wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

13 Pages«<7891011>»
ArtCaffe is damn expensive.T
#161 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:18:35 PM

apparently the VM place is operated by Israelis
#162 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:20:55 PM

mkenyan wrote:

they apologise and distance themselves from their (offending) branch. looks like art cafe junction is throwing village market under the bus. who does pr for these guys? the 'wazuan watchman'?

I find the watchman part offensive
#163 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:21:32 PM

Negative publicity yet the place is always full. poor Kenyans and trying hard to identify. nothing will change much.

why with the afro-pessimism? I am sad that people like you don't see this as a problem.
hii kitu imenisinya hata nimeshindwa ku-focus kazini...

Agreed, why blame the victim for his humiliation? I believe there's a major problem when a middle class Kenyan walks into a public restaurant in his city and they refuse to serve him.
#164 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:29:42 PM

Negative publicity yet the place is always full. poor Kenyans and trying hard to identify. nothing will change much.

why with the afro-pessimism? I am sad that people like you don't see this as a problem.
hii kitu imenisinya hata nimeshindwa ku-focus kazini...

Agreed, why blame the victim for his humiliation? I believe there's a major problem when a middle class Kenyan walks into a public restaurant in his city and they refuse to serve him.

wahh... enyewe ... MWAFRIKA... MBAKA KWENU?
quoting Captain Jean-Luc Picard in Star Trek: First Contact! talking about the Borg....
Captain Jean-Luc Picard wrote:

We've made too many compromises already; too many retreats. They invade our space and we fall back. They assimilate entire worlds and we fall back. Not again. The line must be drawn here! This far, no further! And *I* will make them pay for what they've done!
#165 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:30:36 PM

You tip when you receive good service. If it's lacking, why would you do it? Do cashiers at the bank expect tips even when you deposit a large sum of money? Do conductors get tips when they the PSV takes you from one point to another? Tipping isn't mandatory, and it makes a business to lose revenue from potential customers, through such discrimination. You pay for a service charge in a restaurant and are still expected to tip generously. That's double tipping for you. And if you don't frequent the place, then again, why tip?.

I think I am addicted, I find myself tipping or appreciating good service on most occasions - from the car wash guy, to the barber, the mat conductor once in a while namwambia keep change, to the shop employees when they make good sales, to the car mechanic, to the cops on the roads when they stop and inspect my car well, to the guards at the office and home, to the supermarket guys who always insist on carrying my luggage no matter the size, I even tip the teachers when the kids perform well at school - some time back when I was still employed i tried to tip my bass for giving me an increment (but he refused).
#166 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:40:29 PM

#167 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:41:40 PM

You tip when you receive good service. If it's lacking, why would you do it? Do cashiers at the bank expect tips even when you deposit a large sum of money? Do conductors get tips when they the PSV takes you from one point to another? Tipping isn't mandatory, and it makes a business to lose revenue from potential customers, through such discrimination. You pay for a service charge in a restaurant and are still expected to tip generously. That's double tipping for you. And if you don't frequent the place, then again, why tip?.

I think I am addicted, I find myself tipping or appreciating good service on most occasions - from the car wash guy, to the barber, the mat conductor once in a while namwambia keep change, to the shop employees when they make good sales, to the car mechanic, to the cops on the roads when they stop and inspect my car well, to the guards at the office and home, to the supermarket guys who always insist on carrying my luggage no matter the size, I even tip the teachers when the kids perform well at school - some time back when I was still employed i tried to tip my bass for giving me an increment (but he refused).

Its a good appreciative gesture I also try doing it it as much as possible...if the Lord has blessed you,try and recognise other peoples efforts put a smile on their faces...
#168 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:47:32 PM

Tips are optional! Sometime back I visited LTI Kaskazi Beach Hotel at the coast that at the time had outlawed tipping because it creates inequality of service and the whole hotel suffers. The hotel's policy stated that if you feel compelled to tip - you would have to give it to management and tips would be shared to all staff members.
#169 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:50:52 PM

mkenyan wrote:

they apologise and distance themselves from their (offending) branch. looks like art cafe junction is throwing village market under the bus. who does pr for these guys? the 'wazuan watchman'?

