wazua Thu, Apr 30, 2026

(Yet) another construction photo journal - Thailand style - A4architect.....look!
Penny-Stocker
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 6:55:36 AM

Hello Wazuans, a friend and colleague of mine recently finished a personal house he was constructing in Thailand...he was kind enough to share his pictures with me and I'm too sharing them with my Wazua family. Look at the way way they construct their foundations. They use anchor points and use concrete panels for the second floor and top it up with a few inches of ballast. I think the foundation system can be very useful and cost saving on clay soil. @A4architect, what do you think of those systems - do we have that kind of const. method in Kenya? Enjoy the pictures! The site Na kupima Kuchimba foundation posts After finishing all the foundation posts/anchors, they place chumas to form the base and pour koroga Then they bring just regular soil and fill it up Now, here are the concrete panels I was talking about. Then they pour a few inches of koroga over that Then they start roofing using aluminum or steel - I like this instead of mbao Then the walling begins Then the plastering begins Up goes the ceiling framing Then the tiling begins Painting begins And the final product = Amazing. Well done Mr. Fries, well done. I can't wait to visit Okay folks, that's it! The guy did a wonderful and commendable work
β€œNone but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:11:56 AM

Excellent ! i have seen 'fairly' similar concept used in construction of office blocks minus of course he foundation bit. I can here my consultant already saying 'Boss punguza hiyo chuma ni nyingi sana' changanya Y8 na Y12..Lol :) will share with my architect friends and QS
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
grolut
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:37:47 AM

Nice smile
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:41:05 AM

Kwani they do not Koroga the floor??? how is that possible??
a4architect.com
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 1:53:03 PM

@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri.../?riflo=spendedfloorroof In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Penny-Stocker
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 3:47:08 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri.../?riflo=spendedfloorroof In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material.
Thanks @A4arch for your expert opinion. I'm digging this idea of suspended floor. I think I'll use that when I put up my retirement house...which won't be too long. May be ill engage your design and arch services, if the price is right. I know exactly what I want just need it to be technically drawn for approval by the municipal or is it county office.
β€œNone but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 4:08:01 PM

Wow!! I'm very much impressed by this.... @a4architect, will give you a call one of these fine days we have a chat...wacha nimalize approvals.
Chaka
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 4:15:10 PM

@Penny-Stocker, Very Nice..how long did the project take i.e from foundation digging to completion?
karqui
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 4:32:20 PM

Chaka wrote:
@Penny-Stocker, Very Nice..how long did the project take i.e from foundation digging to completion?
The duration time is my question too as it is an impressive product without first looking into the costs. As it is so well explained, the location [soils et al] and material availability would be the major issue to go that way, but a good concept top keep in mind.
a4architect.com
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 4:48:05 PM

@penny stocker, welcome. @no stoppingthis, looking forward to your call. The new Nakumat galleria block is using pre engineered construction method which is governed by Chinese/American standards as compared to 99% of kenyan construction tech which is governed by british standards.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.