wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

7 Pages<12345>»
subaru forester
seppuku
#41 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 6:51:56 AM

@guru me, I beg to differ. Forester IS Subaru. ALL 4WD Barus use Symmetrical AWD. All 4 wheels are constantly powered, with how much power channeled to each varying depending on the traction there.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
tuvok
#42 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:42:29 AM

Useful discussion. Agree with @seppuku that the Subaru's are AWD, with all wheels powered each with varying power depending on traction, unlike the Honda CR-V, where if 4WD, just means that by default its 2WD, but 4WD gets engaged if terrain changes.
tuvok
#43 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:52:37 AM

For the stats buffs: Subaru 2.0 XT SG5 typically at 220 bhp (unless tuned), Outback 2.5 172 BHP, 3.0R 256 BHP, the newer Outbacks have a 3.6L at a similar output, Mark X 2004-2009 250G at 212 BHP, 300G at 253 BHP. There's a limited supercharged Mark X 300G at 316BHP. The 2009 Mark X also has a 3.5L engine available instead of 3.0 at 305hp. The Imprezza 1.5L is underpowered though, its body is rather heavy at 1200kg+ i think it was. Not a Mark X fan though myself, even though it shares engines with various Lexus models. I'd much prefer the Toyota Crown Royal...
#44 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:07:41 AM

Gathige wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Would appreciate honest reviews from wazuans on the midsize SUV's [Honda, Forrester, Nissan Xtrail and RAV 4]
I have three friends One drives a Honda CRV , Mwingine an Xtrail and the third one a Subaru addict. Now each swears that theirs is the best choice and would never touch any other brands- well except the xtrail guy who moans excessive fuel consumption... My Honda pal has had like three Honda while the Forrester guy started with like two imprezas before graduating to forresters- he's had two... what is is that addicts?

How do wazuans rank these cars (ranked withe the king at no 1)
I have seen Kia Sportage and Ford something i can remember the name
PS test drove a Forrester an I think Subarus are overrated!

@Siringi, I add to the Mid SUV's Toyoya Harrier. It has a smooth ride, very comfortable while driving, a good sound system and the pick-up is very fast. Lakini it is a guzzler

@Gathige in my opinion, Harrier is in a different category from the four listed.

@Siringi about the SUVs, I assume you meant Honda CRV... This my opinion:

1. Honda CRV
- most spacious
- most stable (have you ever seen one rolled?)
- consumption competitive with VVTEC technology
- has status/class
- not darling of thieves
- most durable
- resale value very high
- but parts are more expensive
Although, parts are more expensive, they last forever (literally)

2. Forester
- moderately spacious
- moderately stable (but misused by people who roll with them once in while, that tells you who are the common owners)
- guzzler especially the turbo
- not sure about the status/class, but it's favourite of the young generation (I don't know why, coud be the sound and power?)
- moderately durable
- cheaper to buy (you cab save upto 1/2 mita i.e. sh500K compared to CRV/RAV4)
- resale value low (you can sell you Forester for months before you get a buyer)
- although the parts are expensive, they last longer than RAV-4 and ofcourse X-Trail

3. RAV-4
- very squeezed (try the back seats and wore unto you if you are a tall person)
- moderately stable
- most economical
- moderate status/class
- darling of thieves given that it is a Toyota
- moderately durable
- highly overrated to buy (you can pay over sh500K compared to Forester)
- high resale value (you can sell it in a day due to above point, overated)
- although parts cheaper because of many, many imitations in the market, they last less longer than CRV and Forester

4. Nissan X-trail
- moderately spacious
- moderately stable
- slightly guzzler than Honda
- has status/class
- least durable
- resale value very low (you can sell it for years unless throw away price)
- parts are both expensive and last shorter

So make your choice. smile d'oh!

To me,
- take Honda if you have the money and want to have the car until you give it to your grand children
- or Forester if your pocket is a bit squeezed but some for maintenance
- or RAV-4 if you want to sell it quickly at some time in future
- or X-Trail if you want to replace it in less than 10 years as scrap meatal

@AlphaDoti et al, and the Sukuzi Escudo? How does it compare to Honda CRV, Rav4, Forrester and the X-Trail?
#45 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:18:29 AM

jguru wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Would appreciate honest reviews from wazuans on the midsize SUV's [Honda, Forrester, Nissan Xtrail and RAV 4]
I have three friends One drives a Honda CRV , Mwingine an Xtrail and the third one a Subaru addict. Now each swears that theirs is the best choice and would never touch any other brands- well except the xtrail guy who moans excessive fuel consumption... My Honda pal has had like three Honda while the Forrester guy started with like two imprezas before graduating to forresters- he's had two... what is is that addicts?

