wazua Mon, Feb 24, 2025

33m facelift to pm's homes
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 6:43:00 PM

eti this will go towards improving facilities so that he can receive state guests. why are we the taxpayers paying for somene's personal expenses? apparently this does not include the cost of food for the guests. unbelievable. in the same breath,the PM supports Obama in chastising bad leaders.

kishindo
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 7:00:00 PM

absolute nonesense and yet IDP's are till in camps and kibera in continous sprawl....
true colours are now emerging...

less is more for Architects only!!
Less is more....for Architects only!!
itz
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 12:41:00 AM

I am suprised that the sk community is not outraged by this story.
Mr.Tea
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:35:00 AM

Unfortunately,most have become cynical and jaded thanks to a never changing environment.But to add a voice-Its morally reprehensible even to think about.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:39:00 AM

SK is a group of people who look at things from an intelligent point of view. What is 33million? To me that's so little for a premier's housing. Compare it with the typing error or the devani deal or uchumi recovery plan or ... The media just wants to irritate the commö mwananchi who is strugling to make ends meet.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
brightstar
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:32:00 AM

At the end of the day the rich get richer and the poor get poorer even the Bible says so. So if the PM feels sufficiently philanthropic and decides to forego the renovations,the 33M can be used to construct 330 mabati hses each at 100K and accomodate 3300 people at 10 IDPs per hse. But lets keep dreaming!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:34:00 AM

Folks like @sober are justifying the 33mn. Ati,it is peanuts when compared to other scams. Well,who said we like the other scams? A small leak will destroy the dam. And after 'change orders' the 33mn will balloon into 300mn. And Kenyans are building that msaliti (kaloser) a 1,000,000,000 house?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
mali ya nguvu
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:43:00 AM

@ VVS

stop pulling our legs....where did you get the info that we are building 1b house for Kalonzo?

The only official reports available is the stalled project was for Kenya's VP and not Kalonzo's and it actually started in Kib's first term @ a projected cost of 200m.....

If your facts are okay....in my next life i want to be Kenyan VP.

Peace to all men of Goodwill
zamali
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:49:00 AM

@ Mali ya Nguvu,you dont get what VVS is trying to point out...

33M premier's renovation may baloon to 300M...

VP's projected 200M residence may 'spiral' to 1B on completion

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
mtaalam
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:13:00 AM

Was it factored in in the budget?
I honestly see nothing wrong with it I'm sure a lot more has been spend in the former president homes plus hotels take advantage and make a killing from these simple functions/meetings.

Speaking of homes,what's cutting with that palace we were constructing for our VP?

ili iwe funzo...
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:18:00 AM

@ mali

vitu is right....a practical and a living example is NSSF Nyayo Estate project in Embakasi which was originally scheduled to cost ksh 2b. As of today it is almost ksh 10b worth of payments.....

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
mali ya nguvu
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:21:00 AM

@ zamali and Kagizzard

I got VVS point spot on ab initio....just wanted clarification if that house is individual's property as per his statement or state property....if the the former is true,i want to be the next VP and get my 1b house.

My point the first VP house ended up being individuals property....

Peace to all men of Goodwill
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:24:00 AM

If the cash was to be distributed,then every kenyan woul get ksh 1/- only. Think of it and stop grumbling,when 3,000,000 is used to renovate a kakuzi director's house no öne raises a finger because the media knows no uproar will be raised from the public because some kenyans don't know the existance of the company. The media is using us,provoking our feelings as a nation.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:45:00 AM

@ sober,

33m if i remember correctly would be enough to build a new road from community to dagoretti corner.....beneficial to hundreds of thousand of people as opposed to just one f***ing individual....

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:58:00 AM

I do NOT care if Kakuzi built a house for 100mn for a director (as long as I am not a shareholder). *Why? It is a PRIVATE residence. **An Indian billionaire is building a $1billion house! Yes,US$1 billion (not the defunct Zimbabwe $ 1billion ) *** I am a legitimate TAXPAYER. And the 33mn (soon to be inflated) is my 1/-. The multiply my 1/- with kaloser's residence. And other 'projects' and I am paying 100/- per CITIZEN.
**** Bure kabisa. Sober is probably a raila relative ama a contractor.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 7:01:00 AM

I meant that Kakuzi is a PRIVATE company. It is their money. They can stash it in a bank. Pay dividends. I have no say UNLESS I am a shareholder. * I own 1 of 33,000,000 shares in KENYA. I have a right to know how my cash is spent. ** And the more expensive the house,the HIGHER the maintenance costs. *** Ati,hotels. Well,they are used 365 days. How many 'visitors' will VP/PM entertain? And I mean the serious visitors not the jamaas from kogelo,etc...

Mainat
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 7:12:00 AM

I wish you guys didn't criticise Raila. Don't you know he is a liberator like Mandela and he is a bridge to the Kenyan dream? He means well in everything he does. He is just looking out for poor Kenyans. I'm sure this is another plot by PNU.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 8:28:00 AM

@Mainat
yes,sure he is...

@Sober,
what are you talking about? 1 bob may not be much for you,but think of how many toilets would be built in his constituency? Think of how many 33million shillings would feed. Infact,for the starving over 10 million kenyans would get a whole million to themselves! do you know how much such a person would do with that?

Now more than ever before,we need a change of guard... we should realise that keeping on electing the son of who has been who in kenya just go to protect their properties and they have no interest in common man at all at all... In the next election,i hope we will have our heads on our sholders and elect someone who has is totally independent... if such person has an agenda for kenya. these fellas will keep riding on our backs as long as they can tell us what we want to hear! I saw that son of kibaki trying to create a mwananchi horse going by the name of 'vijana' crap! Ati round hii si mchezo!! i hope we shall seriously show these goons its seriously not mchezo!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 9:11:00 AM

What will a change of guard really change in Kenya,I mean more than 70% of the current MPs are first timers........any tangible improvement resulting from the change of guard in Parliament....I am still waiting to see. Personally I do see wat the hullaballoo is all about here!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Brewer
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 9:22:00 AM

There was also the office that was bought for some tidy sum,will be remodelled for some more and so on and so forth. You have not even asked how the PM and others stand on the 'directive' on luxury cars. Was the issue of carpets and all resolved?

But do you blame him,if he can do it and get away with it in the next elections? We Kenyans are so deep in tribalism that our eyes are foggy,our ears woolly,our minds shitty when it comes to elections our politicians must think/know we are fools!