wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

What do u think ails kenya?
Mosby
#21 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 11:03:00 AM

Our education system...

We spend too much time learning irrelevant stuff in school (photosynthesis in class 5,fish n frog digestive and respiratory systems in form 2 e.t.c)that we have no time to think critically about our problems and come up with solutions to them ndio kila wakati we need mzungu to come tell us what is wrong in our country and what we need to do about it. Ndio pia we elect poor leaders after they feed us with eutopic visions of a post-election Kenya.

There is also not enough emphasis on patriotism and morality (e.g anti-corruption) in our curriculums. Belief that only formal education should feed us leads to frustration among those that were created to do other stuff,(like curve,paint,play sports e.t.c) leading to social vices like drug abuse.

I could go on and on but bottom line,It will take a whole generation to change Kenya if we change our system now!..

:::
#22 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 11:14:00 AM

@ magigi

here are some of the few things that WE do that we should not do....

We elect leaders who are full of scandals hanging on their backs and keep electing them again and again. What is so difficult in denying them our votes???

We have this peculiar habit of all the time wanting to be led by the white hair morons and ignore our young energetic potential citizenry. The slogan 'vijana ndio viongozi wa kesho' is all chickenshit!.....Why do we find it so difficult to elect young leaders?

We like money so much that we would better sell our votes rather than enduring the scorching sun and heavy downpours and ensure that we end up with responsible and visionary leaders. We sell our votes for only 1 or 2 meals worth and then after that till the next general election we are on our own. Are we going to die of starvation by not selling the votes for the 2 meals???

We have perfected the art of listening to the forcehoods being peddled by our leaders. Surely if we have lived in the same neighbourhood for more than forty years,why is it so easy for a pig to come from nowhere and in ten minutes he has fully convinced me that you have been my enemy all along despite having shared all that there is to share in life,joys and grief or tribulations with my neighbours...that is idiocy!!!

We have also been made to believe (by the same leaders) that the extent of our social disintegration and communal divisions are way beyond repair and therefore should maintain the status quo for the sake of peace...Again this is hogwash...We did it before and we can do it again and remain a united people for a long,long,long time....

We including you know the solution,but we always pretend that we dont know and we are waiting for someone to do it for us....damn WE!!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
mtaalam
#23 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 11:19:00 AM

Poverty. It all comes down to poverty. Think about it.

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
Fundaah
#24 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 11:26:00 AM

And the youth of the country have accepted the tag of 'viongozi was kesho'

I'm saying this because a guy called alma started a website for coordination of the youth in preparation for 2012 election by the name wakenya4change.org

http://www.stockskenya.c...?stk=1002&top=12694

.....guys here showed too much interest .........but they failed to support the initiative ......it starved to death due to lack of financial support.......Many of us here have very good ideas ..they remain just that ..IDEAS........they are just too slow to act....THEY WILL REMAIN VIONGOZI WA KESHO FOREVER....AND they will complain till the end of time...that's how we are doomed.

Way foward ....

support any good initiative that is likely to bring positive results to the society.... seek leadership positions when an opportunity arises....YES WE MUST.

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
xtina
#25 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 11:47:00 AM

@ Mr Tea
Spot on. Methinks we are just a reflection of our leaders. In public most of us condemn tribalism but the minute we are around family members or 'correct' people that's when the daggers come out. And this culture of blaming politicians and we are the ones who voted them in.
If Mahatma Gandhi was here,he would probably tell us: Each person (I) must be the change i want to see. Not we,just I.
My suggestion: Ministries be run by professionals,not politicians.
Chaka
#26 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 12:24:00 PM

@mtaalam,

There are many poor people in india but it is a more progressive country.

Me thinks our electoral system needs to be overhauled so that the rich Mpigs do not

keep rigging their way to parliament by buying votes( both literally and from their opponents supporters and then destroying the cards).Its a vicious cycle,i.e once a person is perceived to have money (s)he automatically becomes a leader(the good book says the love of money is the root of all evil i.e not money per se) irrespective of where the money came from.

Young good leaders cannot make it because of the above
gk
#27 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 12:28:00 PM

......am not persuaded that the situation in this great nation is any much different from many other developing economies in the world. Indeed,even the most advanced societies on this planet have had some darker days in the past and even today.

.......perhaps we are just more inclined to whine all the time and blame the govt,Mpigs,kanju,police traffic jam etc etc while our peers out there look for solutions.

