stanchart marathon. My running no is__
wanyuru
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 5:20:00 AM

7. will start Training this sato. siwezi kuwa wa mwisho kama Wendz,willing,leona and guka wako......@ guka,the 400 metres....utakimbia na bike ama?

Yes am a slow walker,but i never walk backwards.(anonymous)
mdosi
#22 Posted : Tuesday, September 15, 2009 1:10:00 PM

@ All.

Is there a team yet and where do guys train?

Feel the fear but do it anyway.
It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
Ja-Kom
#23 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 5:03:00 AM

After Djinn's mbuzi,hope u all energized for the run.Updates on training from all who will participate??

For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners,so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.
Romans 5:19
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Mumbi
#24 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2009 6:30:00 AM

i never miss these runs.......to keep away the cellulite u know...

hot stepper
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Just registered. What a cheap T-Shirt! Previously they have been nice 'fish net' material which were very good for sweating,now cotton/polyester....
Pirate
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 7:16:00 AM

I've always done the 10km until I attempted the 21km and had not trained ..... ended up doing a mara-walk!!! .... Roundi hii ni 10Km ......

Knowledge is power but action gets things done...
Knowledge is power , but action gets things done ...
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 7:20:00 AM

@Sasha

did someone answer your question 'Any bash and after party to replenish the lost waters?'

mmmmh,hii 'Usain Wendz' has come too soon.... not sure if the joint bolts are that tight for that dash!... but i could help arrange the seats for the 'after-party'!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 7:30:00 AM

@Leona,anyone can do what they put their mind to. Challenge yourself and at least walk,there will be many people encouraging you to the finish line. I've always said I'll run and the day has finally come,doing the 10km along with my 39 colleagues,jobo sponsored us,I want to train this week and next week and see whether I can run/jog the whole way - 10 km sounds like a small distance until you see the route on the map.

If I hack 10 km this year,I'll enter Lewa marathon and perhaps jog and walk most of the way (do they have 21km race at Lewa?) Skerians come and challenge your limits,walk if you have to,and save someone's eyes in the process. I used to have serious eye problems (dust allergy or something) when I was young so I really need to do this,it's long overdue.

Wakanyugi
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 9:15:00 AM

@Smano,

All the best with the Stanchart 10K.

However I am not sure it will be such a good idea to try and walk Lewa. Those Lions tend to have a mean look on them. You would too if someone rudely woke you up that early - using an airplane - just so that a bunch of humans can run past your home:)
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Karisblue
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 9:21:00 AM

Did the 10km last year and will do the same this year.

@ Mdosi,also targeting to do it under one hour ! lakini the Uhuru highway - Haile Selassie stretch knocked me out last time.
Djinn
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 9:58:00 AM

...since we're bragging smile I have done a few triathlons - 1.5k swim,10k run and 40k bike ride...but wait...that was way back then before Bill Clinton got his staff to comfort his rod...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Ja-Kom
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 10:12:00 AM

Djinn,uve lost it lol,what was your time in the triathlon hehehe.

@Wendz,am also waiting for the answer to that question.

For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners,so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.
Romans 5:19
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 3:24:00 PM

@Smano
Thanks for the encouragement...Am gonna be there. Will run where i can(even 0.05km is okay,or so i hear) and walk the rest of the stretch. The point is to save somebody's eyes...and for only a 1000/= ??? surely! that i can do!

@Wendz,Sasha na wengine...Mob psyche!!! Am serious,i have to be there...Ala!:)

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
mdosi
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2009 7:25:00 PM

Man,i've been so busy(or so i think) mpaka i forgot to train the whole of august and september. I don't know whether will manage the 10km in under one hour but still willing to try. See you all on 25th(hoping i will get the courage to register).

Feel the fear but do it anyway.
It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 4:35:00 PM

Did 21 Kms last year (actually 21.1 Kms) in 1hr 50 mins. Had some major blisters to nurse for a couple of weeks,but my finisher's medal proudly hangs in my table room.

Doing 21 kms this year also and looking to shave off some 10 minutes or so from last year's time.

Anyone out there with a similar background/ timing? we can help each other.
subzero
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2009 5:20:00 PM

i'll be officially registered for the 21 km on friday. i'll post my number here then. for ma-fans to cheer me. for other runners to draw inspiration from.
#37 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2009 4:48:00 AM

I've just looked at the route map. They have moved the start point from Aerodrome Road to Uhuru Highway. I complained about the danger of Aerodrome Road on this site last year,it appears there is a marathon organizer who reads SK!
subzero
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 3:47:00 PM

SKerians! look out for runner number 7085. who will be overtaking you
Mosby
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2009 4:04:00 PM

Sub zero utanipata finish line. smile...

:::
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 4:29:00 AM

Entered the 3km family fun run with my 6yr son. He has promised to 'dust' me! He has been preparing [mentally] since October last year!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)