wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

5 Pages«<345
DINING ETIQUETTE
Blackberry
#81 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 12:49:14 PM

majimaji wrote:

When eating in a japanese restaurant, always eat with gusto and make noise with your mouth full of food. It is a complement to the chef.

Ohh Kumbe... I noticed chinese also chew making all manner noises. YUCK!

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#82 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 2:51:54 PM

Hi, wazuans.I need help in dining.having grown up in the village and after some struggles i man aged to acquire education and later a job before moving into business.at times i attend dinners in five star hotels where a variety of bland food is served with cutlery,napkins and towels is served.how do you go about it wazuans coz i am used to kosewe where you buy your tasty food wash your hands and enjoy your meal.I also noted some people avoid handshakes,others like a firm handshake and others salute while on their knees.i know wazua is multicultural please advice.

Easy... carry your cousin along but make sure he/ she knows what to do. When at the table, say your religion insists that you pray before every course of the meal. Ask the fellow to pray in your mother tongue. The dude should guide you on what to do with the vijikos and say a loud Amen!smile
Sansa
#83 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 8:34:33 PM

I found this ...

http://img.marketingnaco...02/DinnerEtiquette1.jpg

I didn't see it mentioned but don't pre-cut your steak into small bits, cut it as you eat it.
#84 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 1:15:53 AM

Hi, wazuans.I need help in dining.having grown up in the village and after some struggles i man aged to acquire education and later a job before moving into business.at times i attend dinners in five star hotels where a variety of bland food is served with cutlery,napkins and towels is served.how do you go about it wazuans coz i am used to kosewe where you buy your tasty food wash your hands and enjoy your meal.I also noted some people avoid handshakes,others like a firm handshake and others salute while on their knees.i know wazua is multicultural please advice.

i hope this has no association with artcaffe.....'your pal' trying to deal with the BILL as well as DINING ETIQUETTELaughing out loudly
Muheani
#85 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 7:32:23 AM

I will Always Be Me. Keep It Simple. They Will Say "Leave Him alone, He Is African"
ChumsQuest
#86 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 8:24:17 AM

While at it find out what folk is used for what meal, what glass takes what wine, how to place knives and folks on your plate and lastly the sequence to consume what's available

Starts with confidence. When you are not thinking too much about what ppl will think about you it's easier to dine in style. There's plenty of etiquette advice that's out there depending on kind of food, restaurant, company etc. One basic thing that everyone needs to know when using a knife and fork is to hold the knife with the right hand. This enables cutting, say your steak easier. The fork should therefore be held with the left hand because it's easier to manipulate. Shame on you Shame on you Why do I have a feeling mawinder is pulling our leg here? When having a glass of wine, usually it's recommended to hold the glass by the stem and not the bowl. There should be no finger marks all over your glass. When you toast before a drink take a sip and then put it down. DO NOT toast and put down the wine glass before taking a sip.....Anyhuuu just google
#87 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 8:58:16 AM

quicksand wrote:
you know ...kuuliza sio ujinga. In my experience, at one time I wasnt getting why the waiter wasnt taking the plate and other things away. Happens that you are supposed to put the cutlery on the edge facing down ..something like that. Such fussery.
On another occasion, some two dudes at an opposite table were brought two bowls, with water and lemons ...usually used to dip the hands into or something. They looked at the bowls puzzled, perhaps wondering the mode of water delivery. One took the lead, touched the bowl to his lips and drank. The other promptly followed. They even fished out the lemon slices and ate them. I had a hard time trying not to laugh out very loudly.

I nearly did that the first time!
#88 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 9:16:27 AM

What about the food served in planes (not the wazua ones). Like this meal i was served on my recent trip to Dubai. Where do you start and where do you end?

mkeiyd
#89 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 9:27:10 AM

Sansa wrote:
I found this ...

I didn't see it mentioned but don't pre-cut your steak into small bits, cut it as you eat it.

I always cut mine into small pieces and i've no apologies to make.

My take is, eating should be fun, i enjoy it more when i can relax and use the fork with either hand.

The world is full of crap meant to complicate otherwise simple straight things. Hii ni moja ya hiyo crap.
rryyzz
#90 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 10:02:31 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
Sansa wrote:
I found this ...

I always cut mine into small pieces and i've no apologies to make.

My take is, eating should be fun, i enjoy it more when i can relax and use the fork with either hand.

The world is full of crap meant to complicate otherwise simple straight things. Hii ni moja ya hiyo crap.

@Mkeiyd, we should enjoy living and not entertain unnecessary stress, kama hii ya chakula. Nevertheless there are some forums you'll just have to be a lady/gentleman and practice some dining etiquette, carry yourself with some decorum.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
mkeiyd
#91 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 10:24:33 AM

rryyzz wrote:
[quote=mkeiyd]
@Mkeiyd, we should enjoy living and not entertain unnecessary stress, kama hii ya chakula. Nevertheless there are some forums you'll just have to be a lady/gentleman and practice some dining etiquette, carry yourself with some decorum.

@rryyzz, What are these forums? Them days i used to eat as i pleased with my bosses,i never lost my job, i didn't grow thin, i enjoyed my meals and i'm still alive and kicking. I'm not saying people should behave like savages, but this sort of "programming" people i don't approve of.

With all the stress in this world, this is one that i won't partake.
Let's move on.
ChumsQuest
#92 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 10:36:34 AM

What about the food served in planes (not the wazua ones). Like this meal i was served on my recent trip to Dubai. Where do you start and where do you end?

Kwa plane unajichanua as you wish...no-one is there to judge. Just use the towelletes to wipe your hands and indulge. You might want to eat the dessert (in your case, fruits), last. What's in that small bowl on the side? Start with bread and butter, main course, fruit and then the rest you can have as a snack later. Is that a block of cheese to your far right? Lemmie tell you what I do in a plane: eat whatever I want whenever I want.
ChumsQuest
#93 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 10:38:49 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:

Kwa plane unajichanua as you wish...no-one is there to judge. Just use the towelletes to wipe your hands and indulge. You might want to eat the dessert (in your case, fruits), last. What's in that small bowl on the side? Start with bread and butter, main course, fruit and then the rest you can have as a snack later. Is that a block of cheese to your far right? Lemmie tell you what I do in a plane: eat whatever I want whenever I want.

I just noticed that's a cup probably with cream inside and some lemon herbal tea on the side. This one you can take as you eat or last with your crackers....
rryyzz
#94 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 11:32:28 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
rryyzz wrote:
[quote=mkeiyd]

@rryyzz, What are these forums? Them days i used to eat as i pleased with my bosses,i never lost my job, i didn't grow thin, i enjoyed my meals and i'm still alive and kicking. I'm not saying people should behave like savages, but this sort of "programming" people i don't approve of.

With all the stress in this world, this is one that i won't partake.
Let's move on.

It's good you always enjoyed your meal. Trust you me, there are times its not really about enjoying your meal, otherwise, you'd put aside all the cutlery and just use your fingers.

Your attitude is impressive though, hautishiki na stress ndogo ndogo.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Sansa
#95 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 5:38:40 PM

Food/dining etiquette is a big deal in some parts of the world. I've had a waiter refuse (or maybe wait) to bring my espresso until I was done with my dessert - and this was after he asked me what I meant a few times.
#96 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 6:21:15 PM

Earning money is hard enough. The way i choose to enjoy some of it through a good meal should not add me any stress! My other half keeps telling me " si ukule pole pole" but i hate spending time eating slowly. For me more than 10 minutes on a meal is torture.