State of Poverty in Kenya
InnovateGuy wrote:Even as the digital government settles down to work, they should not lose sight of the challenges that face this country. There is so much do do especially with regards to eradicating poverty. In one incident which is likely to draw discussion, Micah Cheserem was moved to tears after coming "face to face" with the poverty in Kitui County. Learners there travel 14 Km to a school which is in shambles. The school has two teachers only.
Link Remind me does one former VP and presidential aspirant who had been in parliament to kedo almost 30 years not come from this neighborhood! Leadership by example how does Kaloozer explain this or who should be held to account for the state of affairs ? ... "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
Rankaz13 wrote:Over the course of my duties, I have had an opportunity to travel widely in all the counties that make the greater Ukambani (Machakos, Kitui and Makueni) or Eastern south as it is sometimes called. Some of what I have come across is indeed enough to make a grown man shed tears, I know I have and I won't deny it.
Sometime last year, I remember travelling around the areas of Makindu, Kibwezi, Makueni, Machakos, Kathonzweni and surrounding areas and honestly these guys need all the help they can get. I recall it had rained a few weeks prior and the one thing that struck me was they had actually tilled the land, wakapanda chakula and then the rains, as they are wont to, failed. And I remember asking myself, seriously, hii river tana that has flowed since eternity, what would it take to harness even a fraction of that water for irrigation purposes?
The one thing I noticed about them is that they are extremely hard working people and I dare say this: they do not need gov't handouts, convinced as some of us are about the same. Give these guys water for irrigation and watch them impress you with the level of hard work they're ready to put in to get the harvest. These guys are some of the hardest working Kenyans I ever met and honestly, our gov't has failed them big time!!
Over in Kitui, Mwingi, Muthale, Mutomo, etc areas, the story is replicated all over. But here I noticed one more thing: girls drop out of school very early. And so I sought to know why. Apparently, due to resource constraints, some of the families prioritize education of boys while girls remain at home to assist with household chores such as fetching water, etc. What this means is that a significant no. of girls begin their education late and it is not uncommon to find a 16yr old in class 7 or 8. Of course with all the challenges of puberty, the raging hormones and attendant teenage rebellion, not to forget constant ridicule by some of their younger colleagues, most drop out and get married shortly and thus we end up with a situation where subsequent generations end up being poorer than the preceding ones. All because of what? I have always maintained that what Ukambani needs, over and above all else, is water period. Whoever gives them water will be assured of my vote in perpetuity.
Flashback to the mid 2000s. At the time I worked in a part of coast that was in the midst of a major famine. Funny thing is, whenever I went to the local markets there actually was always food. Then it hit me: the famine was not because of lack of food, this was there in plenty. The problem actually was that the bulk of the population was unable to afford the food that was there. In other words, low household incomes was the problem.
In all these cases, and many others I'm sure, provision of relief food and other handouts isn't really a solution. What our people need is, first and foremost, water for irrigation na hizo vitu zingine zitajileta tu. Yaani something as basic as this can easily set an entire region so much far backward and ends up affecting even education as well as health care. After all, a child who spends most of his/her time looking for water doesn't have much time for school and at the same time, poor nutrition is never far behind, and this has implications on general well being as well as productivity.
There's no way this country will ever move forward as long as we take our agricultural productivity for granted. There surely must be a reason why the developed world, including Japan and Russia, hold farm/agricultural subsidies as sacrosanct. They recognize the value of agriculture in so far as their entire economies are concerned. After all, the agrarian revolution preceded the industrial revolution.
