wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

What constitutes a bad marriage?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 6:06:00 AM

Just listening to Maina and Kingang'i on classic fm on why Kenyan women are afraid to leave bad marriages. What makes a bad marriage? Is it a husband who always comes home late or drinks? At what point is a marriage considered to be miserable?

#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 6:09:00 AM

Stop listening to stage managed nonsense on our FMs and you will be a happy man/woman.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

jammo
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 6:12:00 AM

A bad marriage is constituted by the very same things that make a good marriage...a husband and a wife.

..if it is not expressly prohibited in law.. DO IT!!!!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 6:45:00 AM

I concur with Impunity. This FM shows are stage managed - especially the ones on classic FM. A lady will go,'I cheat on my husband.... As a matter of fact I have three boyfriends and my third born was fathered by my second boyfriend but my husband is not aware... bla bla...'. Give me a break!!! Coz the hubby,all his friends,relatives,neighbours etc. etc. don't listen to radio? The voices of the callers are so clear if it was anyone you knew you wouldn't fail to recognize them. And don't bother to call to give a different opinion. Those calls are recorded and they will play only what they think will keep ratings up! As they say,controversy sells!!!

As Impunity said,all these FM discussions are stage managed crap and it's high time SKerians stopped extending these discussions to this forum. SKerians are far much smarter than that. I'm sure they can all make this shows for what they are - A lorry load of crap meant to keep ratings up. But I stand to be collected!!!
Mr.Tea
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:17:00 AM

Whether or not these discussions are stage managed,I think they do help in highlighting legitimate concerns in our society which need to be addressed. Shirking the responsibility of confronting issues that keep arising in our society is no better than behaving like the proverbial Ostrich. Now,I don't subscribe to the thinking that there is such a thing as a bad marriage only a failed one. IMHO a marriage fails when one or both partners give up on the institution.All marriages are a work in progress regardless of past successes.They fail when we stop trying.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:19:00 AM

......so I guesse every FM station has a full time department mandated to stage manage shows every day 24/7.......very bright indeed,wat are their qualifications!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:37:00 AM

@ mr tea,you're the only one who's discussing the real issue at hand. The topic is not about fm stations but on the institution of marriage. Your response is quite sober

Kwanini
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 7:49:00 AM

sasa nyie,mwataka maina atoe chapa ya dowry wapi? If it bleeds it sells!

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:03:00 AM

drinking does not destroy marriage,alcoholic pple do.
*if i love sleeping around it does not mean i dont love my family!!*

wishes to inform the citizens of Kenya,in the light of your failure to elect a competent President for the past 46 years,and thus failure to govern yourselves,I hereby give notice of the revocation of your independence...
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:09:00 AM

McReggae - Qualifications are: a bit of creativity - not too much,some knowledge on psychology - understanding what might appeal to the masses and how they would react to a certain topic. Again,no psychology degree required. Just hang out with people and listen to what they discuss. And one more thing,don't be too smart. Your logical analysis of issues might mess up the show!!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:20:00 AM

Maichblack: lol

......my take on this is that whether manipulated or not,most of these stuff raised and discussed in the FM stations are happening in real life kwanza hapa in Nairobi,unless I am living in a different world!!!!!

Can anybody who works for any radio station please expound on how this manipulation is done!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 8:36:00 AM

@mc.....u r living in a different world for real.Yaani these things happen where u live?Am so sorry for you.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

jaribu
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:04:00 AM

Of course most of these shows are stage managed and some callers are just employees in the next room who are paid to stoke up the fires when they 'phone in'. I know that... coz I've had a brief stint in the media. This does not mean that what is being discussed does not happen,of course it does. We still have wife beaters,alcoholics,gold diggers etc. But most of the shows are just stage managed to highlight everyday challeges and issues. How on earth can you be handsome,earning a cool 500k and yet claim you can't get a wife so you need Maina Kageni to assist you? What crap! The trick is,pull in more listeners,publicize the shows,get in advertisers and endorsements and all that translates to more cash in the bank....easy!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
#14 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:21:00 AM

@ Jaribu....... Why should they call from the next room? Why dont they just sit next to Maina in the studio and pretend to be calling?

My take is that its only the first call which could be stage managed in order to have a topic of discussion for the day. The rest of the calls are from bitter callers with real issues. Some of the calls from the real callers are sometimes used as topics of discussion for the following day.

WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
Chaka
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:26:00 AM

How do advertizers determine radio listenership i.e figures?How many people tune into

classic in the morning compared to other stations?
Mtu Biz
#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:31:00 AM

What constitutes a bad marriage? The couple listening and laughing along to that relentless torrent of hog wash from maina kageni and co everyday in morning traffic

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

#17 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:32:00 AM

Mwenza,you are right........kwani guyz have never realized times when the caller gets out of topic,sometimes even becomes abusive and the call has to be cut short!!!.....problem some guys think we live in that perfect n calm world!!!!!!

#18 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:51:00 AM

@ McReggae........ U r right

@ Mtu biz......I beg to differ; Not everything Maina Kageni discusses is hogwash......Though its true,sometimes it takes alot of nerves to listen to the show together with your partner because sometimes the issues raised affects you directly.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 9:58:00 AM

@ Shak.........sorry for hijacking your thread with extraneous matters.......But the issue of bad marriages is a very tricky one because am yet to come across a perfect marriage........................IMHO,marriage is about making sacrifices and it only ceases to function when no partner is willing to cede ground to the other

#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2009 10:42:00 AM

@ mwenza,you haven't hijacked the thread. Everyone else is out of topic!