Amrouche replaces Oliech with Wanyama as Captain
#1 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 10:51:44 AM

Harambee Stars coach Adel Amrouche has officially appointed Celtic midfielder Victor Wanyama the permanent national team captain.

Speaking before the team’s departure to Blantyre for their 2014 World Cup qualifier against Malawi this Wednesday, Amrouche said he had lost confidence in Dennis Oliech, adding that the AC Ajaccio striker will no longer skipper Kenya because of his “off-field activities”.

“He is not a role model to other players due to his off-field activities and late arrival to camp. All we want is discipline. Oliech has failed and I cannot have him as my captain.” Amrouche said.

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/151r2gqz/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 11:45:36 AM

This is the beginning of the end for Oliech's footballing career.
This is how top athletes self-destruct.

#3 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 12:01:44 PM

Pride comes before a fall.
Alba
#4 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 1:57:47 PM

You are dead wrong. Oliech's club career is thriving. He is scoring goals aplenty. And he is deployed as a winger not a striker.

He may simply end his national team career and focus on club football.

I understand Amrouche's frustration. Porblem is Kenya has a dire lack of strikers.

I believe Oliech owes his fans a better explanation.
#5 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 2:01:38 PM

Alba wrote:

You are dead wrong. Oliech's club career is thriving. He is scoring goals aplenty. And he is deployed as a winger not a striker.

I understand Amrouche's frustration. Porblem is Kenya has a dire lack of strikers.

@2012, why did you draw that conclusion!!!!
Alba
#6 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 2:16:39 PM

Our officials and players do not respect the national team.

Timbe Masika refuses to don national team colours because Nyamweya failed to give him a return ticket, he returned to his Begian club late and was almost fired. Nyamweya is simply a bum

Mariga claims KFF owes him money and refuses to play.

Last month Atudo and Mieno refused to join the national team camp for reasons known aonly to them.

Jamal is indisciplined and is having a negative impact on others. . He is a gross waste of talent.

Oliech wants special dispensation because he has played faithfully and reliably for 11 years.

Personally I think there just needs to be better communication between Oliech and Amrouche. I blame Oliech for that.
#7 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 2:36:32 PM

Harambee Stars striker Dennis Oliech will not play against Malawi in a World Cup qualifier after Coach Adel Amrouche dropped him from the squad.

In an exclusive interview with Supersport.com’s Collins Okinyo,Oliech who is the currently the longest serving player has sought to explain the circumstances that have led to the disagreement between him and the national team coach.

Supersport.com: Harambee Stars travelled to Malawi and you are conspicuously absent, what is happening?

Oliech: I am surprised by the actions of the coach but I feel this issue has now become personal rather than professional. However I am committed to Harambee Stars and this will not make me quit the team.

Supersport.com: You have also been stripped off the captain’s armband, what is your reaction and feeling to this?

Oliech: I am not surprised because I saw this coming. To be sincere I do not mind not being the captain of Harambee Stars as there are no incentives that come with this role. I gave 100 percent as captain and I wonder why the coach could not be professional enough to personally inform me of the changes instead of talking to the media first.

Supersport.com: There are reports that you took two players; Jamal Mohammed and Patrick Osiako to Blankets and Wines yet you knew they had a crucial game against Nigeria?

Oliech: I am surprised by this sentiments because I was not in camp and when I went to Blankets and Wine I met the players and I could not assume them. Jamal and Osiako are adults and when they decide to do anything who am I to stop them? If the coach feels Jamal is not playing well then he should put him out and explain to him instead of blaming me.

Superport.com: Coach Adel Amrouche has accused you for failing to report to camp yet you were in the country after the federation had secured permission from your club?

Oliech: I was in the country but I did not go to camp because I did not wish to interrupt training since I was not going to play against Nigeria. I wanted the players to know that Dennis Oliech will not play against Nigeria so that would give them a chance to prepare effectively without me.

Supersport.com: Did you at any time seek to explain to the coach why you were not be in camp?

Oliech: On Tuesday before the game I joined the rest of the team where we presented food to the Mama Ngina Children’s home but I could see the coach was avoiding me. On the match day I went early to camp and requested to see the coach in person and I went to his room.

At that point I gave him an apology and stressed the importance of working together and he accepted and asked the kit manager to give me a jersey so that I could accompany the team to the stadium. Things went well and when we got to the dressing room as I was advising the players he told me to only motivate them but that I should not talk anything tactical and this really surprised me as I have played Nigeria several times.

After the match I went with the team to camp and everyone was released to go home.

Supersport.com: Why did you fail to report to camp on Thursday as asked by the coach?

Oliech: On Thursday after the Nigeria game I called Bruce in the camp and asked him what time the players were meeting but he surprised me when he asked me to call the coach since he was not sure if I was supposed to train.

On asking him to give me the Amrouche’s number he declined saying that the coach had said that I should not be given his number. When I came to camp I found the players and technical bench were unfriendly towards me only for assistant coach Nandwa to tell me that Amrouche had instructed the players and members of the technical not to speak to me which really surprised me.

On the same day I asked to be massaged and after that I was notified that coach Amrouche was annoyed with Bruce for attending to me and he asked him not to interact with me at all and that to me that was the final stroke.

Supersport.com: Do you feel there is lack of communication between you and coach Adel Amrouche?

Oliech:Personally I don’t have a problem with coach Amrouche but I feel he has a fixed opinion of me and he is not ready to talk to me. I have given 100 percent to Kenya for many years and I don’t think I have a problem when it comes to performance but it is wrong for the coach to incite other players and the technical bench against me for reasons I don’t know.

