29 Pages«<45678>»
Transfers...
#101 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 12:39:25 PM

@Taz hapo umepotea kidogo, I was not asking whether you'd want Cesc to resign for Arsenal, any gooner fan would! heck, I wanted Cesc to come to Utd! I was asking whether you really think Cesc would want to return to Arsenal and whether you would return if you were Cesc. How many times has Wenger tried to put together a team that will put up a challenge for the title???

And yes,I believe Moyes will have a hard time convincing players from outside England to join Utd, that's the downside of having a giant figure like SAF in a club for quarter of a century. Frankly if we put up a serious challenge to retain the title this season I'll be impressed, it will probably be down to a mentality of winners that has been ingrained into the culture of Utd by SAF.

It is Europe that I'm worried about....hapo iko sinda
#102 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 1:06:18 PM

like i said Cesc would want to return to Arsenal due to his connection with the fans and Wenger, to be honest with you i think he has been on the decline ever since he moved to Barca. Why do you think CR7 wants to return to Man Utd, i'm pretty sure its not about winning a trophy. Just recently at the Confederations cup Cesc indicated that the coach asked him to play freely as he did at Arsenal....clearly hata pia yeye anaskia he needs to go back and enjoy playing once again.

Our record transfer signing is Arshavin at £15m so you can't really say we've made any big signings. For the last four seasons or so we've been selling our top players without bringing in better replacements. This summer Wenger is set to break that record and bring in a marquee signing. Something else which he has done is that he's now abandoned his policy of bringing in only young players. Last season he signed Carzola and Podolski who was our arguably our player of the season. You can only imagine what we would have achieved if he hadn't sold Cesc, Nasri and RVP. Anyway the squad doesn't really need major adjustments (something noted by Mourinho), we need a striker (higuain or Suarez), a DM (Fellaini or any other experienced player), back up defender (Williams) and an experienced keeper (Ceasar).

#103 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 2:43:36 PM

Sawa, but also realize that Cesc went to a Barca team where Xavi and Iniesta were the heartbeat of the then monstrous Barca, so he played where in a least favoured position, just like Rooney did when RvP came over. That does not mean the player is on the decline,he's simply playing out of position. The same thing happened to Kagawa when he came over to Utd. And no, players don't enjoy playing where they are not winning, hio ni fact.

Is Arsenal serious about the Suarez bid? I thought it was a bad joke. Yes, the guy wants CL football, but he looks too good for Arsenal if you ask me,naturally am biased. I'm sure you meant Cazorla was your best player last season, and not Podolski, as the statement suggests.

Perez said there was no bid for Higuain, and now Napoli look to be about to make a bid for him with the Cavani miilions, as well as Damiao and the same Julio Cesar you're talking about. The worst thing for Arsenal would be to make noise around some possible transfers and then not make the marquee signing fans want. At least for Utd we know Thiago went to Bayern coz of the Pep factor, while Cesc's situation is complicated by Arsenal. Marquinhos may join PSG coz of the money, Moyes may not have the player winning personality and reputation that SAF has as well. What am saying in many words is that until Arsenal make a big name signing,the perception will be they simply can't because they have not been winning anything recently.
#104 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 4:52:26 PM

Then it seems PSG will take everyone with that kind of money, enyewe McDoba's assertions are true, it's not that Man Utd are unattractive, it's just that PSG have a fatter wallet.

Garay is tried and tested but Marquinhos would have been a good buy for the future. @Taz, even if Arsenal were to reactivate the buy back clause, do you really think Cesc would want to go back to Arsenal, ever? Would you, if it was you???

PSG also has an upper hand over the rest in terms of Brazilians because Leonardo the sports director is from there. That is the way Man U lost Lucas last season. But then gain their money is in gunny bags, hard to match for the other kawa teams. Even Real are struggling after the glatico era!!!

@Taz, i think i read on those scrolls za Skysports that Julio Ceaser has gone to Napoli; a done deal.
#105 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 4:57:34 PM

bkismat wrote:

Four year deal worth in the region of £30,000 per week.....a cool Sh.4m per week!

Cool Kshs. 4m per week Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Taxation there is stringent for non-EU members. Though the earnings are still way above expectations ...

Figures quoted are usually nett of taxes.

Fail!Figures quoted are ALWAYS Gross!So Rooney's take home is not the 200K pounds per week

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/.../merseyside/7071296.stm

#106 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 3:07:01 PM

@ Smano.....the only Arsenal bid that has been confirmed so far is for L'pool's Suarez, the rest is just speculation by the media which most of us end up believing so you can't really say we've missed out on anyone. The media is a bit excited with Arsenal's change of policy in the transfer market so they'll probably link u with almost all players availabe.

Wenger doesn't really tolerate transfer rumours unless they are true, he's always quick to deny whenever questions are raised....like he did with Mata when everyone thought he'd sign for Arsenal. No one really expected Arsenal to sign Carzola last summer, you can never be sure about Wenger's transfer targets. I've seen some reports on Bayern's Gustavo and Brazil International Bernard, perhaps they are his targets. Btw I think Moyes has been too open about his transfer targets, SAF used to be so discrete. What i can't understand is why Man Utd don't want to compete with the likes of PSG and Monaco in the transfer market.....the money is definitely there. Man city have now spent close to 100m this summer, two strikers in a week (Negredo & Jovetic). Barca signed Neymar for £48.6m, this is a club which is said to be struggling financially. Arsenal have learnt the hard way that unless you spend big, they'll be no success on the pitch. Now there's talk of Arsenal making an offer in excess of £40m for Suarez, guess its time to dust off the cheque book. I know we might miss out on the player but we might end up getting a better alternative with those kind of bids.

