wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Sim card holders to be registered
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 11:22:00 AM

MK has directed the ministry of information and communication to build a database where all sim card holders details will be stored. This will be done in the next 6 months. I think it's a good move

Djinn
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 11:32:00 AM

this is a brilliant move given how the mpesa platform has become a root of all evil in itself - from the scams,the job tricksters,the kidnappers...to the CSW who got swindled as was in today's nation smile and to crank callers and stalkers that make some people's lives miserable

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
haiyaa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 11:47:00 AM

I support the move .Good for us

God Is God. All the time.
Eddiemundu
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 11:48:00 AM

Kudos Mj!

This move is long long overdue..countries that are serious with their business registered mobile users eons ago..

But with our Korapt Cop System,be assured that no thugs,stalkers or Extortionists will be nailed..this will only create a Fishing ground for our Cops to extort zealously from two ends..from the Culprits and The Victims!

M'c Kende Siafu !
Spendthrift
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 11:52:00 AM

Good Move.

I dont know exactly what MK directed but its logical for the Min. of Info. & Comm to direct that all service providers build databases of all simcard holders complete with their Phone IMEIs after which every change of phone,the IMEI will be automatically changed (indicated). Will also curb mobile phone theft. The ministry should make it mandatory that all phones must have the IMEI,knowing that an unblocked phone may lose one.

This database should be accessible by law enforcers subject to privacy requirement. In Kenya,we don't have any laws on privacy do we? like the data protection Act e.t.c.

The next wave of action should target the long distance buses. Every passengers booking a ticket must provide ID or passport. I sometimes get dismayed when I read things like ' the thugs,posing as passengers boaded the bus at KEricho and attached the passengers in Naivasha' How can something like this happen to the same bus company,say Coast,or Akamba twice?. And in the absence of an authentic passenger manifest,how does one prove that he or she was on board in the event of an accident requiring compensation.

Everyday!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 12:13:00 PM

If you bought your safcom simcard some times in 2000-2001 then you remember how buying a simcard was such a big deal and you had to provide so much information,infact safcom has all my information.........I dont know why this changed to an extent where lines are now hawked!!!

Good directive!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 12:58:00 PM

Safaricom is already doing that using m-pesa and zain by sokotele(call it zap). You folks thought it is all about sending and receiving money?

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 1:07:00 PM

Very few M-Pesa agents can be able to identify a fake ID when registering new clients.

life is too short to blend in
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 1:11:00 PM

And what are the consequences for not registering? That's what I thought - nothing. So why are we engaging in an exercise in futility?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 1:21:00 PM

@ GG,good question. They might decide to deactivate all lines that have not been registered in the next 6 months

Olu
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 1:24:00 PM

Exercise in futility..not quite....probably after the period is over all non registered sim cards will be deactivated and one will be required to register ones details for reactivation of the sims
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 1:36:00 PM

Well managed,this will never be an exercise in futility!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Olu
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 1:50:00 PM

infact TZ already have a deadline of the same by December this year that all should be registered
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:09:00 PM

They can not block any line because of lack of registraton. Just look at how competitiön is stiffening until safaricom are sending our texts at 1bob each.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
mtaalam
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:10:00 PM

@shak
Diactivating or canceling lines is not good for business.

ili iwe funzo...
Spendthrift
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:22:00 PM

It may be bad for business. How about making it a law? and accross the board so that there are no issues of competition. Why do I have the feeling that some of us here on SK are opposed to this.

I know of a friend who was conned by a guy masquerading as a landlord at Highrise estate. If all mobile phone users were registered,this guy would have been nabbed by now

Everyday!
half_empty
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:27:00 PM

It’s a small leap in the right direction… ID database should also be up-to-date with everyone’s physical address... just like in the west…hio mambo ya P O Box itupiliwe mbali… that way you can be traced to you doorstep…fake ID’s are everywhere… ID alone haiwesmek
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:29:00 PM

@ spend thrift,i agree with you. If they make this the law then all companies will be required to comply and competition will not apply. It will also be a good way of establishing exactly how many subscribers are in any one network since you might find one person holding several lines

#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:34:00 PM

@ half,maybe they should consider providing the mobile companies access to govt databases on ID holders to along with the person's photo to verify that information provided is correct

#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2009 2:41:00 PM

Idea sio mbaya saaaaaaaaaaaaana....Its only that Kenyans always lead from the back.

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.