...dont laugh......but i believe in V2030.

skinny
#28 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 12:28:00 PM

u call stupidity(pumbavu) whining then i can't begin to understand us. Am sure we have potential leaders in this forum they are just scared to step up. i promise to back you up

mtaa do wat?
caesar
#29 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 1:23:00 PM

My take is people.

They sometimes give birth to many children whom they cannot provide for yet claim to be 'the poor'.

They get employed just to rob their bosses instead of feeling engaged to buiding sustainable employment.

They get seeds that grow faster and yet bring alot of opposition.

They murder the most progressive of their society make society unlivable because of insecurity.

Most of the youth are idlers,they drink changaa and hang around shopping centers all day long.

In civil service they hang coats and leave the office instead of focusing on service delivery and future goals.

Self interest,from the laborer to the president everybody is selfish,even preachers they just want to get rich.

In short most Kenyans are held back by their attitudes towards life,bred in frustrations and survival.
juliani
#30 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 2:20:00 PM

@Dear kenyans

i'm humbled by all your postings...Its true We are deeply concerned by the situation and direction this country is taking...if i may ask u at a personal level..r u willing to Vote for that man/woman who has progressive ideas even if he/she is not from your tribe?R u and will u be willing to do that come 2012?

watoto wengi ni Probleme
waswa
#31 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2009 2:26:00 PM

@juliani
Good Question...How many of us will be willing to vote for a progressive and pragmatist leader even if he/she aint from our tribe?I can see the likes of mukiha..njung'e,tusker baridi running for the shadows..coz that would surely make them sick..they would rather vote for a dying Tribesman than vote for an outsider..Methinks coz of tibalism,we kenyans can and will never stand as one..Mchana mtakuwa Pamoja,usiku wataongea lugha yao na kupanga njama kuhijack hiyo idea ama kusaliti wenye idea...i'm being a realist,not a doomsayer...

rather cry inside a lamborgini,than laugh inside a Startlet
money maker
#32 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2009 5:25:00 AM

What ails Kenya is the PEOPLE. We are the reason why our country is moving back wards . We as a people do not think much about ourselves. We do not value ourselves .I have been blessed to travel outside our countries boundaries and i have seen how people who love their country live.We all claim to love our country but we never seem to want to do the sacrifices that are needed to make it a better place.We are the problem.Our leaders are just an extension of me and you.Like John F Kennedy said' Ask not what the country can do for you,Ask what you can do for the country'. I love that quote.Americans followed that path to become the most powerful nation. Even as we speak with all the economic turmoil in the world.I have never seen an other people who love their country the way the do.

HOPE IS NOT A STRATEGY FOR INVESTING
nanfor
#33 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2009 7:11:00 AM

What ails Kenya is obvious from this board posts.

At your age and being able to type,why should you even think or even talk about tribe? If all you do is wonder why 'other tribes' vote for their tribes,that is the problem. You should be more concerned about who you vote for and try and convince those around you that your point of view is correct.

A democracy means that one votes for whom they are comfortable with. If it means sex,money,tribe or any other stupid or real criteria,that is what you call a democracy. Kenyans are too hung up on trying to vote like other democracies and that is a fallacy. Some white people could never vote for Obama even if he was oozing icecream from his ass.

That is democracy. It is upto the leader who wishes to lead to convince the electorate that they are worth it. It is upto those that support such a leader to organise for such a person to win an election. Now you tell me one Kenyan leader who has done so. Better yet,what have you done for Kenya lately?

When the electorate will decide that they want a good leader,they will get one. It is not God who produces one,it is the electorate.

Having seen some of the posts on the link that fundah gave,it is easy to see that the electorate is still stupid,to be gracious with my words.

Obama was not elected by people at sk complaining about 'their' gov't but by people who woke up and did something about it. When given an opportunity to do something,YOU will run.

The problem in Kenya is simple for me to see.

