wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Afia Juices vs Coca Cola
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 3:13:58 PM

From my observation, Afia is giving Coca-Cola products a run for their money. I realised that Fia is a force to recon with while waiting for a matatu in Thika. A man called out to a hawker and asked: "Uko na Afia Mango?"

Yaani; he asked for a specific flavour by name. I looked around and noticed that nearly all the traders at the stage had stocked Afia.

Amazing! With virtually not mass media advertising, and no promotional offers or competiontions, this soft drink has entrenched itself deeply in the market.

It looks like another "Equity Bank" type of market take-over. Coca-Cola of course has "Minute Maid" [which is not-only harsh on the tongue - both in taste and in pronunciation - but also not clear it is "minute=60 seconds" or "minute=tiny"!!!]

Whatever it is, Minute Maid is no where near Afia in market penetration. Unfortunately for Coca-Cola, their Kenya operations are spearheaded by SABCO; a South African entity. And we know how South Africans have fared in the Kenya market...
Chaka
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 3:26:31 PM

@mukiha,
I haven't tried this stuff..is the mango real mango juice or mango flavor?It is probably much cheaper than minute maid..
Prime
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 3:41:11 PM

prices are almost at par. In supermarkets minute maid is 60 and afia is 58. Mukiha why not try the minute maid apple-mango flavor. i find it quite good. I believe it should be pronounced as minute (Sixty seconds).
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 3:48:24 PM

@Chaka; the juices are made from real fruit concentrate. They are not artificial flavours. There is a law in Kenya which prohibits manufacturers from using pictures of fruits on the labels if the drink doesn't have real fruits. And to my knowledge, the rule is enforced very seriously by KEBS.....though skeptics will disagree!

@Prime my favorite juice is orange... doesn't matter the manufacturer. Even when I eat out at a restaurant, I will pick fresh orange juice. I find Minute Maid orange leaving an after taste in the mouth. Afia doesn't.

BTW, there are many other similar reconstituted juices in the market--- Tamu, Zuri etc--- but none comes close to Afia in terms of market penetration.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 4:42:01 PM

There is even a time Coca Cola wanted to buy out Afia mzee akakataa!!!

Zuri is barely 4 months old in the market, also quite good!!!

......in penetration, Afia is king!!!!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 4:45:30 PM

Ditto!!!!!!
kollabo
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 4:56:54 PM

Afia is really good. BTW you can now drink Afia in DRC and Gabon courtesy of a certain Somali trader who has a distributorship in Eastleigh and is now a millionaire.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 7:37:16 PM

Afia took the market long ago. Immensely popular. Minute maid tastes like crap, more like the diluted quenchers of yesterday.
Chaka
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 9:03:42 PM

@McR,
Mzee ni nani?Do these guys make their own fruit juice concentrate ama they buy it?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 9:23:36 PM

Chaka wrote:

@McR,
Mzee ni nani?Do these guys make their own fruit juice concentrate ama they buy it?

love Afia too. btw Kevian the owner of Afia also owns Pick and Peel as its high end brand. Afia ni ya masufferor

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
kiriita
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 9:40:28 PM

Chaka wrote:

@McR,

love Afia too. btw Kevian the owner of Afia also owns Pick and Peel as its high end brand. Afia ni ya masufferor

Kimani Rugendo then?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 10:28:29 PM

kiriita wrote:
Chaka wrote:

@McR,

Kimani Rugendo then?

www.businessdailyafrica....4/-/s8xknbz/-/index.html

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
MatataMingi
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 9:02:55 AM

Apart from packaging, is Afia & Pick and Peel the same product.
And how do these compare with Del Monte.
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 7:57:06 AM

Didnt know Rugendo owns Kevian...Afya followed EQuity model. My first impressions of it was a drink meant for kids..until i tasted afia apple
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:08:00 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
Apart from packaging, is Afia & Pick and Peel the same product.
And how do these compare with Del Monte.

Pick and Peel is premium....the juice content is different, I think Afia is a nectar!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:15:00 AM

Chaka wrote:

@McR,

They buy it, brazil is one source
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 3:46:50 PM

Chaka wrote:

@McR,

They buy it, brazil is one source

They crush their own mango and to a less extent guava, some concentrate is bough locally and the rest mostly imported from India which is the cheapest source of concentrate!!!!
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 5:33:09 PM

True what mcreggae has said. It's true they buy lots of mangoes when in season for your mango juice
story teller
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 6:33:16 PM

Afia basically took over the market by branding..the product is affordable and people associate consumption with good health..whoever came up with that name is a total genius..and it tastes really good..
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
Chaka
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 8:53:11 PM

story teller wrote:
Afia basically took over the market by branding..the product is affordable and people associate consumption with good health..whoever came up with that name is a total genius..and it tastes really good..

The question is this..is the stuff really healthy?Do they spike it with sugar to make it taste nice?For e.g ,I read long ago somewhere that a bottle of normal coke(330 ml at the time) contains 7 tsp's of sugar!..