wazua Fri, Nov 1, 2024

33 Pages«<45678>»
Kenya Power - what's the latest?
icecube
#101 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 9:28:56 PM

The new Cabinet Secretary has just said the cost of power must come down! Good news. Over to you KP now, the answer to higher and higher profits is improved efficiency and excellent customer service, not increase of tariffs and connection fees!
#102 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 9:46:55 PM

icecube wrote:
The new Cabinet Secretary has just said the cost of power must come down! Good news. Over to you KP now, the answer to higher and higher profits is improved efficiency and excellent customer service, not increase of tariffs and connection fees!

As you fight Kenya power they are fighting back...

Kenya Power halts all new connections!
www.businessdailyafrica....88/-/gsg5vg/-/index.html
icecube
#103 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 10:31:53 PM

guru267 wrote:
icecube wrote:

As you fight Kenya power they are fighting back...

Kenya Power halts all new connections!
www.businessdailyafrica....88/-/gsg5vg/-/index.html

Halting all new connections is sabotaging the economy and is treasonable
#104 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 8:26:25 AM

They've actually reviewed the connection fee....Kwani Ruto/Kenyans wata-do?....hii kweli ni baba ya Impunity!

....But i have also been thinking.This presents a huge potential for financial institutions.Is someone seeing what i am seeing? (Ama money is wired in my brains?...smile )
#105 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 9:15:42 AM

KPLC is a mega scam.

First they use 800k to print congratulatory messages to UhuRuto, then now they sabotage the Kenyan Economy.

@vvs, what says you?

mwekez@ji
#106 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 9:24:45 AM

They've actually reviewed the connection fee....Kwani Ruto/Kenyans wata-do?....hii kweli ni baba ya Impunity!

....But i have also been thinking.This presents a huge potential for financial institutions.Is someone seeing what i am seeing? (Ama money is wired in my brains?...smile )

.... battle royal goes on #Watching from a distance

.... guka, umeona nini
#107 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 9:29:37 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

.... guka, umeona nini

Mega dollars!!
mwekez@ji
#108 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 9:36:12 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

.... guka, umeona nini

Mega dollars!!

Thats what i want!$$!

Inatengenezwaje hapa ... nataka hiyo crystal ball
the deal
#109 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 10:35:34 AM

What WSR is creating is candle lit dinners and sabotaging the Kenyan economy in the long run...when will African leaders learn??? maybe Eveready has a future after all...the Kenyan elec grid is in a state of decay...wait Kenyans are still breeding putting more pressure on the dilapited grid...I wonder what this thing will be called after 10 years if nobody invests in it now....in the short term Kenya Power is screwed...Kenya Power has contracts to fullfil with KenGen & IPP's...once the new power comes onstream & KP is not connecting clients then expect margins to take a hit....in fact KP has now become a threat to the future of KenGen.
mkonomtupu
#110 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 11:10:20 AM

the deal wrote:
What WSR is creating is candle lit dinners and sabotaging the Kenyan economy in the long run...when will African leaders learn??? maybe Eveready has a future after all...the Kenyan elec grid is in a state of decay...wait Kenyans are still breeding putting more pressure on the dilapited grid...I wonder what this thing will be called after 10 years if nobody invests in it now....in the short term Kenya Power is screwed...Kenya Power has contracts to fullfil with KenGen & IPP's...once the new power comes onstream & KP is not connecting clients then expect margins to take a hit....in fact KP has now become a threat to the future of KenGen.

Applause Applause Applause Applause you nailed it. It's either we pay to fix the dilapidated power grid now or we pay in the future either way we must pay. If we don't invest now in 10 years we will sourcing very expensive power from a hundred IPPs
#111 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 11:15:35 AM

kenyapower is in a fix it has been upgrading it's transmission lines by replacing woden poles with concrete that I must say is one hell of an upgrade(costwise) they have also constructed new substation to enhance efficiency.

All these uppgrades require considerable amount of cash.The govt want KPLC to borrow while KPLC thinks that would not be sustainable for long and it might impact on their bottomline if power continue to be subsidised with no corresponding govt funding.

This parastatal is unique in that it holds the future of so many bluechip companies,it is a sensitive company.any hit on its balance sheet can be catastrophic.

Ketraco has eased part of KPLC burden but at the sametime KPLC has not exploited its full potential...what happened to the project of supplying Data. A partnership with one of the telcos would rake in billions in data transmission fees to individual homes.

#112 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 11:31:11 AM

KPLC is a mega scam.

First they use 800k to print congratulatory messages to UhuRuto, then now they sabotage the Kenyan Economy.

@vvs, what says you?
Bure Kabisa!
mwekez@ji
#113 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 12:33:49 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
the deal wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause you nailed it. It's either we pay to fix the dilapidated power grid now or we pay in the future either way we must pay. If we don't invest now in 10 years we will sourcing very expensive power from a hundred IPPs

WTH!!! Let the shareholders pay for the development of this company!!! Otherwise, let competition come in with high efficiency to supply the power at even lower price!!!
mwekez@ji
#114 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 12:35:59 PM

KPLC is a mega scam.

@vvs, what says you?
Bure Kabisa!

mkonomtupu
#115 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 12:48:56 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
the deal wrote:

WTH!!! Let the shareholders pay for the development of this company!!! Otherwise, let competition come in with high efficiency to supply the power at even lower price!!!

why should private sector capital pay for public infrastructure while the govt is spending taxpayer's money to buy laptops toys for children which is a private sector function?
the deal
#116 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 1:00:11 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
the deal wrote:

Hehehe ati let competition come in and supply power at a lower price??? SMH...which cave do you live in? KenGen is not alone on the supply side...KenGen is not a monopoly...it has competition in the form of IPP's...have you ever looked at the PPA of IPP's vs KenGen...KenGen is like charity...in fact KenGen should renegotiate those PPA and demand more....Shareholders have done their part...they gave KP money during the rights isssue....pick your power bill...do you see the fuel cost charge component....ask yourself why its there in the first place? Bottomline: Kenya has to invest now to have cheaper power in the long run...the sad thing is...you will have to pay...there are no short cuts...
mwekez@ji
#117 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 1:07:42 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
the deal wrote:

why should private sector capital pay for public infrastructure while the govt is spending taxpayer's money to buy laptops toys for children which is a private sector function?

@mkonomtupu, KPLC infrastructure is KPLC assets owned by the shareholders. These shareholders and their appointed managers should develop ingenious way of growing their assets and increasing efficiency inorder to gain from development of the country. Otherwise, lets introduce competition, get the efficiency and consequently the lower energy tariff that our country deserves
mwekez@ji
#118 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 1:11:55 PM

the deal wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
the deal wrote:

Hehehe ati let competition come in and supply power at a lower price??? SMH...which cave do you live in? KenGen is not alone on the supply side...KenGen is not a monopoly...it has competition in the form of IPP's...have you ever looked at the PPA of IPP's vs KenGen...KenGen is like charity...in fact KenGen should renegotiate those PPA and demand more....Shareholders have done their part...they gave KP money during the rights isssue....pick your power bill...do you see the forex cost charge component....ask yourself why its there in the first place? Bottomline: Kenya has to invest now to have cheaper power in the long run...the sad thing is...you will have to pay...there are no short cuts...

SMH...which cave do you live in? Watch power tariff in other countries and realize something is very wrong here. Mwanzo this KPLC inefficiency and now sabotage of our econ is stinking!!!
josiah33
#119 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 1:13:38 PM

I have always known that Kenya Power will derail vision 2030........bure kabisa.
#120 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 1:16:29 PM

this is a corrupt company. If Jesus himself was working at Kenya Power he would have been corrupt. He probably would have charged the 5000 people he fed. With Kerosene not even wine.