wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

3 Pages<123
What do u think ails kenya?
Tycoon!
#41 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 9:46:00 AM

We the people are what ails the country. the leadership is a reflection of its people.

The bribe payers index by TI shows obviously that the citizenry have been bribing their way to get services but most importantly to get out of jail. The police are obviously the most corrupt institution,however they are the demand side of bribes while we the people are the supply side.

What needs to change our attitudes and mentality. one simple thing we can all do is avoid breaking the laws(mainly traffic rules) hence you will avoid meeting a policeman/woman who will ask u for a bribe,which u will pay. Baby steps. My assumption is that you will not need to bribe your way out of a police station if u never committed a crime in the first place.

The man/woman that bribes little money today (a few hundred or thousand) will become the politician who will loot the treasury tomorow (a couple million or billion). just like good things are learnt little by little,so are bad habits(which are learnt faster).

IF YOU EVER LOSE,MAKE SURE YOU NEVER LOSE THE LESSON!!
skjay
#42 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 10:30:00 AM

I was tempted to go into some diatribe against our leaders or somebody,coz it's all too easy to do that.

Then I read Wendz' theory and it made a lot of sense. It's really our values that are the problem,but not WE as a people,methinks. If we look without,at societies that can't stand corruption (but no society is really 100% free of it),maybe their value systems can explain things.

What Obi has shared as a viable solution actually resonates as the best hope for a solution to me. Look at the US,they do have their fair share of corruption,but it is NOT tolerated. Those guys should be eternally grateful that they had visionary forefathers such as Benjamin Franklin. And they captured their value systems in their constitution.

What purpose do you think the value system in our constitution tried to capture,bearing in mind it was written by colonialists? I really hope that the re-writing of the constitution will not be hurried and politicized (one can wish,right?) as it is currently our best hope. My two Kenya Shillings...
#43 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 8:48:00 AM

I read in the dailies that the boundaries commisions have rejected cars allocated them by the justice ministry.

THEY WANT NEW CARS!!!!! ......In a snapshot,thats what ails Kenya.

They are claiming that the cars allocated them will not do the distance,how annoying can some people be,how did they determine that the vehicles will not go all the way,are they mechanics.

Why has the minister not asked them to give proof that the cars will not go all the way. Why can't they use them till they fall apart,then ask for replacements.

I am sure the cars allocated to them are newer showroom tropicalised cars unlike the 8 year used imports they drive around in.

Thats not the start we expected,but not surprised.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
kanyambu
#44 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 9:40:00 AM

i support the person who has asked us if we will vote for a worthy leader,even though he/ she aint of my tribe. And just like he said,no one is reday to answer that question.I sure will this time round.

@ fundaah,what u said is true.....we are not ready to support worthy causes,eg that wakenya4change website. Another example,is a thread on football or what we eat in the morning,a lot has being replied to it,what about the mpesa thread,no one has replied. What about the matatu business,or i trying to sell my soap here? very little was forthcoming in terms of advice on how to do business better.
SK though is a good site,and football is leisure and fun,to me too,but as another SKerian said,our country ails because we talk too much and do little or nothing.
kanyambu
#45 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 9:48:00 AM

It just hit me,i just replied to 'what ails kenya',and decided to criticise my thoughts. I'd said that we talk too much and do little,and don't support worthy causes,which here include entrepreneur causes.
Then it hit me,the thread on earthworms....alma needs earthworms now,and could also need them later. I may not supply alma with earthworms now,but in the future. I could hook up with alma,check the sustainability of the project,and soon become an earthworm farmer! I now believe myself,i ail Kenya,for talking too much and doing nothing! Kungojea tu mshahara mwisho wa mwenzi,then,i whine that it is too little!
That reminds me,i saw two earthworms in my kitchen garden yesterday!
Fundaah
#46 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 10:08:00 AM

Kanyambu,its good that you have noticed this ..... Skerians have a peculiar habit of bringing excellent ideas ..... and taking no steps to actualize them.....Very good comments in this thread.. but notice no one except you has commented on the wakenya4change initiative? why ... because it entails commiting oneself.. time and money.....and this is what ails kenya..lack of commitment by kenyans on the ground to bring change....an attitude of 'the govt should do this and that'

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#47 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2009 11:06:00 AM

Simply put,a lack of an identity. What are the values we aspire to?

In the absence of that we lack a timeless bond of unity and shared vision to aspire to.

Solution in my view is unequivically enforcing the rule of law,affirmative action and celebrating our diversity. This law based on a new constitution drafted based on simple,shared values & principles by all communities residing in this great nation whilst at the same time celebrating and appreciating our diversity as one that strengthens not weakens us. Affirmative action in development matters would be there to reasonably support our disadvantaged brothers to become net producers not consumers of local resources.

It begins by refusing to succumb to apathy and characteristic pessimism but instead living by these ideals,encouraging the same &identifying leaders who aspire to the same selfless goals to implement the same.