19 Pages«<1415161718>»
Teachers Strike!!!
#301 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 3:09:39 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Let us not confuse issues here.

The issue is not whether or not a teacher deserves commutter allowance or not. Or if he goes to class drunk, or if you feel that you wished you had their job so you can work less hours.

The issue is whether or not the Gov't of Kenya has a signed contract with said teacher's union.

If it does, then it has no choice but to pay up. Otherwise, it will send signals to the rest of the world that the Kenyan gov't doesn't pay its bills.

If you say that this was a bad deal, please inform us on why you think the Anglo-leasing deal is better since the Gov't of Kenya is still paying for it.

As to how much, when, why teachers are being given so much, I would suggest you do yourself a favour and join a better union.

The Mpigs have one and it seems the teachers have one too.

So the person I will listen to is the one who can explain to me why a gov't should be taken seriously when it refuses to honour a contract it signed.

The government is not refusing to pay. it is only asking for time. and well, i know it has asked for time many more times but this is a new government.... plus, it has a valid point. if you pay increased house allowance for teachers, what do you then do with the rest of the civil servant. From what i know, it has agreed to pay the other allowances.

Plus, above all, can these teachers have performance contracts and can the future salary be based on performance and not strikes and negotiated agreements? This is the only way we can have an effective education system. You do not perform, you pave way for the next teacher on line. Sorry, but it happens to all of us.

my observation has been that Unions, have never been comfortable with having their members on performance contracts. You mention performance contracts and they are on a war path.

Performance contracts are inherently anti union. They target individuals.

How can the government find time? Considering time has value, there must be activities that are 'market oriented'.

A mutual solution has to be designed, not 'negotiated'.

InnovateGuy
#302 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 3:33:27 PM

The issue is not whether or not a teacher deserves commutter allowance or not. Or if he goes to class drunk, or if you feel that you wished you had their job so you can work less hours.

The issue is whether or not the Gov't of Kenya has a signed contract with said teacher's union.

If it does, then it has no choice but to pay up. Otherwise, it will send signals to the rest of the world that the Kenyan gov't doesn't pay its bills.

If you say that this was a bad deal, please inform us on why you think the Anglo-leasing deal is better since the Gov't of Kenya is still paying for it.

As to how much, when, why teachers are being given so much, I would suggest you do yourself a favour and join a better union.

So the person I will listen to is the one who can explain to me why a gov't should be taken seriously when it refuses to honour a contract it signed.

It is unfortunate that the government of the day signed that agreement in the first place. It is also unfortunate that promissory notes were honoured to a non-existent company (Anglo-leasing). Again, it is regrettable that
SRC gave in to the demands by MPs.

Nevertheless,we should not lose sight of the big picture here. The picture is that once the government honours that deal, nurses, doctors, and other civil servants will also come in to demand what the government gives to the teachers. This may not be bad - from a populist perspective because everyone will have a high pay. But, what will this do to the government's wage bill? Definitely, it will be up there.

Do not lose sight of the fact that a huge % of the current budget is being used to fund recurrent expenditures. This means that cash which would otherwise go into development projects, will be used to pay salaries. Is this acceptable in the face of the government debt which exceeds 1 trillion?

Again, the private sector the private sector will be forced to raise their wages to attract and retain talent. In effect, the cost of production will go up. Is this acceptable, considering the fact that we need our goods to be competitive?

I will not even tackle inflation and productivity.

It's good that you support performance contracting. My opinion is that salary increase should be pegged on performance and productivity.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#303 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 3:39:35 PM

People seem to be confusing issues.....if teachers ain't doing their job, that a different issue and their employer should design how to deal with it........as long all the teachers in Kenya are not going to work and somebody is still fixed with CORD.....you've lost it.
#304 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 3:56:40 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

It is unfortunate that the government of the day signed that agreement in the first place. It is also unfortunate that promissory notes were honoured to a non-existent company (Anglo-leasing). Again, it is regrettable that

Nevertheless,we should not lose sight of the big picture here. The picture is that once the government honours that deal, nurses, doctors, and other civil servants will also come in to demand what the government gives to the teachers. This may not be bad - from a populist perspective because everyone will have a high pay. But, what will this do to the government's wage bill? Definitely, it will be up there.

Do not lose sight of the fact that a huge % of the current budget is being used to fund recurrent expenditures. This means that cash which would otherwise go into development projects, will be used to pay salaries. Is this acceptable in the face of the government debt which exceeds 1 trillion?

Again, the private sector the private sector will be forced to raise their wages to attract and retain talent. In effect, the cost of production will go up. Is this acceptable, considering the fact that we need our goods to be competitive?

It's good that you support performance contracting. My opinion is that salary increase should be pegged on performance and productivity.

Innovate, I have no problem with an employer insisting on something being done to provide better services. Actually I think performance contracts are ok.

I personally think the wage bill is too high. I personally feel that this contract wasn't all that good.

BUT

We are talking about contracts and GOV'T contracts at that.

Its a shame that the gov't of the day(s) have been playing volleyball with this. It's also unfortunate that this happened in the 100 days of Jubilee and all that yada yada yada.

BUT

Gov't must pay its contracts.

Failure of any gov't to pay any form of contracts is a slippery slope you don't want to get into.

That is why

Pattni was paid, anglo-leasing is being paid, british gov't is still being paid, who knows what other horrible contracts this gov't and other before it have been paying for.

it's the principle at hand here. And to be honest, whoever started this "negotiations" by thumbing his nose in the teachers faces is the cause of this problem we have.

Even Moi used to go slowly in such matters.

but I guess the euphoria of laptops is making some in gov't think they are infallible.

Firing 200000 people will take this country in places we have never seen. Sure jubilee will look strong, powerful and almighty, BUT.