Over to Kenya, what do we have? Millions of our youth roam our streets in the ever elusive job search yet thousands upon thousands of acres of land in some of their rural areas lie fallow. Misplaced priorities? You be the judge.  excellent analysis But why do they keep planting and it doesnt rain? As someone said doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results is a sign of insanity (with all due respect) Again as you have noted they have the solution within their hands..As with most problems of humans the solution doesnt lie without (sirkal isadie) but within (river tana, coops, culture change) Nobody is gonna get you out of poverty but yourself period I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Siringi wrote: Remind me does one former VP and presidential aspirant who had been in parliament to kedo almost 30 years not come from this neighborhood! Good point. Perhaps that is the reason Kenyan's did not see it fit to elect him to lead. Now the people chose, the ball is firmly in Uhurutos and his government's court. This culture of passing the blame has to end. Mara Kalonzo is to blame. Mara ni Raila, Moi, Kibaki, Obama, Wakoloni, mara the poor, the rich etc None of these are in power, given on a promise to bring change. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
@Rankaz, i like your analysis. I also agree with your analysis of the Wakamba: hardworking and goodnatured people. BUT i disagree with the notion that much food will allevoiate poverty. If this was true, agriculturally rich counties like Nyandarua would be full of rich people but this is not the case. Infact, abundance sometimes slows down innovation and makes people lazy
and true to the analysis here, the people of Makueni spent their day in normal duties not following kesi ya kethi while the people of wazua spent their day glued to tv/twita
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,505 Location: Uganda
this is one of the most issue based thread to run in wazua. wazuans united and serious in analysing a problem and proposing workable solutions. lets have more like this. punda amecheka
poundfoolish wrote:Its a two way traffic..
Citizens organise themselves.. government picks up and does its bit.. either party waiting for the other is a black hole... @pound I agree with you in so many things until we took different directions at the last minute in the last polls, the garment will follow the pople, as long as the people who voted in a certain way support the benefactors without caring what they are doing to the wananchi....we are stuck.........NO MEANINGFUL SEVICE EXPECTED!!!....for these things we are proposing, the people from all walks of life must lead, the garment will have no option but to follow!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Lolest! wrote:@Rankaz, i like your analysis. I also agree with your analysis of the Wakamba: hardworking and goodnatured people. BUT i disagree with the notion that much food will allevoiate poverty. If this was true, agriculturally rich counties like Nyandarua would be full of rich people but this is not the case. Infact, abundance sometimes slows down innovation and makes people lazy Its the nature of man to look for something else to do once the issue of food is settled. That is why the Industrial revolution came after the Agrarian revolution. Am curious to know the current poverty rate of Nyandarua. In 2005/6 It was 46.3%, compared to Turkana which was 94.3%. Anyway, I think most leaders of Ukambani don't want to get their people out of poverty. That poor man will always vote in the rich guy who gives him 50/-when he visits. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
poundfoolish wrote:Its a two way traffic..
Citizens organise themselves.. government picks up and does its bit.. either party waiting for the other is a black hole... Ditto I'll also add this, 'My people die for lack of knowledge'. Why do we take our children to school? I think it a misconception to think that we send them to school so that they can get jobs in future!!! No No No. Unfortunately I think that why my grandpas sent my unties and uncles to school. I'll send you to school so that whatever it is you learn there, you'll come back and implement it here! I have a relative with acres of prime fertile land, earning peanuts with flimsy construction jobs, while the one son is a taxi-driver and the other an office messenger! If this is the story in so many families, can we surely blame gava or anybody else?
Mukiri wrote:poundfoolish wrote:Its a two way traffic..
Citizens organise themselves.. government picks up and does its bit.. either party waiting for the other is a black hole... Ditto I'll also add this, 'My people die for lack of knowledge'. Why do we take our children to school? I think it a misconception to think that we send them to school so that they can get jobs in future!!! No No No. Unfortunately I think that why my grandpas sent my unties and uncles to school. I'll send you to school so that whatever it is you learn there, you'll come back and implement it here! I have a relative with acres of prime fertile land, earning peanuts with flimsy construction jobs, while the one son is a taxi-driver and the other an office messenger! If this is the story in so many families, can we surely blame gava or anybody else? Direction will have to come from somewher....tychospeak!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
State of Poverty in Kenya