wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

Alcoholism is the only disease...
#1 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 7:58:19 AM

I know the usual thread of Furahiday will come up soon. I just want say something to those who like this drink.

But first, allow me to quote something:
The modern disease theory of alcoholism states that problem drinking is sometimes caused by a disease of the brain, characterized by altered brain structure and function.
The American Medical Association (AMA) had declared that alcoholism was an illness in 1956.
The AMA further endorsed the dual classification of alcoholism by the International Classification of Diseases under both psychiatric and medical sections in 1991.

We have to be sympathetic to the alcoholics Sad Sad

Today, medical doctors say alcoholism is a disease.

And I say to those who will partake:
- if alcoholism is a disease then
- it is the only disease that is sold in bottles
- it is the only disease that is advertised in newspapers, in the magazines, on radio, on TV channels,
- it is the only disease that has a licensed outlet for sale
- it is the only disease that gets revenue for many governments of the world
- it is the only disease that brings deaths on the high ways
- it is the only disease that destroys families
- it is the only disease that has no viral or germ as its cause

Quran 5:90, Allah says, it is not a disease, it is Satan's handiwork.
O you who have believed, indeed, intoxicants, gambling, [sacrificing on] stone alters [to other than Allah],
and divining arrows are but defilement from the work of Satan, so avoid it that you may be successful.
#2 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 8:38:37 AM

@AlphDoti - Why on a Furahiday why?? Sad Sad
kimiri
#3 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 9:18:34 AM

@ Alph. Not to sound reckless but from experience I have come to believe that to a great extent “Kuishi ni bahati”. Occasionally we have to imbibe otherwise life can become too boring. Even the first miracle by JC was to manufacture wine!
#4 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 9:24:59 AM

kimiri wrote:
@ Alph. Not to sound reckless but from experience I have come to believe that to a great extent “Kuishi ni bahati”. Occasionally we have to imbibe otherwise life can become too boring. Even the first miracle by JC was to manufacture wine!

it was grape juice...
matata
#5 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 9:26:11 AM

kimiri wrote:

"Kuishi ni bahati" With all the health complications cancer, HBP, sijui GMO food, I can only agree with u. Kuishi ni bahati.
#6 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 9:40:33 AM

Alcoholism is the only disease...and alcohol is the only cure!
#7 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:03:16 AM

Alcoholism is the only disease...and alcohol is the only cure!

smile smile smile
#8 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:04:30 AM

kimiri wrote:

Shame on you Little knowledge is dangerous!

kimiri
#9 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:23:20 AM

kimiri wrote:

Okay Mr. Know-it-all but in my life I have seen babies suffer and die from cancer and other funny maladies that have nothing to do with alcohol. I thank God for the number of years he has given me but also enjoy life. After all, it is not a rehearsal.
chepkel
#10 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:30:59 AM

Just like all other human pleasures alcohol can also be abused. Nonetheless, its about personal boundaries and responsibilities. Alcoholism is real but Alcohol doesn't take us there, the person takes him or herself there.

That said, i will enjoy my Tusker today, and throughout the weekend, quite responsibly.
#11 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:38:02 AM

chepkel wrote:
Just like all other human pleasures alcohol can also be abused. Nonetheless, its about personal boundaries and responsibilities. Alcoholism is real but Alcohol doesn't take us there, the person takes him or herself there.

That said, i will enjoy my Tusker today, and throughout the weekend, quite responsibly.

Very well said.....hiyo ingine yote ni pang'ang'a.......kuongea juu ya kitu huelewi!!!!!
Ceinz
#12 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:25:00 AM

If you read the Bible, the book of Deuteronomy, it forbids us taking most of the things people pay attention to in life so seriously.... coz its all vanity. That said easen up and relax. If the bottle is your thing go ahead.
“small step for man”
EBALE
#13 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:03:10 PM

Why doesnt Kenya just pull out of the Rome statute ?
#14 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:06:22 PM

EBALE wrote:

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall
#15 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:10:43 PM

kimiri wrote:

Okay Mr. Know-it-all but in my life I have seen babies suffer and die from cancer and other funny maladies that have nothing to do with alcohol. I thank God for the number of years he has given me but also enjoy life. After all, it is not a rehearsal.

Sad Mbloo, my comment was only in reference to JC turning water into wine(wrongly perceived to be alchohol). Sorry, didn't mean to raise the temperature.

I'm of the opinion that certain wines and alcoholic beverages are beneficial to the body and mind.

#16 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:15:48 PM

kimiri wrote:

Sad Mbloo, my comment was only in reference to JC turning water into wine(wrongly perceived to be alchohol). Sorry, didn't mean to raise the temperature.

I'm of the opinion that certain wines and alcoholic beverages are beneficial to the body and mind.

This is very interesting, care to explain. I assume that all wine contains alcohol.
#17 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:22:02 PM

EBALE wrote:

Eh? Eh? Anxious Now, this, is alcoholism at its best! Look no further. Gave me a good laugh though!

Do you even know where we were on this thread?
#18 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:25:35 PM

EBALE wrote:

Eh? Eh? Anxious Now, this, is alcoholism at its best! Look no further. Gave me a good laugh though!

Do you even know where we were on this thread?

...and how did this @EBALE get to the position of a member with only 1 post thus far!!!
#19 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 12:43:46 PM

Today, medical doctors say alcoholism is a disease.

And I say to those who will partake:
- if alcoholism is a disease then
- it is the only disease that is sold in bottles
- it is the only disease that is advertised in newspapers, in the magazines, on radio, on TV channels,
- it is the only disease that has a licensed outlet for sale
- it is the only disease that gets revenue for many governments of the world
- it is the only disease that brings deaths on the high ways
- it is the only disease that destroys families
- it is the only disease that has no viral or germ as its cause

Sadly the people suffering from alcoholism see the opposite
- alcohol is a cure
- it is one of the medicine that is sold in bottles
- it is not the only medicine that is advertised in newspapers, in the magazines, on radio, on TV channels,
- it is the only medicine that you can drink till you drop
- it is not the only medicine that causes drowsiness and lapses that can brings deaths on the high ways
- it is the only medicine that destroys families
- like every other medicine, it has side effects
- like any medicine, it makes you feel better

#20 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:12:12 PM

bkismat wrote:
kimiri wrote:

This is very interesting, care to explain. I assume that all wine contains alcohol.

Show me in the Bible where you find 'Juice' then we'll dialogue. You can use google, if you wish.

And while you are at it, try looking for 'strong drink'.