Market
Review
GoTv Vs Star Times
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
vin wrote:nakujua wrote:I don't know where the startimes bashing is coming from, have been using it and so far its ok, it works just like a digital set box should - I think its not fair to criticize a product you have not even used, even if you work for the competing product.
Startimes have different packages at different prices, you can check their site for the same Mboss wee.I have tried all the packages and this is my opinion.CRAP is a FAIR word.DSTV will for almost 2 months show the same movie mpaka you miss VOK. I respect your opinion, but I find it ok since I mostly watch the news channels and the kids have no prob with the cartoon channels available - so it serves the purpose in my case, and I don't mind the price
Nakujua,the overall purpose of any purchase is to satisfy a need.If this is the case ,enjoy it bro. Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Quote:To: info@startimes.co.keSent: Tuesday, June 04, 2013 6:34 PM Subject: Is your service worth it?Good evening, I live and work in Kerugoya Town on the slopes of Mount Kenya and shopping for a service provider to help me go digital. I also patronize an online forum called Wazua.co.ke/ A thread is currently on going to the effect that your service is not up to standard. The thread can be accessed through the following link: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=24570
Please assure me and other prospective customers on the forum that your service is indeed better than the rest and also please respond to post complaints. Kind regards. aemathenge
aemathenge wrote:Quote:To: info@startimes.co.keSent: Tuesday, June 04, 2013 6:34 PM Subject: Is your service worth it?Good evening, I live and work in Kerugoya Town on the slopes of Mount Kenya and shopping for a service provider to help me go digital. I also patronize an online forum called Wazua.co.ke/ A thread is currently on going to the effect that your service is not up to standard. The thread can be accessed through the following link: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=24570
Please assure me and other prospective customers on the forum that your service is indeed better than the rest and also please respond to post complaints. Kind regards. aemathenge Its June 6th? any feedback from them?
Quote:From: Info <info@startimes.co.ke>;
Wed: June 05: 11:18am
Good day Mr. Mathenge,
We hope you are fine sir. First, we’d like to start by thanking you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated and all the concerns will be put into consideration.
It is indeed a fact that in a market with many players, there is bound to be competition. It is one that cannot be refuted and that is why we as StarTimes have vowed do our best in offering our esteemed customers the best.
Over the past few weeks we have been encountering some challenges here and there with matters beyond our control. This has notably affected our distribution platform in relation to local content transmission but is a matter that is in its final stages of resolution.
We understand the frustration that our customers are undergoing at the moment and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. However, the incident has not affected other aspects of our service delivery as we still have lots of subscribers getting access to our products and services and we are welcoming more on board.
StarTimes as a company is well established in over 10 African countries with strong signal distribution and enjoyable content. With Kenya being the newest inclusion, the latest challenges serve but to help us know the loop holes that we need to work on and we believe that our service is and will be the best in coming days.
Compared to other service providers, we are the most affordable; for as little as Ksh. 499 you get to enjoy world class entertainment together with free local content. Our aim is to reach out to the low income as well as the average groups not leaving out all other StarTimes lovers, so that every individual in the greater part of the country gets access to Digital TV services.
We also offer free after sale technical support to our customer’s at the touch of a button (0719077077); our customer care service is on 24/7 and ready to help customers sort out issues that pertain our product and services any time of the day.
Apart from that, we also do regular follow up on our customers so as to find out their status; this extra mile we go so as to ensure that our subscribers get value for their money.
Our products (decoders, mobile TV devices) are easy to connect; plug and play, and given that our signal distribution is terrestrial, it is not affected by rain or other weather vagaries and you only need an antenna pointed towards the transmitters in your location to get the signal. With this, our customers may use their external antennas or one prescribed by customer care agents/technicians.
Thank you again for the feedback and we do assure you that StarTimes is here to offer the best and that we will.
Kind regards,
StarTimes Customer Care
D a m n. They called me (addressed me as) sir.
How comes that this thread is still in Health at CLUBSKenge and not SME or MARKET?
This is quite interesting. There is enough information to suggest that Star times is actually better when it comes to value for money. As someone had suggested, Wazua is for masonkos and I am one of them thats why I am asking from them.
As for this post being at health forum, I can only ask administrator to help me transfer it. I am still analogue!
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
washiku wrote:Impunity wrote:Coolio wrote:GO Tv is good, star times ni ya wana. nGOtv haisikizani na mvua wajameni. Thought all satellite TVs hazipendi mvua? I always have a problem with my DSTV. I also installed a Zuku one for my folks and wakati wa mvua ni vile vile.... Not all sir. from my own experience, with satellite tv, the bigger the dish the better the reception. If you wanted to weather-proof your system so as to avoid rain-fade, I'd advise you to get a dish bigger than the one they give you in the installation package. The bigger the dish, the more stable the signal is even in the face of heavy rainfall or cloud cover. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
aemathenge wrote:Quote:From: Info <info@startimes.co.ke>;
Wed: June 05: 11:18am
Good day Mr. Mathenge,
We hope you are fine sir. First, we’d like to start by thanking you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated and all the concerns will be put into consideration.
