Sim card holders to be registered
I think access to the IDs database should be restricted to state agencies.
Similarly,primary access to the details of customers should be restricted to mobile phone companise,with the requirement for the service providers to provide information to state security agents on a case by case.
It's also time ro rethink the usefulness of the ID.
Everyday!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/5/2009 Posts: 117 Location: Taehan Minkook.
I think since the gov't has a register of all the ID-holders/Passport holders [both locals and foreigners],what the Ministry of I&C should do is get all that data from Kajwang's Ministry,and put it in their system [the less sensitive personal info] and then share that through a secure network,with all the SIM cards vendors and service providers[Safcom,Zain,Yu,Orange etc]. If you got fake ID or impersonating,you get busted in an instant. It would be really hard to beat the system since the SIM card will be traceable to the vendor. When i see my purple,you see it not. when i see my purple, you see it not!
That is the only logical thing that has come out this Government since its formation. All serious countries do demand details of a person before he or she can be issued with a simcard.
wote
Whats the purpose of all this,MK and the gava should have more on their plate. Maybe they should give some directive about the Hague,ICC etc. Not 'registration of simcards' @wote,I have a pay as you go simcard and I am in the UK,nobody asked me for anything apart from the money for the sim. I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
@Eddie Mu.... this has nothing to do with MJ its MK! it will be very difficult to deactivate lines,considering these companies are in business. Again how can u tell that a sim-card holder is not registered? The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown
of what ? about what ? for what value? ( Quoting some former CJ)...
Feasible ? yes ! but six months to comply ? NO,That time is just too little. We will be forced to form long ques outside Safcom,Orange,Zain offices armed with ID and SIM card.
The president was just making a speech period! Pardon my ignorance,is there a law to enforce subscriber registration ?
I wonder what is the aim because a Zain Nigeria line works in Kenya ( I am sure) same for a Voda Tanzania line. Criminals would still use these options to communicate...
Even the electronic serial of a phone can be tampered with...
Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
Rank: Member Joined: 1/5/2009 Posts: 117 Location: Taehan Minkook.
@ zamali. There is no law yet,there should be/will be. On the foreign lines,Vodacom,Zain Nigeria etc line conning the populace,then the victims will just be dangerously gullible. No law or structure can/will ever save them. When i see my purple,you see it not. when i see my purple, you see it not!
i am in acountry where i had to produce a copy of passport and the original before i bought a sim card since it had to be registered.And you wont find vendors selling sim cards on the road.unlike kenya where we get the sim cards on the road..they should have done it this way from the word go...but since there is so much greed in kenya....we even have some being sold on the streets like its ngwachi
gladie
The proper way to go about it is to enact a law and then set a deadline by which time there should be 100% compliance. This is in the process in a country like Mexico for the very same reasons.
@zamali,
If we all could queue and vote in less than 10hrs....then to me it is very feasible to get SIM registrations completed in 6 months...read 120 working days..or..960 working hours.
For 20M users....this requires just under 21,000 registrations per hour nationwide. And with with at least one registration center in each of the 210 constituencies,each center will need to turn just 100 registrations per hour.
'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'
@zamali raised quite a valid point. What to do with non-Kenyan lines (Nigeria,UG etc) that can work here? Block them too? @Obi says he can get them off the street in the UK,just as it happens here. Since there are a number of countries that don't require registration,how do you deal with the issue of those cards use here? I don't think this exercise can be water-tight.
...and the self-hate is really quite amusing. @Gladie (who doesn't sound very 'gladie' about Kenya) attributes the easy availability of the SIMs to greed. My good friend,when I was down in SA a few months ago,you could also get them off the street. Same with most countries in Europe.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
What it also means is that you cannot own a line if you're under 18years 
This can be airtight if all operators agree for it to be so...For SIMS outside the country,they first have to register with the home network (Safcom,Zain,Yu,Orange) before it is allowed to make calls. And with operators who allow inbound roamers,it can be specified that for any roamer that intends to use his/her SIM in a partner network that allows roaming,the subscriber details can be captured and shared with the latter. Its all a matter of co-operation between operators...which is well....a long shot
Rank: Member Joined: 4/22/2007 Posts: 96 Location: Agra, India
In India you cant buy a sim card without proper documentation and that includes a passport photo which means they know who exactly is using the line.This reduces minor crimes which i know will reduce in a big way.its a good move which can work remember safcom and zain have already gotten a big number of their users data so its not big deal its posible to get the data captured. NAMASTE !Don't be unrealistic with your expectations It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
here in france,you can't get any SIMS without documents showing your identity.Under 18's here use their parents documents to have one.i think it would be a good way to reduce crime in kenya.
jm
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
I am yet to be registered...who is in the database so far?
i love your smile
mLefu*... na hii thread umetoa wapi...??? archives.....??? database ni wewe... I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
they said six months...comeon..its just that i dont want to miss in all head counts... .MIA...Idp count,safcon holders count,gay count..now i cant miss the sim card holders count
i love your smile
Sim card holders to be registered