Let's be wise a bit. Moi talked, Kibaki talked. Even Uhuru should talk. These are Kenyans too and only a stupid man can call teachers CORD as if teachers in nyeri belong to cord.

We respect teachers, I'm sure they will throw a bone back. We call them cord, they hate our new gov't, we shall never talk etc etc and expect failure in the first 100 days.
Museveni
#305 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 4:24:33 PM

See..

Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
For Sport
#306 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 4:25:32 PM

Govt now orders closure of public primary schools indefinitely and suspends teachers salaries.
Total failure
theman192000
#307 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 4:39:46 PM

Its time for the government to play hardball.

They say insanity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. Previous governments have given in to the unions leading to the current high wage bill. There is no guarantee that if the government pays the teachers today they will not go on strike tomorrow demanding higher wages. When will it stop?

I say go the Margaret Thatcher way and dismantle the unions.
For Sport
#308 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 4:51:08 PM

theman192000 wrote:

They say insanity is doing the same thing and expecting different results. Previous governments have given in to the unions leading to the current high wage bill. There is no guarantee that if the government pays the teachers today they will not go on strike tomorrow demanding higher wages. When will it stop?

Why are MPs a special class of people to whom these same rules do not apply?
thuks
#309 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 4:57:35 PM

For Sport wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

These few characters can hold the country for ransom.
I care!
#310 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:06:07 PM

Funga kabisa mpaka next year. We must learn the hard way. If gava gives in, this country is finished. Teachers form the largest number of govt employees. They must be used as an example to forestall any future INSENSITIVE industrial action. I want my country back!
theman192000
#311 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:12:27 PM

For Sport wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

MPs are a special class of people because they are elected by you and me to represent our interests. If they don't perform we can recall them or vote them out at the next parliamentary elections. In addition any increase in salaries passed by Parliament will not accrue to the current lot but to the next Parliament.

Can the same be said for teachers? NO!
Did you elect Sossion? NO!
Does he represent the interests of all Kenyans? NO!
If the government relents will the pay be to the next lot of teachers? NO!

My lords I rest my case.
#312 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:13:23 PM

For Sport wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

If you just think a lil bit harder, you shall realize the pigs belong to an independent arm of govt. What would u expect the executive to do? These are holy pigs! Similarly, it would be unjust to blame jubilee on the mess in the county governance, given their "independence". As for teachers, fimbo. .. chapa.

Meanwhile, was with a cousin teacher of mine{DHM} a while back. Seems like they have thrown in the towel n want to go back to teach.
theman192000
#313 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:18:39 PM

Funga kabisa mpaka next year. We must learn the hard way. If gava gives in, this country is finished. Teachers form the largest number of govt employees. They must be used as an example to forestall any future INSENSITIVE industrial action. I want my country back!

These teachers have no empathy for the millions of children who have no choice but to attend public schools. What measures has the KNUT proposed to improve the quality of education in public schools? At least the doctors had several points on how facilities could be improved for patients.

These teachers need to go back to school themselves! Even the uncontrollable matatu sector was tamed under Michuku.

Kiamenyi kaa ngumu!
theman192000
#314 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:23:30 PM

For Sport wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

If you just think a lil bit harder, you shall realize the pigs belong to an independent arm of govt. What would u expect the executive to do? These are holy pigs! Similarly, it would be unjust to blame jubilee on the mess in the county governance, given their "independence". As for teachers, fimbo. .. chapa.

Meanwhile, was with a cousin teacher of mine{DHM} a while back. Seems like they have thrown in the towel n want to go back to teach.

I agree with you bwana SK. Even Mutungi and Co. determine their own budgets just like at the county level.
For Sport
#315 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:23:52 PM

I bet your kids are not in a public school.
#316 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:31:40 PM

Hehe I'm just from shags, those little fellows are turning the whole village upside down. I feel the heat but I choose to be rational. My country first, my kids next.
theman192000
#317 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:32:36 PM

For Sport wrote:

I bet your kids are not in a public school.

Bwana FS, note that teachers in the public education system are paid using all our collective taxes. Whether SK's kids are in public school or not is immaterial.

In fact if they are in private school he is paying school fees twice!
#318 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:34:21 PM

rryyzz wrote:

The government is not refusing to pay. it is only asking for time. and well, i know it has asked for time many more times but this is a new government.... plus, it has a valid point. if you pay increased house allowance for teachers, what do you then do with the rest of the civil servant. From what i know, it has agreed to pay the other allowances.

Plus, above all, can these teachers have performance contracts and can the future salary be based on performance and not strikes and negotiated agreements? This is the only way we can have an effective education system. You do not perform, you pave way for the next teacher on line. Sorry, but it happens to all of us.

my observation has been that Unions, have never been comfortable with having their members on performance contracts. You mention performance contracts and they are on a war path.

Precisely, because they know most of them do not perform! And they want to remain relevant by seeming to "fight" for all the teachers and not each teacher "fighting" for himself by his performance.

If the government has to pay them, then they can only do us a favour and have this contract in place. This is the time to put it in place. Offer the the pay, put in the performance contract. you either take the pay with performance contract, or the pay remains constant without performance contract... you cant have all. Plus, we as parents we shall support the government on the performance contract.
#319 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:37:42 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

And they same Kenyans cry wolf when they are told that unga has to be taxed??? Strange, huh? Where do Kenyans think the government gets the money to pay salaries? Not from Ruto or Uhuru's pockets...
#320 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:43:08 PM

NURSES gave the govt a 21-day strike notice with effect from 5th July expiring 25th July. Next? Doctors, then perhaps the Civil Servants under UKCS, then the Uni lecturers.

Meanwhile the courts have ruled that the Police force can also have their union.

Soon you will realise Serem became toothless the moment she dined with the pigs at night!!!