It is indeed a fact that in a market with many players, there is bound to be competition. It is one that cannot be refuted and that is why we as StarTimes have vowed do our best in offering our esteemed customers the best.
YEP,guys,The effects of your boardroom wars is trickling down to your loyal customers whom you seek for day and night through adverts. My question is,We pay subscription monthly yet we miss out on channels. What plans do you have in place to compensate us? I returned my decoder back to it's box cz I am not subscribing anymore and wasting my cash.
Over the past few weeks we have been encountering some challenges here and there with matters beyond our control. This has notably affected our distribution platform in relation to local content transmission but is a matter that is in its final stages of resolution. Give a time limit to allow customers budget instead of wasting time subscribing to what they will not get.
We understand the frustration that our customers are undergoing at the moment and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. No you don't Sirs.You are a company making money out of us.I am the individual spending it on you but not getting what I buy. Oh I just received a message on phone saying that my subscription is up.Nope I d rather buy pizza and go analogue than subscribe and listen to discovery in chinese.
Thank you again for the feedback and we do assure you that StarTimes is here to offer the best and that we will.
O phuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuliz!!did you just say that? Kind regards,
StarTimes Customer Care "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
https://www.facebook.com/notes/s...n-market/524534237594527Quote:Nairobi 4th June 2013: StarTimes Media has today announced the introduction of its approved Digital Video Broadcasting Technology 2 (DVB –T2) free to air set top box in the Kenyan market. Popular for the provision of affordable digital Pay Television, the free to air set top box will enable costumers’ access digital television service without attracting monthly subscription fees.
Speaking at the launch, StarTimes Media CEO Mr. Leo Lee stressed the firm’s commitment ingrowing the broadcasting industry while enriching the viewing experience of the Kenyan people. He cited the provision of unrivaled technology as a key factor in the delivery of competitive digital television service in the country. “Kenya becomes the flagship market for this device where we intend to ride on our 70%digital television network coverage in the country as we plan to extend reach of local channels under our platform to more Kenyans on both Pay TV and free to air offers thereby giving Kenyans an enviable choice”, said Mr. Leo.
The move is a welcome boost to the digital television migration process after an indication by the Communication Commission of Kenya (CCK) that just over 11,000 free to air set top boxes have so far been sold. The low volume of sales has been attributed to the low supply and cost which seems beyond the reach of many Kenyans. The decoder will be retailing at Ksh4,999 with a month’s access to Unique Plus bouquet that offers over 70 Pay Television channels where upon expiry of the offer, the subscriber will have access to free to air local channels for good.
The customer will have the option of subscribing to either of the StarTimes bouquets to access the Pay Television channels at will. “We intend to increase the uptake of digital television in Kenya through the provision of trusted, durable and branded set top boxes that come with a year long warranty, as we seek to ensure that majority if not all households have access to the StarTimes digital television service” added Mr. Leo Lee.
Quote:StarTimes Kenya provisions are being made for subscribers who wish to exchange their decoders, the terms will be announced as soon as they're finalized. Ala?? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
@essyk, what EXACTLY is your problem. What bouquet are you on? How much did you pay for it? (optional) What channels were you expecting? What channels that you were promised are missing? Is the reception crystal clear? Unless you pinpoint the exact nature of your complaint, no one will be able to assist you and the problem(s) will persist not only for you but also for other current and prospective clients of the StarTimes and other service providers. Dwell on it.
After getting from this thread that Startimes are actually better, I visited their sales centers to get more information and to buy my preferred package. I visited the one at Victoria House, Tom Mboya walked straight to a customer care desk and on starting to enquire, the light skinned small bodied, short lady told me "ukitaka kujua anything about ST chukua hiyo brochure ujisomee, kila kitu kiko hapo" and she seemed very busy with a computer mouse clicking every millisecond. To avoid embarrasment and maintain peace, I moved to the next desk and asked the same questions. The lady threw to me a brochure and asked me to select the one I want and I will receive explanations if not available on the brochure. Phew! I gave up, stood and walked out. On my way home, I passed Ngara and I noticed an outdoor stall installed labelled ST and I wanted to see if these guys are better than ladies in town. I walked in and the three of them, a dude and 2 young ladies, did not notice me because they were busy chatting. I excused myself and this time round, I sought the assistance of the dude. He told me the same stuff and I narrated to him what I have gone through at which point he was apologetic and started explaining. I was satisfied by his explanation.
Next day I walked into a Gotv stall along Koinange street. The three ladies there all were competing to serve me. They got me a brochure, took me through it then they physically demonstrated by switching on the generator, switched on the TV, took me through the connectivity process, activation, scanning etc and I was heavily impressed.