Supersport.com: You have in several occasions been accused of being a party animal and reporting to camp late what’s our take on that?

Oliech: I know I have my own flaws as a human being and when I am wrong I accept gladly but it is wrong to always assume that Dennis Oliech is up to no good .Yes I have gone for partying at times but that has not hindered my performance for Harambee Stars so it is wrong to judge me on that particular issue.

Supersport.com: So does it mean coach Amrouche has other personal issues against you?

Oliech: Of late Amrouche has not been treating me well since the time we were handed Kshs1 million by Senator Mike Mbuvi. I was handed the money and since it was late I went with it home but the next day I started distributing the money to players after calculations but midway I received a call to go to the hospital to see my mother’s doctor. At that point I took the money and gave to my personal assistant Kinywa to take to coach Amrouche who was not happy why the boy took the money to him that is when the animosity started.

Supersport.com: Having been dropped from the national team are you going to stay put or quit in protest?

Oliech: I can never quit the Harambee Stars and I can tell you the national team is bigger than Dennis Oliech. When called upon I will definitely be available to do duty for my beloved country Kenya like I have always done since I joined the team.
© supersport.com
#8 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 2:45:32 PM

weka raha kando cheza mpira...look at how rooney was straightenef by SAF,he stopped shagging old mamas...
#9 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 2:58:27 PM

weka raha kando cheza mpira...look at how rooney was straightenef by SAF,he stopped shagging old mamas...

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....are you sure he stopped!!!!

....hii ya akina Oliek sasa imekuwa personal!!!!
#10 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:12:04 PM

Oliech has been playing for kenya for more than a decade, is by far our best striker of recent times.

Amrouche has barely been with us for more than 2 months, has nothing to show for his time here and probably does not even understand English. Who is more bankable.
#11 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:15:44 PM

"He did not break any rules. As a matter of fact, he plays for his football in Arab country, where the use of 'shisha' is normal for the people there. There is nothing bad the player has done like the media want to portray
After our camp in Naivasha, every player had the permission to go home, change and then return to the squad within two hours and he did exactly that."

These is how the coach defended Jamal.........why the difference when it's Oliech????
Alba
#12 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:19:19 PM

If the above is true, I am highly disappointed with Amrouche .
#13 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:29:53 PM

The question we should be asking is

"would you hire Oliech to manage your company?"

I know my answer to that.

This Oliech issue is rather easy. You are team captain, please lead or disappear like Mariga.

Until Oliech plays better than Messi, he's just another player who thinks he's too important. Having said all that, Messi still goes for training when he's hurt. In fact he's fighting with the coach to play.

Oliech on the other hand is the mayai. He should remember that mayais are broken then eaten. We shall all forget his name in the next 12 months.

Or he probably wants access to VIP3 for all his years "helping" Kenya.
#14 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:38:10 PM

This Oliech issue is rather easy. You are team captain, please lead or disappear like Mariga.

Until Oliech plays better than Messi, he's just another player who thinks he's too important. Having said all that, Messi still goes for training when he's hurt. In fact he's fighting with the coach to play.

Oliech on the other hand is the mayai. He should remember that mayais are broken then eaten. We shall all forget his name in the next 12 months.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you didn't just say that!

so why did the captain arrive late at the camp. The issue of whether he is playing or not isnt important. He ought to have been there
#15 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:50:21 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you didn't just say that!

so why did the captain arrive late at the camp. The issue of whether he is playing or not isnt important. He ought to have been there

true he should lead by example...
Muheani
#16 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 3:50:28 PM

oh.....so oliech was the captain all along? didnt know HS had one. Si wanaingianga kiwanja na kurusha rusha mpira hapo in their side while the opponents wekas goals in their (HS's) net? hakuna captain hapo.
Alba
#17 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 7:09:58 PM

Amrouche is the goat here. Clearly he is not consistent.

Alma is the bigger goat for injecting politics into sports.

Tafadhali peleka hizo siasa za ufala back to the politics forum where they belong.

let us stick to discussing football here. Sports is the one thing that can unite Kenyans. Dont pollute discussions with your none sense.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 9:57:35 AM

Alba wrote:

The best Oliech would have done is attend training and give morale to the team. Wanyama has an injury too, he didn't get it playing in Dagoretti though. The way Oliech has been behaving is the same way players behave when they're on their final kicks. Watch this space.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 10:07:16 AM

Alba wrote:

The best Oliech would have done is attend training and give morale to the team. Wanyama has an injury too, he didn't get it playing in Dagoretti though. The way Oliech has been behaving is the same way players behave when they're on their final kicks. Watch this space.

I agree the behaviour wasn't the best one!!!....but your conclusion that this is the end of his footballing career is waht I'm questioning!!!

@Alba, expect @alma to come for you guns blazing!!!!!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 11:31:20 AM

I agree the behaviour wasn't the best one!!!....but your conclusion that this is the end of his footballing career is waht I'm questioning!!!

@Alba, expect @alma to come for you guns blazing!!!!!

I hear you McReggae but here are some facts,

Denno is 28 going to 29yrs (that's like 48yrs old on the field)

Between 2005 and now he has moved from Nantes to Auxerre and now at the 2nd division Ajaccio. Now Ajaccio has been relegated from league 2 to I don't know where after finishing last. See a pattern here? He's not moving up!

Now his behavior towards the national team has been one of arrogance. One should always put country first and solve small disputes later because in your country lies your biggest support base. When the cookie starts to crumble, it really crumbles.

My thinking is, as Amrouche said, he's done is done and we should look more towards the new stars coming up. They say a footballer's life expectancy on the pitch is short and should spent well.