wazua Sat, Jul 4, 2026

6 Pages<1234>»
Kidero: maybe we voted wrongly?
MADE
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:01:25 PM

So its been 6 months of endless speeches, talking, statistics, stories, speeches, forums, etc etc.

Traffic is worse, garbage still not collected, City Council harassing citizens and businesses.

I agree one needs time to settle, but in 6 months at least one agenda item should show signs of progress.

I am scared, we voted a big mouth with no real admin skills.

What happens in Nairobbery is a stark reflection of the National govt. When will they settle?
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:23:46 PM

majimaji wrote:

Would Waititu have been better?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

At least with Waititu there would not have been promises and statistics...just tupa mawe!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:24:17 PM

majimaji wrote:

Would Waititu have been better?

Amalso wondering...and there is no magic wand here the problems that Nairobi faces needs to be tackled pole pole and sequentially...u fukuza hawkers they start rioting,u fukuza mechanics shida ndizo hizo...kwani utaamka siku moja jam iishe...someone tell me what he should do in the short run to tackle the nasty jams?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:31:03 PM

Can we help him by giving him the priorities according to us? Maybe he is focusing on other priorities...if we give him what we feel would be quick wins that can be felt immediately, maybe one of the guests here will forward the info to him.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:32:15 PM

Jams can be handled in various ways:

- don't allow trucks on Uhuru Highway between 7 am and 8 pm...mara moja one lane is opened up and moving smoothly.
- No illegal bus stops for matatus. Enforce this tightly, again roundabouts will free up of jams.
- ensure mats at westlands stage pick and drop passengers inside the stage, not on the road. If waiyaki way flows, the highway flows
- Cops co-ordinate opening of highway, ie if nyayo is opened, so is bunyala, haille selassie, etc, with a few minutes delay. That way huge numbers of cars are moved in a short span of time.

Just a few observations...
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:35:10 PM

- don't allow trucks on Uhuru Highway between 7 am and 8 pm...mara moja one lane is opened up and moving smoothly.
- No illegal bus stops for matatus. Enforce this tightly, again roundabouts will free up of jams.
- ensure mats at westlands stage pick and drop passengers inside the stage, not on the road. If waiyaki way flows, the highway flows
- Cops co-ordinate opening of highway, ie if nyayo is opened, so is bunyala, haille selassie, etc, with a few minutes delay. That way huge numbers of cars are moved in a short span of time.

Wait for the southern bypass to open up.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:40:52 PM

i must have been duped by madeemoni and not voted 6 piece.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:41:09 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

Wait for the southern bypass to open up.

Why wait? enforce this now and see jams ease so quickly!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:44:38 PM

even when matatus are on strike the jams still persist, more and more people are buying cars and we all go to work in and around the cbd at roughly the same time so there will always be traffic snarl ups.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:48:51 PM

First you do these small basic things.

Then you enforce a congestion tax for cars in CBD and on Uhuru Highway. Just watch how things start changing. 1000 bob a week to use Highway or go into town. Take it or leave it!

But at least make the first move...don't talk theories and bore us with statistics we all know, be a man of action!
6 Pages<1234>»