I left that stall thinking deeply about giving GoTV a chance.
Dated : June 13, 2013, 3:47 PM From : aemathenge TO : info@startimes.co.ke Good afternoon, I plan on engaging your service here in Kerugoya on or before 30th June 2013 hoping that I will have identified one of your service provision agents in this locality by then. In the mean time, a member on the forum has posted the following comment on the forum. Please respond to him/her accordingly: Quote:After getting from this thread that Star Times are actually better, I visited their sales centers to get more information and to buy my preferred package.
I visited the one at Victoria House, Tom Mboya walked straight to a customer care desk and on starting to enquire, the light-skinned small bodied, short lady told me "ukitaka kujua anything about ST chukua hiyo brochure ujisomee, kila kitu kiko hapo" and she seemed very busy with a computer mouse clicking every millisecond.
To avoid embarrassment and maintain peace, I moved to the next desk and asked the same questions. The lady threw me a brochure and asked me to select the one I want and I will receive explanations if not available on the brochure.
Phew! I gave up, stood, and walked out.
On my way home, I passed Ngara and I noticed an outdoor stall installed labeled ST and I wanted to see if these guys are better than ladies in town.
I walked in and the three of them, a dude and 2 young ladies, did not notice me because they were busy chatting.
I excused myself and this time round, I sought the assistance of the dude. He told me the same stuff and I narrated to him what I have gone through at which point he was apologetic and started explaining.
I was satisfied by his explanation.
Next day I walked into a Gotv stall along Koinange Street.
The three ladies there were all competing to serve me.
They got me a brochure, took me through it then they physically demonstrated by switching on the generator, switched on the TV, took me through the connectivity process, activation, scanning etc and I was heavily impressed.
I left that stall thinking deeply about giving GoTV a chance. I look forward to an engaging service from you and your company and an assuring response from the disillusioned prospective client herein above.Kind regards. aemathenge
Dated: Thursday June 13 2013, 8:28 pm From : info@startimes.co.keTo: aemathenge Good evening Mr. Mathenge, Our utmost gratitude for the feedback and your continued support for StarTimes Media, Sir. We do appreciate the efforts you are making in helping us establish as a brand and we are keen on every concern received on issues pertaining to our product and services. Thank you again for the concerted effort you are making to help us reach out to our viewers in Kerugoya and we welcome all that are willing to partner with us as we strive to attain our vision. Following the concern raised by the member, we do wish to assure him that the issue will be looked in to and that such a scenario should not have occurred. The Customer Care Center is the heart of Star Times service delivery and it is where we give prime consideration in terms of the service delivery expectations. It is unacceptable for any person, “a customer”; be it a subscriber, a potential subscriber, or anyone seeking insight on us as a company or about our products and services, to be treated in such a regrettable manner.We sincerely apologize to the member for the misconduct of the service agents and we would want to assure you and all interested parties that the issue is already being handled by the relevant office and necessary action will be taken. Such behavior is not condonable and we are sincerely sorry for that.
Like we had mentioned before, we are a growing brand here in Kenya and such feedback is what we sought in helping us know where we ought to improve on so as to better our services. We have taken time to follow through your forum link and we have noted the responses that have been posted in relation to StarTimes. We are keen on the concerns raised and are working to improve on lacking areas and we believe that once all is sorted, we will be the sought after digital service provider. Thank you again for all the effort and our apologies again for any inconveniences. Kind regards, StarTimes Customer Care
Now that the payTV companies have been ordered to provide free access to free to air TV channels, will DSTV still be switching off local channels once our subscriptions expire?
@mahegoat
Thanks buddy for the effort to let ST know their pathetic customer care status (atleast that one time I interacted with them). I hope they are not playing PR on email and adverts but fail to improve. For me First impressions talk millions!
jaggernaut wrote:Now that the payTV companies have been ordered to provide free access to free to air TV channels, will DSTV still be switching off local channels once our subscriptions expire? I'm eagerly waiting to see what they will do......I think they will have to be pushed to follow the law!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Now that the payTV companies have been ordered to provide free access to free to air TV channels, will DSTV still be switching off local channels once our subscriptions expire? I'm eagerly waiting to see what they will do......I think they will have to be pushed to follow the law!!! Their response: "Unfortunately the local channels are pegged/bundled to your main bouquet since we use 1 satellite link for transmission" ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:McReggae wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Now that the payTV companies have been ordered to provide free access to free to air TV channels, will DSTV still be switching off local channels once our subscriptions expire? I'm eagerly waiting to see what they will do......I think they will have to be pushed to follow the law!!! Their response: "Unfortunately the local channels are pegged/bundled to your main bouquet since we use 1 satellite link for transmission" That is technical B.S
Market
Review
GoTv Vs Star Times