#107 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 8:06:14 PM

Arsenal have had their £15M for Wigans F.A cup rejected.
#108 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:17:41 AM

Barcelona manager Tito Vilanova has step down to continue his cancer treatment, the club will name a new manager next week. ION, Liverpool keeper Reina is set to move to Napoli on loan, hope Wenger can now secure Julio Ceasar.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23372714

#109 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 10:41:56 AM

Led by motivational speaker and former coach of Barcelona's handball team, Xesco Aspar, the manager Mauricio Pochettino and players walked across hot coals as they took on a number of bizarre team building exercises.
Pochettino seemed to be fairly calm as he strolled across the fiery rocks, but Rickie Lambert and new signing Victor Wanyama were much more apprehensive as they gave it a shot. New signing Victor Wanyama looked out of his comfort zone

#110 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:05:47 PM

I agree, Moyes is talking too much about transfers. There's no way Man Utd would have paid 35M Euros for Marquinhos, that's a 19 year old who has just played one season for Roma!!! Better to spend on Ezequiel Garay, tried and tested!

Utd have placed a fresh 30M pound bid for Cesc...Barca should just concede, hehe, tumalize hii kazi mapema bana! Now that would be a marquee signing! Then we keep Rooney,and maybe get Fellaini and Baines, hio inaweza kua biashara poa kabisa!!!
#111 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:16:28 PM

Mastermind wrote:
Arsenal have had their £15M for Wigans F.A cup rejected.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#112 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:29:58 PM

I agree, Moyes is talking too much about transfers. There's no way Man Utd would have paid 35M Euros for Marquinhos, that's a 19 year old who has just played one season for Roma!!! Better to spend on Ezequiel Garay, tried and tested!

Utd have placed a fresh 30M pound bid for Cesc...Barca should just concede, hehe, tumalize hii kazi mapema bana! Now that would be a marquee signing! Then we keep Rooney,and maybe get Fellaini and Baines, hio inaweza kua biashara poa kabisa!!!

Also something about 60M bid for Gareth Bale....I just can't see United paying that mad money!!!
#113 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:41:07 PM

McDoba hata sioni the need for Bale, for such money you can buy two outstanding midfielders, an attacking one and a defensive one, tufunge kazi. Guys are forgetting we have Kagawa, I have a feeling the 2nd season will be his season when he is played in his natural position, just behind RVP and Rooney (hopefully)
#114 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:43:44 PM

@Smano....Cesc will not be a Man Utd player, i think whoever came up with that idea at OT was just being too optimistic due to RVP's situation. Barca have already declared he's not going anyway and Cesc has allegedly told his friends that he'll only sign for Arsenal in England.

http://www1.skysports.co...abregas-is-not-for-sale

http://www.mirror.co.uk/...s-cesc-fabregas-2060233

I'm not sure who Wenger will sign but we need a striker, DM, Defender and an experienced GK. Anything more than that will be a bonus, just hope we sign quality though.

ION, Chris Froome (kenyan born) has won the Tour de France).....what a win.
#115 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:44:31 PM

McDoba hata sioni the need for Bale, for such money you can buy two outstanding midfielders, an attacking one and a defensive one, tufunge kazi. Guys are forgetting we have Kagawa, I have a feeling the 2nd season will be his season when he is played in his natural position, just behind RVP and Rooney (hopefully)

Bwana we need to also show people we are a BIG Club get Bale to streamline the left wing with time Zaha will replace Valencia on the right then with Kagwa in the middle we will kick ass!!!!!
#116 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 8:44:13 AM

Hio ya Bale sioni, hata hii ya Cesc. It will be a pity if we sell Rooney to Chelsea. I hope Moyes can get the best out of Nani and Anderson, I still feel their potential can be harnessed if they play regularly
#117 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 3:37:44 PM

Utd being linked with Vucinic but I'm not sure we need an unpredictable enfant terrible`. Moyes is not inspiring confidence after saying Utd have made a 2nd improved bid for Cesc...
#118 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 3:44:16 PM

Hio ya Bale sioni, hata hii ya Cesc. It will be a pity if we sell Rooney to Chelsea. I hope Moyes can get the best out of Nani and Anderson, I still feel their potential can be harnessed if they play regularly

@Smano, I thought the two were ear marked to leave ManU...no?
#119 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 4:23:41 PM

@Nostopping,initially they were but who knows how their pre season work out is? For me I believe they have something to offer when fit and playing regularly...their main weakness is inconsistency. For me Nani has more potential than Young who has never really lived up to his price tag. But that inconsistency can only be put up with for another season, or half season for that matter.
#120 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:29:02 PM

@Smano, I thought the two were ear marked to leave ManU...no?

Nani isn't going anywhere. He's being given an improved contract. Kama ni Young, sawa.