I find the watchman part offensive

to get the context of the use of 'wazuan watchman' providing pr services in wazua, you can read the 'pizza inn at kenol bururu' thread from this page to the next
mkeiyd
#170 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:59:36 PM

quicksand wrote:
I try not to set foot in places like Art Caffe,..always find staff in foreign owned establishments a bit frosty, even if when it is not necessarily discrimination. The other reason is a faux pas sometime back when I strayed into an international hotel ...so much hair splitting ..in this case, the waiter would not clear the empty plate (I had cleaned every morsel off its surface),because you need to arrange the fork and knife touching the plate turned down or something like that. He let that awkward situation stew for a long while and I had to prompt the guy to take it away. I got a tutorial on how to arrange forks and knives in the most condescending sing-songy tone you can ever imagine.
As if that was not enough, as I am about to leave, egg on face, the person I was meeting hints I should stop being a culture-less village person and suggests it is fashionable to leave a tip in such places. I like fashion as much as the next person and being neither too mean nor too extravagant, I imagine 200 is plenty of tip ....alas the tip gets rejected sneeringly but in perfectly polite language. Apparently there is a rule written in an obscure scroll somewhere that says you have to tip 5% of your expenditure.
Fine, I admit I was ignorant, but humiliation traumatises me - I go to great lengths to avoid it. Some education I can do without, like obscure rules of dining.

HELL NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I will tip you only if i feel like. It doesn't matter i'm dining at the International Space Station or Njuguini.
#171 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 1:12:47 PM

It's also good practice to give a 10% tip to govt officials when they award you a govt contract.
#172 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 1:18:21 PM

apparently the VM place is operated by Israelis

finally got the name a Mr. Sagi Vaknin is the character giving us all a bad day!
his facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/sagi.vaknin.52
#173 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 1:38:09 PM

[quote=masukuma]apparently the VM place is operated by Israelis

finally got the name a Mr. Sagi Vaknin is the character giving us all a bad day!
his facebook page is https://www.facebook.com/sagi.vaknin.52[/quote]
Hii story imekubore sana @Masukuma
#174 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 1:38:33 PM

It's also good practice to give a 10% tip to govt officials when they award you a govt contract.

Forget the americans, the kenyan society revolves around tip - you tip police officers for a job well done, you tip some gov official for successfully finding your file, I understand you can even tip some public hospital officials to ensure you get a bed in hospital.

lakini this artcaffe racial thing is not good, very unfortunate.
#175 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 1:47:56 PM

Apparently we dont even understand what they sell. No wonder they hate us. Let is stick to Njuguna's

#176 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 1:59:49 PM

^^^ i thinks its good to post a piksha of a croissant so that all Kenyans can know what's the cause of all the trouble. It is that kabread roll that looks like a caterpillar. You can buy it at any local supermarket. Though i am still wondering why the guy (victim) needs to take a dozen 'each morning'.

#177 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 2:05:22 PM

Apparently we dont even understand what they sell. No wonder they hate us. Let is stick to Njuguna's

Haha, huyu anafikiria croissant ni aina ya kahawa.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#178 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 2:07:05 PM

@Maka - IN YOUR OWN COUNTRY? wah! Africans are being mistreated everywhere mbaka in their own countries? the nerve! Next time a mgeni will mistreat you in your own house or bedroom. the line has to be drawn bwana.
#179 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 2:09:23 PM

Forget the americans, the kenyan society revolves around tip - you tip police officers for a job well done, you tip some gov official for successfully finding your file, I understand you can even tip some public hospital officials to ensure you get a bed in hospital.

lakini this artcaffe racial thing is not good, very unfortunate.

So they should call police bribes tips? Coz the cop offered you good service by allowing you to go on with your journey and not arresting you?
#180 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 2:11:15 PM

Haha, huyu anafikiria croissant ni aina ya kahawa.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

lol! the lady must be pissed at the thought!