@Siringi, I add to the Mid SUV's Toyoya Harrier. It has a smooth ride, very comfortable while driving, a good sound system and the pick-up is very fast. Lakini it is a guzzler

@Gathige in my opinion, Harrier is in a different category from the four listed.

@Siringi about the SUVs, I assume you meant Honda CRV... This my opinion:

1. Honda CRV
- most spacious
- most stable (have you ever seen one rolled?)
- consumption competitive with VVTEC technology
- has status/class
- not darling of thieves
- most durable
- resale value very high
- but parts are more expensive
Although, parts are more expensive, they last forever (literally)

2. Forester
- moderately spacious
- moderately stable (but misused by people who roll with them once in while, that tells you who are the common owners)
- guzzler especially the turbo
- not sure about the status/class, but it's favourite of the young generation (I don't know why, coud be the sound and power?)
- moderately durable
- cheaper to buy (you cab save upto 1/2 mita i.e. sh500K compared to CRV/RAV4)
- resale value low (you can sell you Forester for months before you get a buyer)
- although the parts are expensive, they last longer than RAV-4 and ofcourse X-Trail

3. RAV-4
- very squeezed (try the back seats and wore unto you if you are a tall person)
- moderately stable
- most economical
- moderate status/class
- darling of thieves given that it is a Toyota
- moderately durable
- highly overrated to buy (you can pay over sh500K compared to Forester)
- high resale value (you can sell it in a day due to above point, overated)
- although parts cheaper because of many, many imitations in the market, they last less longer than CRV and Forester

4. Nissan X-trail
- moderately spacious
- moderately stable
- slightly guzzler than Honda
- has status/class
- least durable
- resale value very low (you can sell it for years unless throw away price)
- parts are both expensive and last shorter

So make your choice. smile d'oh!

To me,
- take Honda if you have the money and want to have the car until you give it to your grand children
- or Forester if your pocket is a bit squeezed but some for maintenance
- or RAV-4 if you want to sell it quickly at some time in future
- or X-Trail if you want to replace it in less than 10 years as scrap meatal

@AlphaDoti et al, and the Sukuzi Escudo? How does it compare to Honda CRV, Rav4, Forrester and the X-Trail?

You cannot compare Escudo with these 4 (Honda CRV, Rav4, Forrester and the X-Trail). Escudo is not in the same class. Scudo is way below them.

Escudo is comparatively lighter than all of them and handling is roughter than all of them.

Try it on rough roads and you'll not enjoy the cabin noise and the shaking.

But you can have it as first car. Resale value is also low.

NOTE: I heard that Suzuki have stopped producing these cars. There is looming trouble for the owners in the future.
accelriskconsult
#46 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:48:42 AM

Alphadoti...

In fact the Subaru Forester is one of the most stable cars (its not an SUV) that come reasonably priced.

Among all those cars you have compared, it would rate 9/10 on stability whereby RAV 4 would be the worst at 5/10, CRV 6/10, XTrail 7/10.

About fuel consumption it all depends on how you apply your foot to the pedal. Below speeds of 120 kph there should be no noticeable difference between all those cars granted that the engine size is the same capacity.

I have tried them all .
seppuku
#47 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:03:08 PM

tuvok wrote:
For the stats buffs: Subaru 2.0 XT SG5 typically at 220 bhp (unless tuned), Outback 2.5 172 BHP, 3.0R 256 BHP, the newer Outbacks have a 3.6L at a similar output, Mark X 2004-2009 250G at 212 BHP, 300G at 253 BHP. There's a limited supercharged Mark X 300G at 316BHP. The 2009 Mark X also has a 3.5L engine available instead of 3.0 at 305hp. The Imprezza 1.5L is underpowered though, its body is rather heavy at 1200kg+ i think it was. Not a Mark X fan though myself, even though it shares engines with various Lexus models. I'd much prefer the Toyota Crown Royal...

You're right about the 1.5L Impreza. Always baffles me that they found it sensible to stick such a small motor into such a heavy car. The 2.0L versions are rather hard to find in Japan. In the UK, even 2.5 is an easy find, I think even easier than a 2.0.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
gesowan
#48 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 6:14:51 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
Alphadoti...

In fact the Subaru Forester is one of the most stable cars (its not an SUV) that come reasonably priced.

Among all those cars you have compared, it would rate 9/10 on stability whereby RAV 4 would be the worst at 5/10, CRV 6/10, XTrail 7/10.

