wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
First timer-Cars
webish
#61 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 10:08:06 AM

Oh lord,Maintaining a car is difficult than raising quadruplets..

fafanua.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
Meduza
#62 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 10:32:50 AM

WakaWaka wrote:
kamundu wrote:
Avoid on economizing on 0.0001cents fuel by putting the engine off downhill. That silly stunt might just kill you. In the morning, when you put it on let it run abit.. think of it as warm-up. And always have it washed regularly(not just the outside), blow-dry the engine.. Dust has a way crippling an engine.

Budget for your first accident. I'm yet to come across someone who's never had a scrape. God loves me if my first car, so many years ago, when I was hot blodded(read 180km/hr every opportunity) didn't kill me.

You do not need to warm up petrol engines. They autmotacally rev higher in cold temps. Thats just wasting fuel

Oil is needed in the engine for lubrication and cooling. The main parts that need lubrication are the crankshaft, camshafts, rocker arm and the cylinder itself. Whereas the crankshaft splashes around in the sump, oil has to be pumped through channels in the engine block to reach the camshafts, rocker arm and cylinder. Oil drains by gravity into the sump when engine is not operating. Warming up the engine allows the oil to be pumped around the engine block for lubrication, reducing metal on metal contact and reducing wear and tear.

Where are all these shafts???????
You cant win, unless you first begin....
#63 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 7:13:58 PM

Meduza wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
kamundu wrote:
Avoid on economizing on 0.0001cents fuel by putting the engine off downhill. That silly stunt might just kill you. In the morning, when you put it on let it run abit.. think of it as warm-up. And always have it washed regularly(not just the outside), blow-dry the engine.. Dust has a way crippling an engine.

Budget for your first accident. I'm yet to come across someone who's never had a scrape. God loves me if my first car, so many years ago, when I was hot blodded(read 180km/hr every opportunity) didn't kill me.

You do not need to warm up petrol engines. They autmotacally rev higher in cold temps. Thats just wasting fuel

Oil is needed in the engine for lubrication and cooling. The main parts that need lubrication are the crankshaft, camshafts, rocker arm and the cylinder itself. Whereas the crankshaft splashes around in the sump, oil has to be pumped through channels in the engine block to reach the camshafts, rocker arm and cylinder. Oil drains by gravity into the sump when engine is not operating. Warming up the engine allows the oil to be pumped around the engine block for lubrication, reducing metal on metal contact and reducing wear and tear.

Wacha nikusaidie. Crankshaft is found at the bottom part of your engine. It converts the up and down movement of the pistons into circular motion.

Camshaft is found at the top. It's that shiny piece of metal with some protrusions (aka túmathundothundo) on it and whose purpose is to open & close the fuel & air valves that deliver fuel and air into the cylinder compartment.

The two (i.e camshaft & crankshaft) are joined together via what is commonly known as a timing belt (in some vehicles it actually is a metallic chain).

Cylinder is, well, that circular compartment in which the piston operates. Piston rings help ensure that the fuel and oil compartments do not communicate.

The rocker arm is the piece of metal colloquially referred to as 'guoko' or 'múkono' by our grogon brothers that connects the piston head to the crankshaft. Of course all those joints are oiled by the self same engine oil.

Disclaimer: I am no mechanic, but I've had to know these things by default.
#64 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 8:11:50 PM

...and if your car is a prostitute...yaani changed owners several times, don't attempt to use Mbagathi road...You will cause yourself and other road users unnecessary pain...Such cars don't usually complete climbing that kahill.
#65 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 8:31:21 PM

watch out for car jackers at night. all cars behind you are suspects Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#66 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 12:04:42 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Meduza wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
kamundu wrote:

Wacha nikusaidie. Crankshaft is found at the bottom part of your engine. It converts the up and down movement of the pistons into circular motion.

Camshaft is found at the top. It's that shiny piece of metal with some protrusions (aka túmathundothundo) on it and whose purpose is to open & close the fuel & air valves that deliver fuel and air into the cylinder compartment.

The two (i.e camshaft & crankshaft) are joined together via what is commonly known as a timing belt (in some vehicles it actually is a metallic chain).

Cylinder is, well, that circular compartment in which the piston operates. Piston rings help ensure that the fuel and oil compartments do not communicate.

The rocker arm is the piece of metal colloquially referred to as 'guoko' or 'múkono' by our grogon brothers that connects the piston head to the crankshaft. Of course all those joints are oiled by the self same engine oil.

They say that a piksha is worth more than 1000 words.

