wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Building a house with Prefabricated concrete Wall Panels - very cost effective
tonicasert
#21 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 12:31:05 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Hi guys.

for those of you who want to see a classic example of prefablicated concrete buildings, please visit NSSF Embakasi estate.

These were done by Mugoya construction in between 1995 and 2000 and it is only Mugoya who had that technology and capacity in the entire republic.

The contractor could do 5 or 6 four floor block of flats per week!!

True, and so is KRA's Times Tower
BabaZero
#22 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 12:16:36 PM

tonicasert wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Hi guys.

for those of you who want to see a classic example of prefablicated concrete buildings, please visit NSSF Embakasi estate.

These were done by Mugoya construction in between 1995 and 2000 and it is only Mugoya who had that technology and capacity in the entire republic.

The contractor could do 5 or 6 four floor block of flats per week!!

True, and so is KRA's Times Tower

@tonicasert Not that am doubting your claim, but where did you get this info about TImes Tower using this technology?

While still on that, anyone know of any contractors who are actually building with this technology here in .KE at the moment? Am assuming you cant just pick any normal contractor and hope that they'll be able to work with it.
josimar
#23 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 12:31:08 PM

There is a Chinese Company in Kitengela just after New World Gardens Estate ( its before Newlight Academy) who are putting up a wall panel factory and even have sample houses at the site . I have visted the factory twice on a Saturday and unfortunately the guards there are not helpful at all. They just refer You to visit their office at Plaza 2000 Msa Rd .
KenSaf
#24 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 1:16:34 PM

josimar wrote:
There is a Chinese Company in Kitengela just after New World Gardens Estate ( its before Newlight Academy) who are putting up a wall panel factory and even have sample houses at the site . I have visted the factory twice on a Saturday and unfortunately the guards there are not helpful at all. They just refer You to visit their office at Plaza 2000 Msa Rd .

Visited their exhibition stall at KICC BUILDEXPO, 4th-6th May 2013. check their website: www.hkbckenya.com
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
a4architect.com
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 5:55:25 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
I think this gona change the way we build houses is kenya in a big way.

I was at Hongkong Ceramics at Plaza 2000 and saw the wall panels. Made of cement and polystyrene in between; they provide an economical way of building a house.

A panel goes for 2,500.00 for internal walls per piece and 3,000- for external walls. They are light and easily transportable. You need a few fundis; 2 to 4. You can put a whole house in 14 days excluding the floor slab.

A 10ft by 10ft room requires about 25 slabs. Approx 67,000.00. Minus roof and floor. A 10 by 10 mabati room costs almost 40,000.00

NHC has put up a factory for the panels in Mulolongo. I am going there today to have a look.

Just imagine what this can help us achieve. This is what I will use for my City and shags house.

http://www.nhckenya.co.k...mp;id=109&Itemid=68

Watch video here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Npxw3WHO1s

@bachuma. This translates to 1250 per m2 for internal and 1500 per m2 for external. Machine cut stone costs kes 800 per m2 without labour and transport/kes 60 per stone x 12 pieces in 1 m2. Do the math. Machine cut stone is nearly half the price of the panels.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Bachuma Gate
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 11:12:25 AM

@A4 you are in the industry and therefore you could be right. But i still want to believe that there exists a cheaper way of putting up houses than we do in this country. In many countries eg. SA, Far East prefabricated concrete walls are very popular and I would want to believe there is a reason for this.

In terms of cost per sqm i noticed that with prefab there is no plastering before paint work. Again I donot know whether you have included cost of labour for erecting the walls and cement used.

Also if you put a cost on the turn-around time, prefab walls are quicker to erect.

But l taken note of your contribution and will use it to challenge the Chinese.

DOH
a4architect.com
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 7:31:21 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
@A4 you are in the industry and therefore you could be right. But i still want to believe that there exists a cheaper way of putting up houses than we do in this country. In many countries eg. SA, Far East prefabricated concrete walls are very popular and I would want to believe there is a reason for this.

In terms of cost per sqm i noticed that with prefab there is no plastering before paint work. Again I donot know whether you have included cost of labour for erecting the walls and cement used.

Also if you put a cost on the turn-around time, prefab walls are quicker to erect.

But l taken note of your contribution and will use it to challenge the Chinese.

@bachuma..From Tanzania downwards till SA, the rock is not suitable for house construction so they have to use clay bricks or other forms of walling such as prefab. In Kenya especially Nairobi, the rock is available for construction.

cost of plaster is only between kes 200 to kes 300 per m2 so it will not make any major difference.

