wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

K24 and KSPCA
#1 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 6:56:00 AM

K24 aired a feature over the weekend on the rearing of guinea pigs or some similar looking animals for meat in western kenya. They then went on to air the process of killing these adorable looking creatures. Apparently they club them on the head repeatedly till they die. The fact that they do this and even aired it upset me a lot. Is there anything kspca can do to stop this or am i just a hopeless animal lover?

Djinn
#2 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 7:15:00 AM

I was also appalled to see that - I caught the feature halfway and first thought they were rearing them as pets (and as an early warning system for snakes,rats,etc) - poor things - but I guess people have to eat - after all,some people eat rabbits.....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
swaleh
#3 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 7:45:00 AM

Hopeless animal lover.
swaleh
#4 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 7:46:00 AM

Hopeless animal lover.
The Real Shaft
#5 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 7:49:00 AM

rabbit in chilli sauce ...

with sima.... locally known as ugali.....

its a meal to kill for.....

kill the rabbit i mean....

but can not understand what the holla balloooo is for......

goats are pets in US....

rabbits are a menace in Southern Pacific countries...

no known predator...

there they cull and destroy...

and make pet food....

no wonder their dogs look like ....

fattened calves.....

any wonder why the Chinese love dogs...

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
#6 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 8:03:00 AM

Shak....

This is Africa and not the US where even house flies have rights. People have to eat....

life is too short to blend in
gkchege
#7 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 8:06:00 AM

Hey,I didn't see anything strange with that. We've been 'finishing' rabbits and hares this very way since way back as I can remember. Do we need the mzungu to tell us the right way to do this?

Should there be some form of 'civilised' slaughtering? Well,check this

Kuku - Kata shingo after kukanyaga miguu na kushika mabawa poa isiponyoke
Mbuzi - Tie the miguu and use a very sharp knife to cut throat
Rabbit - One proper blow right behind the head and it's ready to cut throat...

now,suggest better ways,please. I wouldn't mind eating the kuku after showing it some mercy....or the goat,or the sunguch!....
#8 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 8:56:00 AM

I don't think my love for animals is mzunguish. I just wish that they could handle them in a less cruel manner

#9 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:03:00 AM

.Many years back,i used to rear those things (Tunyuru) under my bed and i didn't know they were a delicacy until now.Let's blame it on global warming.

Yombo dhier....!!
Eddiemundu
#10 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 11:41:00 AM

I also luv animals man..dont even like eating chicken that ive seen being murdered..

Guinie Pigz are lovely and i ones met them @ the show ground as a kid..i did put my index finger inside their cage for curiosity..man..those things are fast..their reflex is 100 times faster than a boy's..it Hit my finger with its Fangs and i was lucky it wasnt severed..

@Njung'e

I can imagine those Pigz were urinating on you and yu must have been ponging like Shaitani..

M'c Kende Siafu !
#11 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 11:43:00 AM

@gchege

My brothers used to twist the chicken's neck till the throat cuts! then they use the knife... i used to find it so cruel I couldnt even look at them doing it though i would be the first one with a plate when the meat is ready!!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
adept
#12 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 12:10:00 PM

You hopeless animal lover.

I cannot understand all this emotion on how an animal is killed. Actually,I consider eating an animal a worse act of savagery. So if you are going to eat the thing,you may as well kill it anyhow. The end justifies the means siyo?
Riddler
#13 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 12:52:00 PM

For all those who say that it doesnt matter how the animal is killed....at the end you just want the meat...its not fair. Just look at the video http://www.peta.org/feat...ineseFurFarms/index.asp

(WARNING:PLEASE NOTE THAT THE VIDEO IS NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED)