wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

Travelling to the US as a Family - tips
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 10:49:00 PM

Has anyone on this forum ever traveled to the US with Family (whole nuclear family)? I am suspecting this will be challenging because of that 'family ties' thing - they would be justified to freeze your visa application due to the fact that 'the whole family is with you'.
Kindly share your experiences if you have successfully done this.
mizizi
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 9:38:17 AM

It really depends on the reason you are travelling for and the ties that you have there. i.e legal family already living there.
We travelled last year but my better half already had business there during that period so haikuwa stress getting the visa.
Although i have to say once we landed there..i was still taken through interrogation again..i thought i would be turned back on the same flight we had gone with!!
Good luck though..
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 10:57:36 AM

mizizi wrote:
It really depends on the reason you are travelling for and the ties that you have there. i.e legal family already living there.
We travelled last year but my better half already had business there during that period so haikuwa stress getting the visa.
Although i have to say once we landed there..i was still taken through interrogation again..i thought i would be turned back on the same flight we had gone with!!
Good luck though..

travelling for vacation? And my folks live there (greencard holders).
FancyFace
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:18:40 AM

mizizi wrote:
Good luck though..

travelling for vacation? And my folks live there (greencard holders).

tall order my friend, ..this is one place I don't bother tying to visit, visa ni stress tupu....all the best

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:23:59 AM

@masukuma want to visit the USA.....ok, all the best!!!!
kiriita
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:24:59 AM

Had the same fear prior to a similar trip we went on in 2010. So I went to great lengths to put together copies of documents showing our ties to Kenya - bank statements including of the biz, title deeds, the works. Shock on me, the interview/fingerprinting lasted all of 7 minutes - they neither asked nor looked at any of the documents in our bundle - the guy just asked us five questions and then went like 'everything looks in order come for your passport/visa on Wednesday' or something like that!

My take: they've decided on your online application before you get there.
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:28:17 AM

Agree with Kiriita, I travel there with full family and visas are issued without questions.
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:55:41 AM

kiriita wrote:
Had the same fear prior to a similar trip we went on in 2010. So I went to great lengths to put together copies of documents showing our ties to Kenya - bank statements including of the biz, title deeds, the works. Shock on me, the interview/fingerprinting lasted all of 7 minutes - they neither asked nor looked at any of the documents in our bundle - the guy just asked us five questions and then went like 'everything looks in order come for your passport/visa on Wednesday' or something like that!

My take: they've decided on your online application before you get there.

had you traveled to that place prior to the 'family' visit?
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:57:28 AM

kwani? just because u don't agree 100% with people does not mean that you shun them!
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 12:18:23 PM

kwani? just because u don't agree 100% with people does not mean that you shun them!

Applause Applause Applause Hapo sawa mblo, all the best in your visit to the land of miok and hany!!!!
kiriita
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 12:33:01 PM

had you traveled to that place prior to the 'family' visit?

Nope. None of us had.
Meduza
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 1:11:30 PM

good luck and come back with mob..miok n hany...
You cant win, unless you first begin....
pyrex
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 1:49:05 PM

Travelled with family in April 2011.I had put all the paperwork in place including bank statements letter from employer,title deeds and log book.Was asked at most 4-5 questions and told to collect visa 3 days later.On arrival in states was only asked how much cash i had and how long i intended to stay.I agree with previous post probably they decide on beforehand on seeing your online application
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 1:57:26 PM

Haiya. I always travel via google earth and skype, and NEVER had any problem.

#15 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 2:00:39 PM

Haiya. I always travel via google earth and skype, and NEVER had any problem.

#16 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 2:10:03 PM

for those like pyrex, kiriita and KulaRaha - how many of you are in formal employment, business or working as a mwana'kadarathi'
Tokyo
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:18:24 PM

It's not difficult getting US visa. Only you have to prove beyond reasonable doubt you will come back . Jaribu it ain't a crime
work to prosper
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:25:44 PM

Tokyo wrote:
It's not difficult getting US visa. Only you have to prove beyond reasonable doubt you will come back . Jaribu it ain't a crime

How true. A MUST - You Must show Confidence and let the Guys not think that you will not be coming back. In other words, Prove that it is actually a little bother u are going to the US, and leaving Kenya...

I did and everything was smooth sailing.
kiriita
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 3:46:33 PM

for those like pyrex, kiriita and KulaRaha - how many of you are in formal employment, business or working as a mwana'kadarathi'

Am in business.
matata
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 4:36:28 PM

Do as adviced and then hold ur horses en wait. Prayers too will do u a good favour. I suggest u get going before pple who have failed to get visa post here en u start feeling like they will not give u. So farbu hve enough encouraging post. All the best.