't has horribly failed especially when it comes to access roads. I recall a certain health centre huko pande za Mtito Andei that had quite a large catchment area but had no staff housing. Being remote and sparsely populated, health workers lived far away from the facility and were not always at hand to assist the mothers. Additionally, with the Tsavo being nearby, wild animals roam the area freely at night and residents are under a virtual curfew. What to do?

In other areas the facilities available are woefully inadequate. Some of the hospitals have no ambulances with which to evacuate cases that require referrals, often roads become impassable especially when it rains, etc. Sometimes, the referral system doesn't quite work as it should, for instance, imagine a situation where a patient from Sultan Hamud whose district hospital is at Makindu but the referral hospital is Machakos. Such a patient would rather go straight to Machakos, which is nearer to Sultan Hamud than Makindu is. And many other such issues.

Of course, leadership plays a role in all this. For instance, some of the issues on ambulances can easily be solved by cdf. Question is, do the leaders care?