About fuel consumption it all depends on how you apply your foot to the pedal. Below speeds of 120 kph there should be no noticeable difference between all those cars granted that the engine size is the same capacity.

I have tried them all .

wao...so Subaru is the lion??
tuvok
#49 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 4:15:07 PM

I find the Australian car reviews useful mostly because they have somewhat similar conditions to ours(at least for their non tarmac roads :) ).
Check out this - http://www.caradvice.com...rav4-vs-nissan-x-trail/

The Vitara/Escudo has a low range 4WD box ... useful off road in some conditions.
gesowan
#50 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 8:02:07 PM

tuvok wrote:
I find the Australian car reviews useful mostly because they have somewhat similar conditions to ours(at least for their non tarmac roads :) ).

The Vitara/Escudo has a low range 4WD box ... useful off road in some conditions.

just read and i quote"Conclusion:

As I said at the beginning of this comparison, all three of these cars offer excellent choices for different people. If you want my advice, the Subaru Forester is the most ideal thanks to its masculine looks, ride and handling, build quality and safety features
"
need i say more
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:37:39 AM

Siringi wrote:

KIA? I have no confidence with these cars.... I know someone who bought a KIA Sorento LX 4dr SUV (3.5L) from Showroom. Before 6 months were over, we took a long drive (not too long for a big car) and in the middle of no where, the Engine check light came up. The engine lost power and we pulled up on the roadside. By the time we were coming to a complete stop, the engine just went dead. So we sat there for some 30 mins or so wondering what to do but still enjoying the views (they were amazing and it was early morning). When we got back to the car, it started fine, the light was gone and we went through the rest of the journey without any problem. but the problem kept reoccuring and going off. When we asked the dealer he said it is something to do with some software and they'd look into it. since then, it has been on and off, sometimes the breaklights etc. And the resale value around is so poor comparing with other similar vehicles (toyotas and the like). If you buy this one, you better be in love with it because you wont dispose it off easily.
#52 Posted : Monday, July 15, 2013 4:20:26 PM

tuvok wrote:

Laughing out loudly A pal in a Vitara was scrapped by a tuk tuk. replacement of wing - CMC charged Kshs 600K and took 2 months to import! Sad Yaani Vitz/Ist mzima iliingia hapo--- thank God Insurance picked the tab... Bure kabisa
#53 Posted : Monday, July 15, 2013 5:45:09 PM

gesowan wrote:
tuvok wrote:

just read and i quote"Conclusion:

As I said at the beginning of this comparison, all three of these cars offer excellent choices for different people. If you want my advice, the Subaru Forester is the most ideal thanks to its masculine looks, ride and handling, build quality and safety features
"
need i say more

Rav4 for me anytime. I find the forester too ugly and low, looks like a big ugly station wagon.
gesowan
#54 Posted : Monday, July 15, 2013 11:48:26 PM

Rav4 for me anytime. I find the forester too ugly and low, looks like a big ugly station wagon. [/quote]

no offence but the car is for real men...Rav4 is feminine
#55 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 3:04:59 AM

@jaggernaut agreed 100% when you factor driver sitting position and relative location of the pedals Forrester is too low and does not play in the same league with Xtrail Honda CRV and Rav4. The subaru is a slighly large and more powerful station wagon.
wanyee
#56 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 8:56:08 AM

Subaru is a poor man's Ferrari
Ngong
#57 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 10:50:54 AM

Anyone help calculate customs duty for this Subaru:
SUBARU LEGACY B4 2007/4
Sedan
2000 cc
AT
I get very discouraging figures when I use the customs calculator.
While there whats the difference between FAT/AT?
iMANI
#58 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 1:29:23 PM

Ngong wrote:
SUBARU LEGACY B4 2007/4
Sedan
2000 cc
AT

That's 6 years...so duty would be approx 14.023% of the CRSP (Kes 4,787,526) equals Kes 671,354

Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

iMANI
#59 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 1:34:06 PM

iMANI wrote:
Ngong wrote:
SUBARU LEGACY B4 2007/4
Sedan
2000 cc
AT

That's 6 years...so duty would be approx 14.023% of the CRSP (Kes 4,787,526) equals Kes 671,354

and remember to add the new duty for RDL at 1.5% which is approx Kes 13,207...total duty would be close to 700K

Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

Ngong
#60 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 1:47:49 PM

iMANI wrote:
Ngong wrote:
SUBARU LEGACY B4 2007/4
Sedan
2000 cc
AT

and remember to add the new duty for RDL at 1.5% which is approx Kes 13,207...total duty would be close to 700K

Thanks man,l was getting such figures could not believe it!
So 700K + USD 5400 = 1.2M