People talk too much in Kenya and do very little.
#34 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2009 10:00:00 AM

Good people,

My take. nothing ails our beloved country than our lack of ownership of it. If you and I actually recognise that HII KENYA NI YETU then everything will change. We have handed over this country to everyone else but us. We fight and accuse the MPs,we argue and let the Ambassadors advise us.. an idiot dumps garbage on the road and we say 'hiyo ni kazi ya NCC' guys organise and rob an entire village and we blame the GOK,Mungiki etc yet we facilitated it... FUNGUENI Macho and take back YOUR country. It not about the young or the old,the rich or poor or this or that tribe. Why should you live in filth just because you live in a slum? why do we accept to be insulted by others? e.g why go from your home to heckle the PM and/ or President at Nyayo. Just stay home and let us see who they address? mbona uende ukatukanwe huko? We need to have respect for ourselves people. If we don't then we are going down!!!
#35 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:03:00 AM

Wendz,Kaiganjo et al
Now,the leaders we have are not elected by the people. Moi was in power for 24 years. Nobody wanted him there,except his ethnic community. You all know what happened to those who dared him. I have said before that our leaders use all the crude methods to put themselves in power. The events of early this year are clear to everybody. Those who had the power used it to maintain the status quo. How many people died and others injured fighting for a change? Many. Who were they fighting? The same leaders are the ones taking advantage of illiterate and old men and women to vote for them through crooked means. Bribery,food etc is all taken to very poor communities to get votes. People in Kenya do not choose their leaders. The leaders impose themselves on the people.

Regarding corruption and stuff,Kenyans have chosen to follow the path of their leaders. Leaders are supposed to show people the way,lead them to a vision,a goal. Instead of these guys doing all these things,they have chosen to spend most of the time arguing and looting from the government. What do you expect the kawaida mwananchi to do&hellip;follow their footsteps. Let me ask,why do people choose to lynch a chicken thief instead of handing him over to the police for prosecution. Simple. The people know that the justice system is unfair and corrupt and if the thief is handed over to the police,two days later he will be seeing walking around looking for the remaining chicken. You and me,are we the Chief Justice,are we the judges. Are we the ones appointing the heads of parastatals.

Look at this simple example. As a father I want my son to grow up being responsible. I have to ask him to help me clear the table after lunch or dinner. That way he will grow up knowing that washing dishes and clearing the table is not just the work of the h/help or his sister or his mother. I have to teach him by example. If our half dead president can not do anything about those who are corrupt what do you expect of the commoners? The office attendants will be walking home with staplers,toilet papers etc. Teachers will steal and sell textbooks etc.

OUR LEADERS ARE THE PROBLEM

Kaiganjo: Kubafu&hellip;&hellip;..
waswa
#36 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:22:00 AM

@waigigi
i support you...Precise explanation...We are the f***in problem people...Someone asked,R U AND WILL U B WILLING TO VOTE FOR THAT PROGRESSIVE POLITICIAN WITH WORTHY IDEAS EVEN IF HE/SHE IS NOT FROM YOUR TIBE?And guess what...Not a f***in person has bothered to answer that question..Tell u why we eat tribalism

rather cry inside a lamborgini,than laugh inside a Startlet
Mundu-mugo
#37 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 8:26:00 AM

And this is what will befall on them... continue in the old testament i dont remember which book

We are busy chasing gods of miracles,planting seeds to prosper materially,worshipping dead gods,gods begotten by human beings,AND THE GOD OF OURFOREFATHERS HAS FORESAKEN US

muthuri mwanake
#38 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 9:11:00 AM

Our problem is not leadership or lack off. And we as kenyans are certainly not the problem. Our problem is simply the archaic colonial system that our laws are set in.

Our countries foundations are still set in a system that was designed to keep the leadership in power perpetually and the majority poor. For example our current president inherited the system directly from the colonialists,UK,RAO,Kalonzo,Saitoti,Ruto,Mudavadi and most of our influencial leaders inherited powers from their fathers or surrogate fathers

We change the sysytems and we should have a chance to improve our collective lot as a nation.

We need to stop obsessing with elections,those take place once every 5 years. What we need to concentrate on are our laws which are with us perpetually.

I am really looking forward to the constitutional review. If it happens,it will be the first step to redemption for Kenya. Finger crossed.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#39 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 9:30:00 AM

@ magigi,

A cow is always a cow no matter the viewing angle....WE will always remain the problem...hinderance to our own development and progress...like i said before WE mess up things,dont take responsibility and look for a scapegoat to point our fingers to...lest you forget those leaders are included in WE...they do not put themselves there but with our assistance. Period!!!!!

do you know why the principal pig called you kubafu bure????

#40 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2009 9:31:00 AM

@ magigi,

A cow is always a cow no matter the viewing angle....WE will always remain the problem...hinderance to our own development and progress...like i said before WE mess up things,dont take responsibility and look for a scapegoat to point our fingers to...lest you forget those leaders are included in WE...they do not put themselves there but with our assistance. Period!!!!!

do you know why the principal pig called you kubafu bure????