True.Prefabs are quicker to erect in terms of turnaround time than the usual brick n motar.
Blackberry
#28 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2013 9:58:45 AM

Awesome technology. There are Chinese doing the same on the plot behind my house ......Pray Pray Pray and I pray not high rise flats ......

Its good to know the materials are available locally

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

icecube
#29 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 8:50:59 PM

josimar wrote:
How does this techonology fare in terms of cost comparison to using stones?

NHC had an info desk today along Aga Khan Walk on these panels. According to them, total cost savings is in the region of 30 -40%.
a4architect.com
#30 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 10:55:19 AM

@icecube..any link where we can see the breakdown of the 30 to 40% savings?
#31 Posted : Saturday, November 23, 2013 7:16:55 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

someone please give us the name of a local contractor using this technology. eco homes ltd are only able to do a single storey while I need a multistorey

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
a4architect.com
#32 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:33:05 AM

http://www.a4architect.c...-housing-in-kenya-2013/

The major suppliers of prefab panels in Nairobi, Elsek, Hong Kong ceramics, Inesa, National Housing Corporation, and Prime ventures intl, all have cost per m2 in the kes 1800 per m2 range.

Walling using stone then plastering on one side costs kes 1600 on average, and will last longer if well built.
http://www.a4architect.c...alling-in-nairobi-kenya/
#33 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:06:46 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

someone please give us the name of a local contractor using this technology. eco homes ltd are only able to do a single storey while I need a multistorey

Check the Yaya centre parking currently under construction by Motorways Construction.
a4architect.com
#34 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:19:59 AM

@mawinder. The Yaya parking is prefabricated structural concrete. This is the normal concrete with the difference being that its made elsewhere and transported to the site and bolted together.

Butterfly properties, located in Ruiru, have the mouldings to produce this and use ift on their construction projects around Ruiru.

Westgate also looks like it was made using concrete structural prefab panels.

A more modern method of construction is the pre engineered building made of steel eg the building at Hurlingham near the new bypass roundabout near yaya.

Also, the car park at international casino, near museum was built this way many years ago.
Adnan
#35 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:28:07 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
@mawinder. The Yaya parking is prefabricated structural concrete. This is the normal concrete with the difference being that its made elsewhere and transported to the site and bolted together.

Butterfly properties, located in Ruiru, have the mouldings to produce this and use ift on their construction projects around Ruiru.

A more modern method of construction is the pre engineered building made of steel eg the building at Hurlingham near the new bypass roundabout near yaya.

Also, the car park at international casino, near museum was built this way many years ago.

Precast.
MY NAME IS ADNAN JANUZAJ
Adnan
#36 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:31:55 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

Not quite. West gate floors were made of flat slabs cast insitu. The floor slabs are carried directly on columns without beams.
MY NAME IS ADNAN JANUZAJ
a4architect.com
#37 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:55:16 AM

@adnan..i meant westgate exterior walling from the pics looks like prefab concrete walling panels. Similar to prefab walling panels on the old yaya centre building.

Adnan
#38 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:18:16 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@adnan..i meant westgate exterior walling from the pics looks like prefab concrete walling panels. Similar to prefab walling panels on the old yaya centre building.

@Arch....The exterior walling at Westgate has developed a series of structural cracks all round so I doubt its made from precast concrete panels. Indeed even before the terrorist attack, these cracks were under repair. That explains the scaffolding you were seeing on TV during the attack.

Between the wing that collapsed and the one that remained standing, there was an expansion joint and I cant state for a fact that the wallings on either side of this expansion joint are masonry.
MY NAME IS ADNAN JANUZAJ
a4architect.com
#39 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:37:56 PM

@adnan, a characteristic look of most concrete prefab buildings is a box like outwards appearance, similar to westgate, yaya eyc and most American city buildings where concrete prefab is the in thing.
With in situ contructions, designs tend to be more flexible, curvilineear, interesting, similar to most european city buildings.

London city

Chicago city
Adnan
#40 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 1:24:52 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@adnan, a characteristic look of most concrete prefab buildings is a box like outwards appearance, similar to westgate, yaya eyc and most American city buildings where concrete prefab is the in thing.
With in situ contructions, designs tend to be more flexible, curvilineear, interesting, similar to most european city buildings.

London city

Chicago city

@Arch... As I earlier stated, at this juncture am unable to confirm on the exterior walling material but suffice to say that I don't expect precast concrete panels to develop cracks.

But I need to add that the cracks are appearing on all elevations except the frontage.

Cheers bwana @arch!
MY NAME IS ADNAN JANUZAJ