And HERE is very useful information about maintaining your car.
D32
#67 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 1:57:02 AM

For maintenance, also watch out for:

- Spark plugs
- Brakes
- Suspension
- Wheel alignment

If you don't have, get yourself some security such as a tracker, immobilizer, steering wheel lock, alarm
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#68 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 6:58:44 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Meduza wrote:
WakaWaka wrote:
kamundu wrote:

They say that a piksha is worth more than 1000 words.

And HERE is very useful information about maintaining your car.

Indeed, thank you. Nilijaribu kuweka mbisha nikachidwo. This technology...wacha tu.
Meduza
#69 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 10:59:08 AM

D32 wrote:
For maintenance, also watch out for:

- Spark plugs
- Brakes
- Suspension
- Wheel alignment

If you don't have, get yourself some security such as a tracker, immobilizer, steering wheel lock, alarm

\(-_- )
You cant win, unless you first begin....
#70 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 11:22:46 AM

Na usitumie miguu/tire ya Longlilo...nunua miguu za maana.
Shame on you

Ondiek
#71 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 11:36:51 AM

"E" on the fuel guage does not mean enough.
#72 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 11:57:53 AM

1. Keep distance. You should drive "3 seconds" behind a car while driving at all speeds.

2. Carry a first aid box, a fire extinguisher, 2 safety triangles, spare, jack and wheel spanner in your car at all times. Plus an empty jerrican (ya kubebea mafuta ikiisha). Accidents and emergencies can happen at any time.

3. Learn how to dim lights at night especially when approaching other cars or pedestrians. Some of us see poorly at night, so when you shine lights onto our eyes, even with our walking sticks, we'll stagger into a ditch.

4. Keep left unless overtaking. Don't overtake on the left. I think this is the most abused rule on our roads. Does the Highway Code still exist? Do people know that a rule called Lane Discipline exists?
limanika
#73 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 3:35:48 PM

.Choose some time maybe on a Sunday mid-morning when traffic is not heavy and drive to and fro along the entire route you expect to be frequenting most. Get a friend who is competent driver to sit by your side this very first time. Do not drive to town during rush-hour if it is your very first time
.Any time you drive, ensure the entire route you are going to drive is clearly mapped in your mind before leaving the comfort of your house.
.Avoid driving at night, unless you cannot avoid.
#74 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 3:59:09 PM

Remember not to make a girlfriend/wifey-to-be cry in the car while facing the car roof with feet stepping on the top padding,this act makes the car very vulnerable to accidents even on a very clear and straight stretch!!!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#75 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 5:35:01 PM

1. Get COMPREHENSIVE insurance.

2. Avoid washing the car engine. I have seen many cars stall after the engines got being 'flooded' with water kwa car wash. Also ensure they don't spray the car speakers and car window switches with water as they wash the doors.

3. Vacuum the inside of the car instead of letting those car wash guys soak the whole interior with water as this makes the car interior smell damp/moldy.
#76 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 5:58:42 PM

jguru wrote:
1. Keep distance. You should drive "3 seconds" behind a car while driving at all speeds.

2. Carry a first aid box, a fire extinguisher, 2 safety triangles, spare, jack and wheel spanner in your car at all times. Plus an empty jerrican (ya kubebea mafuta ikiisha). Accidents and emergencies can happen at any time.

3. Learn how to dim lights at night especially when approaching other cars or pedestrians. Some of us see poorly at night, so when you shine lights onto our eyes, even with our walking sticks, we'll stagger into a ditch.

4. Keep left unless overtaking. Don't overtake on the left. I think this is the most abused rule on our roads. Does the Highway Code still exist? Do people know that a rule called Lane Discipline exists?

wait until you come across the guys who love taking their sweet time on the inner lanes, you will wait forever for a chance to overtake
elder1981
#77 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 7:55:44 PM

Make sure your kids dont put soil/salt kwa tank ya mafuta.
The Main thing is making the Main thing the Main thing.
amga
#78 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 1:15:50 AM

sorry for asking but apart from the customs, excise duties, VAT, shipping line and port charges. are there more items when i am importing a car that i need to prepare for?
#79 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 8:45:49 AM

amga wrote:
sorry for asking but apart from the customs, excise duties, VAT, shipping line and port charges. are there more items when i am importing a car that i need to prepare for?

clearing agents fee, logistics for getting the car from the port to you, initial checkup and if need be a minor service and some cash just in case the guys feel lazy to attach the number plate and a cop happens to make life difficult.
#80 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 10:01:33 AM

amga wrote:

Installation of Alarm at Mombasa and about 3K for sand-work...the so called card ID.